We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Than Most in Cebu”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Rosario Pension House
Ranked #22 of 78 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at three Cebu Pension Houses this July. Casa Rosario was best among them. We stayed for ten days, often taking a second room for the family to use. Location is close to Osmena Fuente Circle, on a sometimes busy side st ( due to St. Theresa School.). Front desk staff is helpful and accomodating, maid service is spotty, often leaving trash in hallway for days at a time. Restaurant is OK, but you may tire of their limited menu after 3 days. I would consider returning here again if I am in the city. Keep in mind there are dozens of low-cost options in central Cebu City.

Room Tip: Rooms tend to be noisy, request room not on Aboitiz St.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lolo789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Casa Rosario Pension House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 43 reviews

Reviewed March 3, 2011

Definitely one of the best places to stay in Cebu, GREAT staff, very professional, hardworking and very corteous, they'd go the extra mile to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. If Cebuanos are known to be Good and Loving people then the staff is even better, professionally trained to work in a hotel, most especially the front desk clerks. Management indeed has found a "GEM" in these staff.

I stayed there for a week, never a day need i complain of anything. Price, Service and Accomodation is incomparable if you are looking for a place to stay in a tight budget. Everywhere within the hotel is clean, security is adequate, service is fast and efficient, rooms are descent and best of all room rates are way below on what you might pay on other hotels of the same level.

Location is just perfect, its near anything you might need when you are travelling, Mobility is fast since there is always a taxi waiting outside the hotel, or if you might choose to walk there is always something within walking distance, be it a mall, a bar, a laundry service, a restaurant or even a church.

It has been recommended to me by friends here in the US and now i do the same to all my friends wishing to travel to Cebu and experience the difference in culture and good values that the Cebuanos have.

So on my next Vacation to Cebu, its definitely straight from airport to CASA ROSARIO.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank garycebu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

My friends and i shared a family room for several nights during Sinolog while in Cebu, close to everything you might need. The room was clean , and the staff friendly and accomodating, easy to get a coffee just around the corner and laundry just next door. As i said we were there during sinulog so it was very noisy with a streetside room during the celebrations, otherwise very quiet hotel. I highly recommend, as its easy on the pocket and a nice spot to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aqueouslover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

Casa Rosario is my favorite. I stay there several months each year. It is within walking distance to malls, shops, restaurants, fast food, groceries, churches, AA, massage, gym, hospital, travel agencies, girl bars and discos... you name it and you will probably find it within walking distance. If you need a taxi it will appear within seconds if you step outside (except when it is raining then it can take some time). It is a locally well known Hotel so all taxi drivers will know where it is located. That said it is important to know that this Hotel is run by a Christian family and it is profiled for family and family values. If you want to party do that elsewhere, don't bring the party to the hotel.

Try to get a room at the top floor at either end of the building. There you will have an excellent view outside. The rooms are spacious and have good standard TV with cable. There is free Wi-Fi Internet with descent speed and reliability. The furniture and fittings are pretty basic. The showers are really good for a budget hotel in Asia. Not the bad room gas heaters but a central heating. So you will get lots of hot water.

The Hotel and its guests are quiet so you will not get disturbed. The staff is friendly, personal and accommodating. There is good security with several 24-hour guards and fire escapes easily found and accessed.

You can get a 20% discount if you stay at least one month and pay in cash advance. Best and safest budget hotel in uptown Cebu City.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LarsHn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

My overnight stay last June was my third at Casa Rosario within the year. I must say that the inn is pretty basic and spartan, but it's affordable and surprisingly clean. A three-bed room is just about USD 25 or so; it's beside a small coffee shop and/or a bar, and some food establishments (it's near KFC); a Catholic church is nearby and it offers mass/service in the local dialect and in English; the area is relatively safe and quiet - for one, it is across a Catholic school and it is within a residential area; they have room-service; the staff are competent; and it has a free and fast wi-fi connection, which is a plus for backpackers. There are houses on the other side of the hotel and if your room has a balcony, you can just spy on your neighbor...it is that close. However, there's also a view of Crown Regency Hotel with its neon lights (it has a 4d-cinema, bungee-jumping and skywalk adventure). Over-all, I think this inn is perfect for backpackers on a budget.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shuurei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Stayed at casa rosario march 23, 2009 only on overnight because we had to go to bohol the next day by ferry. Staff were already Very accommodating when i reserved thru the phone. Same hospitality when we checked in..Very helpful. The rooms were big enough to accommodate the number of people staying in it ( we were 3 in the room). I particularly was very happy about the hot and cold water dispensers in every floor , so you wouldnt need to buy water anymore. Truly, an added benefit to the already good accommodation we had. The neighborhood where it was located is a quiet and safe area. Nearby, just a few steps are small restaurants and a coffee shop which we appreciated, after a long day touring the city. Right in front of it is St. Theresa's college. Easy to get taxis if youre leaving early in the morning, and easy to go to fuente osmena just taking a leisurely stroll...
I do recommed casa rosario: good location, accommodating staff, affordable rates, clean rooms .

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chambie316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2009

Casa Rosario is the perfect place to stay if you're looking for a hotel with reasonable prices, comfort, and roominess. It's very quiet in the rooms so you can always have a good night's sleep. Believe me, I've been there quiet often already. They have a restaurant as well but I'm not sure about the quality since I havn't tried eating there yet. It's also the perfect place to stay in if you're looking for a hotel with lots of night life nearby. There are a lot of bars, clubs, and restaurants nearby. It's all within walking distance. And if you're looking for live music, there's a restaurant about 200-300 meters away and the live band is pretty talented. You can even request a song for them to sing and they will sing it as long as they know the song. It's close to Mango Avenue which has a lot of clubs and bars.

Room servive in Casa Rosario isn't bad either and the staff are very friendly. The venue is very good as well since it isn't close to any busy roads and you can have all the privacy you need.

Why stay in fancy and expensive hotels when you can go to Casa Rosario? I think it's one of the best hotels in Cebu. No doubt.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dalepo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.0 mi away
Rajah Park Hotel
Rajah Park Hotel
#55 of 91 in Cebu City
92 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premiere Citi Suites
Premiere Citi Suites
#49 of 91 in Cebu City
145 reviews
1.0 mi away
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#16 of 91 in Cebu City
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palm Grass Hotel
Palm Grass Hotel
#7 of 78 in Cebu City
13 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fuente Pension  House
Fuente Pension House
#12 of 78 in Cebu City
76 reviews
0.7 mi away
La Gloria Residence Inn
La Gloria Residence Inn
#48 of 78 in Cebu City
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Rosario Pension House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Rosario Pension House

Address: 101 F. Ramon Aboitiz St., Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range: $32 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Casa Rosario Pension House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Casa Rosario Pension House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Rosario Pension House Hotel Cebu City
Casa Rosario Pension House Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing