We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The BEST Low Budget Hotel in Cebu...!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sampaguita Suites JRG
Ranked #45 of 87 Hotels in Cebu City
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The BEST Low Budget Hotel in Cebu...!”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

The room price at 1200p is a bargain price if your e not expecting Luxury.
Its a basic, smalll room, with A/C, Pay TV, and small ensuite shower & toilet.

Positives;
"Chan" is why we will always go back to Sampaguita, and recommend this hotel. He is quite possibly the best porter, in CEBU!
Unlike his counterparts, this young lad RAN, when asked for a Taxi or towels, and made you feel like a priority!
Huuge congrats to him...
good filipino breakfast, i recomend the local milkfish, pronounced ""BANG-UUUS"", for allll the foreigners...hehheeee
one of the biggest tourist attractions in Cebu, The oldest church in the Philippines, ""Santo Nino"" is 50metres away.
There are 2 smalllll Supermarkets, close by.




Negatives;
beds are very hard, as they are only foam mattresses
Air con filters neeed cleaning, AT ALLL CEBU HOTELS...its easy to open and put in the shower to wash off the dust.......or like what i do, buy some "toilet cleaner" and wash it properly, whilst having a shower.
Dont rely on house cleaning, in ANY of the cebu hotels to do it, as they will only "wipe" the dust off....

Begging children are always outside this hotel, and heartbreakingly, must be ignored, unless you want a RIOT !!!!!!
if you give one child a lollie, alll of them, 10 or 20, run over to you...surrounding and swarming you, while the Lazy guard will just laugh...

if you want to give charity without being overwhelmed, go out at 4am, and put some real foood( 2min noodles , rice or uht milk) beside them as they sleeeep, outside the hotel........this is what we did.

Room Tip: Air con filters neeed cleaning, AT ALLL CEBU HOTELS...its easy to open and put in the shower to wash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank venusrondez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    46
    44
    16
    13
See reviews for
18
33
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Asia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Stayed here for two nights in two different rooms. 1st night in a double room and 2nd night in the triple room.

Great location. But the rooms look ill-maintained. The bed linens were not that clean-looking. The bathrooms could be cleaner. The rooms are also quite small. The wifi they advertise is soooo not true! There's a signal but I think they don't actually have an internet connection just a wireless router that gives out a "signal."

There are better choices in Cebu with newer rooms and about the same price of Sampaguita Suites JRG. You could also try the newer branch of Sampaguita near the Sto. Nino church.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssofiaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurstnc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Yes it is a low priced hotel. But for the money i don't think you can beat it. If something isn't right they will try to make it right. and they are a great bunch of people there. I will stay there on my next trip. I have spent time there twice now. It is very convenient to most of what your need.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Oldfatchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

Sampaguita Suites is recommended by my officemate cause they stayed there last year. Since my friends and I are in a low budget, we decided to book here for a 2-night stay. Not bad for a Php 1198 per night rate (good for 3 persons already) plus Php 500 deposit (this is just in case you ordered something from their cafeteria or need to pay for something you consumed during your stay) but refundable when you check-out. With a free airport pick-up (which is a bonus point for the hotel). Clean rooms. No breakfast included (don't expect much cause you only get what you paid for). Anyway, no food inclusion is not a problem. The hotel is located near a supermarket. They also have cafeteria on their 2nd floor and a cafeteria near the hotel entrance. Also, one of the good things about this hotel is that it is very accessible. You can just walk when you want to go to Magellan's Cross, Basilica de Sto.Nino, Cebu Cathedral, Fort San Pedro and Plaza Independencia. One ride to Carbon Market.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for those travelers who want to go to Cebu City with a low budget but would still enjoy the trip.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trinz19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamz
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2010

my friends needed a place to stay in the cebu city and they got this great room rates from sampaguita suites. no frills accommodation but gives you better value for your money, especially for those with a tight budget.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ela1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2010

PLEASE READ CAREFULLY.
DO NOT consider this hotel for your accommodation.

I'll cut it short but basically this was what happened to us. We had an event the whole day of Saturday, we left the hotel room at 7AM then went back at 3AM, we unpacked some things and freshened up. We decided to eat at Sinangag Station nearby. Left the hotel at 3:20AM and went back to the hotel at 4AM. To our surprise, our things were scattered on the floor and all our valuables were missing (cellphone, laptop, cameras, watch, jewelries, wallets, psp, bag).

We are 100% sure that we locked the door and brought the key with us. Some of our companions noticed that a portion of the curtain was slightly placed outside the small opening of the window. Prior to this incident, none of us opened or touched the window since we checked in. It was only then that we noticed that the window has been breached. When we checked the area outside the window, there was a roof that can be easily reached, it was very dark and there was a staircase.

After the police's investigation, we requested them to transfer us to a new room. When we saw the room, it was very similar to the one we had. We immediately checked the windows and discovered that it was also opened, thus was also probable of another mishap.

Now, it's your call. Would you want this to happen to you, family and friends? We hope not.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank ilovetotravel0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

cavite
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2010

upon arriving at cebu, i really want to stay at sampaguita, i always check their website and i thought that their service is great, knowing that sampaguita is the 2nd cheapest hotel in cebu....but unfortunately their rooms are fully booked coz holiday is coming.....after holiday and i still have no place to go then i get the chance to accomodate at sampaguita but they did not meet my expectations regardless that they are accessible to everything that you need, food chains, grocery, etc....their room is ok, im not that choosy type of person anyway its just me and my partner....im planning to stay here for 3 nights but then i feel disappointed when their credit card reader is out of service i have to pay cash but i only pay just for a night and a deposit of 500 i dont know what that's for.....the signal is very weak inside the hotel premises, they say that they have wifi in every room but you have to buy a token 50.00 to access for the internet line and the line sucks, before i logged out of the wifi i have 23 hours more then when i used the wifi early morning it is only 15 hours tsk,tsk....goodluck to new backpackers who will accomodate to this hotel....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prettytraveller0431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
1.2 mi away
Sampaguita Suites-Plaza Garcia
0.6 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#64 of 87 in Cebu City
88 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mango Park Hotel
Mango Park Hotel
#51 of 87 in Cebu City
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Travelbee Business Inn
Travelbee Business Inn
#32 of 87 in Cebu City
44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.9 mi away
Dynasty Tourist Inn
Dynasty Tourist Inn
#41 of 87 in Cebu City
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sampaguita Suites JRG? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sampaguita Suites JRG

Property: Sampaguita Suites JRG
Address: Jrg Building Gen. Maxilom Avenue | 2nd Floor, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sampaguita Suites JRG 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Sampaguita Suites Jrg Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Hotel Cebu City
Sampaguita Suites JRG Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing