We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“nice location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sampaguita Suites JRG

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sampaguita Suites JRG
Ranked #43 of 86 Hotels in Cebu City
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“nice location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stayed there for 2 nights on our 1st night the room is so small hardly to move around the bed is matrimonial according to the receptionist but looks single bed for me well bigger than that but im sure its not a matrimonial size. The room was on 2nd floor with a window hardly slept due to noise. The day after i wanna cried when i woke up i dont feel relaxed rather feeled stressed out. The saving grace was on the our 2nd day we tranferred to 3rd floor which has already 2 beds bigger than the previous room alot better to think they have same price .The previous room should be for single occupancy not for double occupancy should be cheaper also to think you need to endure noise, small space.overall if the rooms are all like on 3 rd floor this is already ok for the price and its location.

Room Tip: Choose 3rd floor rooms away from noise outside the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dyosadyosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for your comment. I hope that your experience has not dampened your desire to come back to our hotel. Your advise will be taken up to management in order to avoid further disappointments from future guests. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    45
    42
    16
    13
See reviews for
17
32
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I had been a frequent visitor from cebu and checking different hotels for groups, individuals and clientele fro my travel agency. I heared about Sampaguita Hotel from a friend for their budget package and must see how it is. both Sampaguita JRG & Basilica Branch
ROOMS: regular,the ones that are appointed near the main road can be noisy.
STAFF: this is not a 5 star hotel,so i id say so-so...most importantly WIFI ready

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pureshorestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your comment. We do hope that we can do business together in the future and we'd be more than happy to accept comments, reviews and suggestions from you and your clients to make our hotel services better. Looking forward to hearing from you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

I go to Cebu for business and pleasure several times a year and I always stay at Sampaguita JRG. The staff is so-so, they could be more friendly but they ARE polite and helpful enough. The rooms are small and basic but clean, and it is relatively quiet even though the hotel is located along a main road. What I love most about this hotel is its location. It is near Fuente Osmena and Robinsons and SM Cebu and Ayala Center are also just a short cab ride away. There are a lot of fastfoods and convenience stores within walking distance and on the ground floor of the hotel is a Razon's. Sampaguita JRG is my home when I'm in Cebu. :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maanphd75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, September 29, 2012
Thank you for the remarks. We appreciate the candor regarding our staff and we will make sure that we will do better. There's no doubt that our location is tops. But hospitality and congeniality should be given more attention. Please do not hesitate to give notice to this the next time you visit us. Until next time, ciao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

I've stayed here for a night and although I just went to inquire and there seems to be no available units yet, but the front desk staffs did go out of their way to find and accommodate me on that day. I have stayed at Shamrock nearby before and all I can say is that Sampaguita is a notch higher, everything you need can be access nearby, grocery, drug store, malls, you name it. . . although I find the toilet to be very basic, it surpassed my expectation still. . .

Kudos to you guys . . . .

Room Tip: if you are looking for a place to stay at the heart of Cebu, then this is the place to choose. . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CebuanoKo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you so much for the review. It feels good to know that our efforts are well recognized. Better yet, to be better compared to another hotel is more than enough for us. Thank you again and we hope that you will continue to patronize Sampaguita Suites JRG in the future. Ciao!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed there for two nights and we did a late check-in. The staff were very friendly, especially the front desk staff. Location was very convenient and there was a grocery store located right outside the entrance. (The entrance to the hotel is on the second floor) The room was decent, beds were comfy. The bathroom was decent, real hot shower which was needed. It was somewhat small and there were no proper division between the toilet and the shower area, which is typical of the Philippines. WiFi was available all throughout the hotel, including the room, free of charge..and it had decent connection. My only major complain is that the smell of food outside kept going inside our room which was somewhat bothering. Overall, good hotel for a good price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetBlue777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Thank you your review. It was a very a good review coming from someone who is from the Big Apple.We hope that can visit us again soon. We really appreciate upfront, straightforward remarks front our guests. It gives us the opportunity to improve further. We certainly hope that this will not be the last time you that you will come to Cebu City. See you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2012

The best thing about this hotel is its location. Its in the middle of everything.
No hassles of finding cabs and jeepneys, establishments are walking distance away. Its convenient and budget friendly.

Whenever im on a budget trip and in cebu, i always stay in this hotel. Although lately, you can feel the building getting old.

I would request that the management do some maintenance work but its negligable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for sharing your insight and thank you for being a frequent guest of the hotel. Location is what Sampaguita Suites JRG is all about and affordable accommodation is what we assure you alongside a friendly hotel staff. I just wish that you could have been more specific on which maintenance work that you feel that we need to improve. The place may be up for some refurbishing a bit to give it a new look. Thank you for your suggestion.

I hope that you continue to patronize JRG. God bless.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mindanao, Philippines
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

This place has a a good location and decent rooms for a short stay, however they are reluctant to provide with a different room if the room you are seeking to move to has a lower rate. Online on the same day and even the day before there were rooms suitable for us at a lower rate but the staff said they were not available. I didn't like this situation so moved to a much nicer place with a stawilling to deal. See FO review following this one.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coconutman47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel P, Public Relations Manager at Sampaguita Suites JRG, responded to this review, August 15, 2012
Thank you for your observation regarding our booking reservation system. We would like to inform you that our booking system in our Sampaguita Suites outlets are NOT REAL TIME. Meaning, what you see on the booking reservation online is not up-to-date. But we have good news for you! We will be upgrading the booking system very soon. We are currently in the process of duplicating the real-time system that we are using in our hotel at Coron to Sampaguita Suites.

With that, we would like to apologize for the misunderstanding. We will definitely be able to serve you much better as soon as that system is already in place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.2 mi away
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia Location
0.5 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#36 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pier Cuatro
Hotel Pier Cuatro
#29 of 86 in Cebu City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#40 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#61 of 86 in Cebu City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#33 of 86 in Cebu City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampaguita Suites JRG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Suites JRG

Property: Sampaguita Suites JRG
Address: Jrg Building Gen. Maxilom Avenue | 2nd Floor, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Sampaguita Suites JRG reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sampaguita Suites Jrg Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Suites JRG Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing