We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Security Problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Oroquieta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Security Problem”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

The inn is clean, no bugs at all. We’ve stayed at Dynasty Inn before and we didn’t have any problem except for the awful breakfast they serve, maybe because it’s free! However, there are security lapses that need to be addressed by the management.
ON our 2nd day at around 10AM, the phone rang and it was the receptionist telling us that someone would like to see us he brought our pictures which he took at STC. We immediately told the receptionist that we are not expecting anybody or any pictures.

On our 3rd day at around 8PM, someone was knocking at our door. We asked for the identity of the person knocking. Unable to decipher what the person was saying, I took the risk to open the door to take a peek as well as hear what the person was saying but alert to immediately shut the door if I could sense danger coming. My sister was already on the phone calling the reception clerk to find out what is going on, how come they have allowed people to just come up to our room without calling us first. Saw a lady with a male companion lugging a luggage. The man told me that the lady was supposed to be joining us in our room. Flabbergasted with what I heard, I said “No we’re not expecting anybody” and shut the door. I was fuming mad and wanted to march down to the reception but apprehensive that the 2 people might still be around or they may be in cahoots with the hotel personnel manning the reception desk at that time. Using our mobile phone, we tried to get the phone no. of the Cebu City police include it in our speed dial list just in case those people will return. The following morning, we checked out of Dynasty Inn.

I can forgive the dust, noise during construction hours, the yucky breakfast at their Café but definitely NOT their laxity with Security.

This is just to warn travelers, we have to be wary all the time. Not to scare you but we’ve heard so many stories already of stickups &/or muggings in hotels/inns. If it happened to other people, it may happen to us or to anybody, God forbid!!

Price-wise, the upgraded rooms at Dynasty Inn now cost P1,400 per night (double occupancy). You can get the same type of room at Verbena for P1,300 per night with a personal refrigerator inside the room.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missyboogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    24
    12
    4
    6
See reviews for
10
19
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This inn is newly renovated, kudos to the owners! After years of going back to Cebu and staying at this hotel, it was a welcome surprise to see that it has been refurbished.
Rooms are adequate, clean with LCD TV. Cabinets and tables are all new.
Bathroom on the first floors are all clean and brand new. Bathroom on the 2nd floor, toilet and sink are new. but the shower area is old.
Breakfast is plated, choose between Bangus, Longganisa or Ham. Food is okey.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are much more larger than the ground floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jadylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

The hotel is currently under renovation. I was just there a couple of days ago (November 27 2011). Seeing it for the first time with construction materials in front of the entrance should have been a hint about the condition of the hotel but because of good reviews from other tripadvisor reviewers I decided to take the chance. To be fair with the hotel they are offering promo rates during this period - the standard room rate is Php700-800. Well, all floors are under renovation so you can just imagine the amount of wood and cement dust everywhere. Although the room was ok with lots of space to walk around and put your bags. The bathroom was spacious with good water pressure although the shower temperature was hard to adjust - the hot water was scalding hot. My wife and I were pretty tired so we tried to get some sleep but after non-stop hammering and drilling and other construction noises left us wide awake; the final straw was when a worker started hammering the tiles directly in front of our door. With all the noise and my wife finding it hard to breath because of the dust filled air we decided to leave about an hour into our stay and transferred to Sampaguita Suites. I agree with other reviewers that the staff were friendly and it is in a good location, I guess we just got there at the wrong time. But I think if they are renovating the entire hotel that they should close it down until renovations are done because paying customers even those who can only afford budget hotels deserve to breath normally and get some rest.

Room Tip: Call them first to ask if the renovations are done before even considering booking a room there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PauloGonzalezReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2011

dynasty inn? wow! it is a place like your at home.. its nice little pension house in a quiet location,.yet close to everything,.the place is super, the staff is toll; super duper nice staff, helpful, easy to aproach, courteous, friendly, humble, and hospitable. the service is quite better as in 5star hotel; .. it is really a place where you feel your at your own home. the room is quite; water is ok; hot and cold.. security is good, helpful and polite.
the rate for rooms are cheap and affordable, and the quality of service is TOLL! super. they have late check out of 2:30pm with no extra payment which i found it ganz super 2hours and 30minutes long stay of no extra cost.. wow!... its really great there.. no hassle; no stress. a place where your at home.

Room Tip: rooms at the higher floor i find it nice and cool quite to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 876jasmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2010

A nice little pension in a quiet location, off the main drag but close to everything. The staff are very helpful, courteous and polite. Security at the inn is very good. The restaurant is simple with simple Filipino food, but the breakfast is cheap and served as you like it. The management and staff are attuned to what is going on in Cebu and can give very helpful hints and advice about what to see and even how to get to other islands.
The rooms are clean and the linen is changed everyday. There are hot showers and everything in the room seems to work fine.
If you decide to stay at the Dynasty Tourist Inn for a long period you can negotiate rates. Last minute bookings are impossible around the middle of January, festival time in Cebu.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank growler202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2010

Compare to the Westpoint Inn the staff of the Dynasty Tourist Inn was much more helpful, For a budget hotel the value for money, sleep quality and cleanliness is quite good.
We stayed in the Dynasty after the Westpoint Inn had messed up our booking upon check in at 10:30pm, they offered us a room without bed which was obviously used as a storage room and had roaches.
At 1am they eventually showed us the nearby Dynasty Tourist Inn which was compare to the WI better by all means at a similar price.
I absolutely can recommend this hotel and would stay there again. Don't stay at the Westpoint Inn.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ryanhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#25 of 87 in Cebu City
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
Apple Tree Suites Cebu
#31 of 87 in Cebu City
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#62 of 87 in Cebu City
316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#63 of 87 in Cebu City
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Canberry Hotel
Canberry Hotel
#42 of 87 in Cebu City
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dynasty Tourist Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dynasty Tourist Inn

Property: Dynasty Tourist Inn
Address: Capitol Site Jasmine, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dynasty Tourist Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are please to offer Dynasty Tourist Inn services and facilities to best accommodate your guests and make them feel at home. Dynasty Tourist Inn has thirty-seven (37) rooms to offer you; each one is individually equipped with air conditioning units, 32” flat screen cable television, NDD telephone system, hot / cold water shower and bath, safety deposit box upon request, laundry service, standby generator and all areas are WIFI connected. We are located in uptown area near Cebu Provincial building, Fuente Osmena, Cebu Doctor’s Hospital, Chong Hua Hospital, Don Vicente Sotto Memorial Hospital and NBI Cebu Office. For the convenience of our guests, we have our own coffee shop to offer you, "CAFE FLORENCE," where you can savor tasty, delicious and satisfying food, appealing to the palate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dynasty Tourist Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dynasty Tourist Hotel Cebu City
Dynasty Tourist Inn Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing