We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel in Davao”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grand Menseng Hotel
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
dljr60
Level Contributor
143 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“good hotel in Davao”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

A huge good hotel. We held an event there for 300 people. All went well. Food and service was good. Better than the food served in restaurant. Hotel rooms were clean and large. Good air-con. TV good. Internet good for Philippines. Front desk girls were cute and professional :) Pool was good but there was not much sun. Overall, a good experience.

Room Tip: get room away from elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dljr60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    29
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
8
6
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Good Chinese buffet. Value for money. Decent rooms with some fixtures in the bathroom showing need of repair. Located at the center of Davao. A favorite of groups for workshops. TV is old. No wifi, uses wires to connect. Very poor seats in the room to use for work. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rafael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
106 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Grand Menseng is one of the oldest hotel in Davao. This may explain why their furnishings are not as glamorous as new hotels we have now in town. However, old it may be, but it has comfortable and clean rooms.
The hotel is located in the heart of the city, so it is indeed at the center of a very busy and yes, noisy street. If you are particular with proximity and/or accessibility to malls, church,banks, schools and commercial establishments, then the hotel is a walking distance.and it is safe to walk around the city even at night.
One thing I also like is their restaurant. Price is very reasonable.Food is good They offer lunch buffet for only P300.00 and their afternoon snack buffet for only P99.00 per person.
For a snack in a hotel at P99.00, it's really something one should try.
Hotel and office staff are polite and friendly, very accommodating to questions we asked.
Parking area though is not so good, hopefully, one day they would improve it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 6452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Buffet for breakfast was ok, nothing special. Rooms were fairly clean, but no safe. Furnishings rather old. Lobby makes a nice impression, but the rooms don't live up to that promise. Only smoking area is out by the pool. Restaurant food was plain and uninspired. I'll be trying someplace else when I go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Addicted2Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I had the chance to stay in this hotel last May 2012. The rooms are quite big but the carpet is worn out already, I had a good view of the pool area in my room. Located in the heart of davao city. Their buffet breakfast has no variation. We get to eat the same menu during our 3 day stay. My only consolation was they served kilawin everyday yehheeey my favorite! They need to change their menu alternately....Their room service was ok.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irenearrogante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The hotel lobby has a grand majestic look but i have a feeling of oldness in decor. We book thru their website and able to avail of their cheaper weekend promo rate @P1,800 that comes with free airport transfers and free buffet breakfast is really value for money.The room we stay is big, clean and with comfortable bed. Bathroom is also clean but with old fixtures. Location is not the center of Davao, but public transport are readily available anytime in front of the hotel. Just don't expect luxury and you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay on a weekend and avail of their promo rate @p1,800 when book thru their website is truly value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dom094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here for a wedding as part of a group booking. Booking was for a room with 2 double beds as was staying with my parents. Ended up with a room with 3 single beds - or should I say two single beds and three stained, completely soft mattresses stacked on top of each other which I was unable to sleep on as they were way too soft. Requested another room even if we had to get two rooms with double beds in however the hotel was fully booked however they did put a harder mattress in the room and I slept on this on the floor. My brothers room and a friend who was also staying smelt so musty had to leave the door open whenever we were in there.
In saying this the room was cheap approx $60 a night and if you are on a budget the rooms, bathrooms and sheets were clean. If you are a budget traveller I would highly recommend but if you are looking for something a bit flasher there are better options.
The one thing I could not fault was the staff. They were helpful and courteous and went out of there way to help in anyway they could. Buffet breakfast was ok but get there early as the later it is they don't tend to replace items when they run out. We ate at the poolside a few times and it was good (not fantastic) but in saying that no complaints on the price. Nine of us ate there for dinner and had desserts and a few drinks and it was only $60AUD so for that price I consider it EXCELLENT!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erinzd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0.6 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#17 of 52 in Davao City
54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
1,098 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#32 of 52 in Davao City
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
351 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#10 of 52 in Davao City
260 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
#9 of 52 in Davao City
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Menseng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Menseng Hotel

Property: Grand Menseng Hotel
Address: Magallanes Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Menseng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Also Known As:
Grand Menseng Hotel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing