We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In ten months this must be the worst”

C'est La Vie Pension
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
C'est La Vie Pension
Ranked #46 of 77 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“In ten months this must be the worst”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

it sounds to good to be true, Wifi, warm water and aircon. for 750P, in the end only the aircon works.
We had mice in our room and had to remove more than 10 big cockroaches, after that we had to spray our room with cockroache killer spray. The lady behind the desk had just finished her second painting and you have to wake up pretty early to make her smile. The guard on his flipflop is making the circus complete. You can enjoy Celine Dion all night long since the karaoke bar is right across the street.

Do not stay here.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roelveltman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    8
    1
    4
See reviews for
1
4
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2011

This pension house is cheaper compared to others in that area. The rooms are very simple. But one thing I like in this place is its central location - near to church, banks, restos, bars, spas, malls, bookstore, hospital, etc. It is also accessible to all destinations in the city. It has also a free wi-fi. Though the bathroom is not so clean, but tolerable.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slazenger552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

It's fun to be in this place. Near restos and fun. Rooms not so clean. Staffs are great.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slazenger552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu Island, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

I stayed at this pension house for 2 months as I needed a place to come home to while I attended summer classes. The pension house suited my basic needs. No apartment rentals can beat the rates. C'est La Vie Pension gave me a full week's discount (almost P5,000) for paying them in advance for the month!

SERVICE. I can't really say much about the service, because the staff merely recorded my name upon check-in and collected my payment. The pension house isn't strict about check-in and check-out times and I find the staff approachable and willing to assist when asked.

I had my laundry hand-washed by the cleaning lady on several occasions. She charged me by piece: P10 for each shirt and P15 each for a pair of pants. Later during my stay, I had them done by a commercial laundry shop at Raintree Mall which charged by the kilo.

ROOM. My room was in the third floor facing Brew's Grill and Baseline across (so yes, loud singing is a common fare, especially on Friday and Saturday nights). It was spacious and had a passable bathroom. The beddings were far from luxurious, so I brought my own to use. I also had some family members sleep over occasionally. We were able to inflate our extra queen-size aerobed without any trouble.

LOCATION. Disregarding the bit about noisy singing at the bars nearby, the pension house is sited at a prime location because everything else is walking distance. It's just 1 block away from St. Theresa's College, 2 blocks away from National Bookstore and Mango Square and a leisurely stroll towards the Redemptorist Church. When you cross the street (where the stoplights are), you can walk to Jollibee - Mango, Raintree Mall and Robinson's.

The best part is that there are a lot of other places to stay nearby in case you change your mind about C'est La Vie Pension! I can remember Casa Rosario (same block but an “L” turn from Ce’st La Vie as you head for Redemptorist Church), NS Royal Pensionne (same road, 2 blocks further) and Century Plaza Hotel (across), but I know there are more.

AMENITIES. The place has no amenities I can think of. Since C'est La Vie doesn't even have its own canteen, you have to step out to eat – whether to get some takeaway food or dine in at the restaurant of your choice. I had mine usually at Brew's Grill because it's just right across the street and I could request the staff to deliver my meals to my room. On a positive note, the area itself is a WiFi hotspot so my lappie could connect to the Internet for free. The connection wasn't as reliable as I'd want it, but at least it was there.

To round up this review, let me say that C'est La Vie Pension is not exactly intended for the tourist with expensive taste but will suit students, young party animals, job hunters and backpackers who need to budget their finances and aren't picky about their creature comforts. It's also a passable place for locals who want to witness the Sinulog festival.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank teecup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

At night after 8 p.m. to 2 a.m. just forget about sleeping!! It is not posdible the bar infront of this place is the noisiedt wth the Lousiedt music (Noise) you will ever hear, so stay AWAY...

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank madito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2009

We had problems finding decent accommodation in Cebu City, we stayed at this place first for two nights before changing hotels (the staff did change our room at this hotel but it was no better). The A/C worked, and there was hot water, but it was so noisy at night from all the karaoke bars nearby that we couldn't sleep. It's a fairly bleak, dreary place and we much preferred the other Pensione we stayed at, which was just up the road but much quieter and had much nicer rooms for about the same money.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The noise at night
  • Stayed March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veedub72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.8 mi away
Cebu Guest Inn
Cebu Guest Inn
#13 of 77 in Cebu City
11 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mayflower Pension
Mayflower Pension
#18 of 77 in Cebu City
75 reviews
0.6 mi away
TR3ATS Guest House
TR3ATS Guest House
#27 of 77 in Cebu City
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelbee Capitol Inn Cebu
Travelbee Capitol Inn Cebu
#50 of 77 in Cebu City
22 reviews
1.0 mi away
GnB Hostel
GnB Hostel
#32 of 71 in Cebu City
11 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Tierra Suites
Gran Tierra Suites
#2 of 77 in Cebu City
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to C'est La Vie Pension? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about C'est La Vie Pension

Property: C'est La Vie Pension
Address: 13 Juana Osmena Street, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — C'est La Vie Pension 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your C'est La Vie Pension reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
c`Est La Vie Pension Hotel Cebu City
C'Est La Vie Pension Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing