We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, a place to rest your head”
Review of Cebu Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cebu Guesthouse
Ranked #65 of 76 Cebu City B&B and Inns
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, a place to rest your head”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed at the Cebu Guesthouse for 2 nights since all we wanted to see in Cebu was a temple and go to Bohol (a nearby island). It is like any other hostel in a city; the location was ideal because it was close to the Ayala mall and the temple we wanted to see. It was also located on one of the main streets in the city. Because of the negative reviews, we booked without high expectations of the place: we just needed a place to sleep for two nights. Unfortunately, the first night, the hallway outside our room smelled like urine and it eventually smelled like that in our room. The second night wasn't so bad. Our room had a/c although the settings on the front didn't work. To turn it off, we had to unplug the a/c. Overall it was a good economic place, but don't expect anything nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charito C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    12
    17
    22
    44
See reviews for
5
24
35
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Despite all the negative reviews of this place, I had a positive experience on my single night stay. We arrived in the early morning flying from Singapore and struggled to find availability within our relatively tight budget around Fuente Osmena / Mango Avenue. The staff were helpful let us check into the room early, did us a reduced rate for the 3 bedroom room with air cond. The manager was friendly when I chatted to him and helped us to ordered a taxi to the bus station the following morning. Best of all - when I put my clothes into be laundered I left a 20 Ringgit note in my shorts which was returned to me - quite surprising as I would otherwise not have noticed and I'm sure it would have had reasonable value to whoever was doing the laundry. As far as I can tell it is a decent budget option in Cebu City proper (of which there are not many).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank deenairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

For location: Walking distance from Ayala mall.(around 5-10mis).
On Mango Avenue, night club are nearby.

Price is reasonable 350p for dorm. It is good for 1-night or solo traveller.

The services of the staff is not very good.

Room Tip: Room price is reasonable, near Mango Avenue night clubs and Ayala mall
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ming Ho L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

In Cebu for one night and stayed here on a friends recommendation. Not sure what the heck he was thinking, wish I'd read the reviews here first! Yes, it's dirt cheap, but I'd rather pay more and get a clean place. Room was tiny and backed on to the communal kitchen (lights on in the middle of the night and noisy). Bathrooms needed a good scrub and often toilet paper (not sure why because there often were lots of staff swanning around).
Only positives were supercheap, no bed bugs, near a shopping mall (needed some supplies).
I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claire s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Cebu City hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The dormitory at this place was dirty and it is used by the staff as they room. One of my shirts disapeared while I was there, at the time only two other guests were ocupying the dorm apart from me and they were out all day when it happened, hence I'm suspicious someone from the staff took it, when I reported it to the reception they nearly ignored me. I also found dead coakroaches in the corridor near the bathroom and after picking up my clothes from the laundry they smell so bad.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank underfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The price for the night was ok and the staff there was nice enough. Taxi ride to IT park and ferries were close but I had the most horrible night there. The entire place is unreasonably dirty. I watched bugs crawl up the wall as I took a shower (which had no hot water) and there were clumps of hair in the corner. We were in a dorm and we couldn't sleep because the whole night we heard rats scurrying across the room and mosquitoes buzzing around our heads. We decided to just sit outside for the entire night and not sleep and as we sat outside we watched cockroaches roam the grounds. Would not recommend this hotel at all as it would be better to just sit outside and not sleep all night.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bingo8409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cesena, Italy
Level Contributor
1,178 reviews
198 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,066 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2012

I'm really sorry to write this reference 'cos the staff has been really kind and nice with us. we booked this hotel through booking.com and the references we read there were quite good.
the location is quite ok but the rest... the room is without bathroom (20 USD per night) but thats not a problem, the problem is that it's really small, old, dirty and stinky. there is no privacy 'cos the wall is just a piece of compensated wood and the "window" is right inside the kitchen, this means that we were woken up at 5 a.m. by people who were talking loudly... we r travellers on budget, we r backpackers and this wouldn't be a problem as well... what i find totally UNACCEPTABLE is that i woke up two times with cockroaches on my pillow, huge ones... i killed them and tried to keep on sleeping...a few minutes later i was woken up again by a lot of noises coming from the down side of the bed... i switched the light on and saw 2 big rats running away below the main door... at that point i couldn't fall asleep anymore cos every single noise made me think about them...i wanted to leave the hotel but it was 3.30 am. the following day, early in the morning I complained with the staff who didnt seem very surprised by this event and kindly they didn't make me pay that awful night. as i said, the staff was very nice but the hotel needs to be reviewed a little bit. it's unacceptable that a trustable site as booking.com doesn't select very well his guests. sorry but other travelers must know. born2travel.it

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cebu City hotels
0.6 mi away
Pacific Pensionne
Pacific Pensionne
#63 of 87 in Cebu City
88 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cebu Guest Inn
Cebu Guest Inn
#10 of 76 in Cebu City
11 reviews
1.2 mi away
TR3ATS Guest House
TR3ATS Guest House
#26 of 76 in Cebu City
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palazzo Pensionne
Palazzo Pensionne
#3 of 76 in Cebu City
131 reviews
1.7 mi away
Cebu Guesthouse - Fuente
Cebu Guesthouse - Fuente
#21 of 68 in Cebu City
1 reviews
1.0 mi away
CebuView Tourist Inn
CebuView Tourist Inn
#25 of 76 in Cebu City
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cebu Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cebu Guesthouse

Property: Cebu Guesthouse
Address: 211 Mango Avenue | (also known as Aysha-Lily Cebu City Guesthouse), Cebu City 6000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Visayas > Cebu Island > Cebu City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Cebu City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Cebu Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cebu Guesthouse is located in the popular Mango Avenue, within walking distance of the City Circle, the vibrant area dubbed 'Heart of the City' being very popular for malls, restaurants and cheep CD's, and the central city shopping and I.T park of Ayala. We are also on a main Jeepney route to all the major centres and short ride to the caf?? area of Capitol. Our local staff can assist you in the local knowledge of catching these illusive creatures. We offer large rooms from 690, either double or shared at a very affordable rate. There is plenty of indoor and outdoor space for relaxing, or mingling with fellow guests. Kitchen for cooking, with fridge and microwave, all utensils and dining area, you will have everything you need to cook or information as to where are the best places to eat and enjoy, all housed in this period style Spanish ancestral building. Cebu is a great starting point for your island adventure. Our guesthouse is only minutes from the Supercat ferry going to the diving mecca of Bohol and local airport heading to the world class island of Boracay: listed in the top 10 most beautiful beaches in the world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Cebu Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cebu Guesthouse Hotel Cebu City
Cebu Guesthouse Cebu Island/Cebu City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing