We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average place to stay for budget tight travel”

La Florentina Pensionne
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Florentina Pensionne
Ranked #41 of 78 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 27, 2011

The place is quite old; I think the 1st and the second floors are residential because it says there private. I was confused when I entered the lobby, there are no signs where to go or directions to your room assigned and all that I see is “private, no entry”. The lobby is small and the ambience is so gloomy, it’s not so welcoming on my part. Mr. Receptionist was nice and accommodating though.

Our room was on the 4th floor, no elevators, so we have to take the stairs. The room was okay, well lighted, and has large windows which I like. The bathroom is so small, there’s not much room to move around when you take a bath, and when sitting the toilet, it’s like having face-to-face to the wall in front of you. They have 'hot or cold shower though. I’m not that impressed with the room but it was spacious though, the linens and towels look okay. I requested for new towels the next day, I was dismayed when I checked it they handed a towel which is a bit damp or not completely dry. They have cable TV, but remember to ask for the remote control from the receptionist. The place has no wifi too.

The place is just a walking distance from Ayala center, and about 40-50 minutes taxi ride to the airport. If you travel alone, I suggest you take a taxi and not walk going there because the area nearby at night is so dark which I think it’s more prone to accidents and robbery.

And one last thing I notice is that, outside the entrance area, the garbage stinks a lot. I didn’t know where that comes from.

I’ll probably stay here again if I’m on tight budget.

Room Tip: no elevators, getting a room on the 5th floor might be very tedious specially when your tired to cli...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssaera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (33)
There are newer reviews for La Florentina Pensionne
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 33 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

The place could use a facelift or at least some white paint to brighten it up. The first room I occupied on the ground floor was affected by an annoying regular loud and strange electronic noise. I was offered a better room up 4 floor flights of stairs, but at least it had windows with plenrty of light. Sitting on the toilet meant facing the wall inches away. Unlike most Filipinos, management are not particularly engaging or friendly. No free wifi.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrDestiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

building is old, rooms are old, towels, linens, everything is old. If you are the type who likes vintage accomodation, here's your place. walking distance from ayala mall, coffee shops etc. when we arrive at 1am after some night out with friends, the lobby is already closed, you had to knock and wake the guard up. they are super strict in terms of visitors. you can find other better pension house/hotel at the same price, for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graceycute09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2009

I was a bit leary about a pension in the Philippines but my friend recommended it as it was near her office. No problem having a friend in the room as long as she/he is registered and shows ID. Good security at hotel but was cautioned to be smart at night when walking around despite being within 500 meters of Ayala Mall. The back streets are dark and apparently my friend had a work colleague robbed one late night(1am). Price for a double(2 people) was 800 pesos without breakfast. Had AC as well as openable windows. Shower with cold water only but everything was neat and tidy. Would stay there again without question if looking for nothing fancy. Easy access to dining and transportation. Took 40 min to airport at 9 am on a Thursday.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank divertwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

We stayed at Pensione La Florentina from October 25-27 and from November 1-2, 2008. They have no airport-hotel transfer service, so you have to take a cab to the hotel. This will cost you around PHP 160.00 (USD 3.25) from Mactan-Cebu International Airport. Just give the driver the address of the hotel.

Location-wise, it's near Ayala Center Cebu, one of the major malls in the city, but it's very quiet at night. It's also a short cab or jeepney ride away from Cebu's tourist attractions and night spots.

A room with a single bed costs PHP 700.00 (USD 14.00) while a double room costs PHP 800.00 (USD 16.00). Extra beds are PHP 150.00 (USD 3.00). All rooms are air-conditioned and have cable TV. No hot shower. They serve breakfast, too. And late check-out is available at 50% surcharge till 6:00 p.m. and 100% surcharge after 6:00 p.m.

They don't allow visitors in the room but you can request them if you have some friends visiting as the lobby where you're supposed to entertain your visitors is hot and has mosquitos at night.

For a pension house under PHP 1,000.00

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank manilaboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, traveled with friends
Thank forever-wanderlust13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2016, traveled with friends
Thank LesNous2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cebu City
0.4 mi away
The Maxwell Hotel
The Maxwell Hotel
#37 of 91 in Cebu City
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capitol Central Hotel and Suites
0.6 mi away
Mayflower Pension
Mayflower Pension
#19 of 78 in Cebu City
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Cebu Guest Inn
Cebu Guest Inn
#14 of 78 in Cebu City
11 reviews
1.1 mi away
TR3ATS Guest House
TR3ATS Guest House
#31 of 78 in Cebu City
60 reviews
0.1 mi away
Islands Stay Hotels Uptown Cebu
Islands Stay Hotels Uptown Cebu
#228 of 342 in Cebu Island
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Florentina Pensionne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Florentina Pensionne

Address: 18 Acacia | Lahug, Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range: $16 - $20 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — La Florentina Pensionne 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your La Florentina Pensionne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Florentina Pensionne Hotel Cebu City
La Florentina Pensionne Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing