We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

this hotel is one of the best ones i've stayed in. location is great since you can easily go out and commute to different areas around the city, hotel areas are very spacious and kept clean as well as the rooms (they don't allow durian fruit inside), food tastes good and the service is great.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betchay28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,096)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

932 - 938 of 1,096 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is an older property - probably dating from the late 1960s or early 1970s. It is well maintained, and the owners appear to have reinvested in it on a regular basis in an effort to keep it attractive and up to date. Rooms are large, spacious, and nicely furnished. It's not a 'modern' property, but it is a pleasant property.

The grounds are very attractive and well-kept - the hotel complex consists of several low-rise blocks that surround a pool and central garden area.

The restaurants in the hotel are disappointing - the service is slow, the wait staff are slow and witless (for sure, not the 'first dogs off the porch', if you know what I mean), and the food is poor quality and not at all tasty.

I would consider coming back here again, but if I did, I would not eat in any of the hotel restaurants. I would go out for dinner, and probably grab a breakfast at the McDonald's on the way to the airport.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solotravellerCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We spent very pleasant days at the Waterfront Insular. Although a bit peripheral it is really pleasant and impressively appointed. All numerous rooms are air-conditioned, spacious, well appointed, with views over the central park or other green areas. There are half a dozen restaurants and bistros to choose from, relaxing communal spaces, a lovely swimming pool and wellness centre, the possibility of hiring boats to sail to Samal Island or go on customised cruised, the service is always with a smile by the extremely curteous staff. We love fresh coconut juice, so everyday we had our coconuts collected from the palm trees and cut open for us. Paradise!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank opossumd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I got 3 rooms for this stay, we are locals and decided just to spend the weekend at this hotel. We were loyal patrons of this hotel for the past 4 decades, my parents brought us here when we were kids, attended parties and weddings here, conferences and meetings as well. We had our wedding reception here as well. Although old, it was a hotel one would tend to return to, with its sprawling grounds, beachside location and friendly/efficient staff. However, during this stay I really got disappointed. The room was in need of cleaning, smell was stuffy, bathrooms were not all ready when we went in, and a surprising change which was not welcome were padlocked in room refs, I asked the front desk why is this so? The balcony was in a state of neglect, we used to have coffee and conversations here but during this stay it was dirty and dusty, in all 3 rooms!

their reply was that we need to make a deposit first, and I answered back, isn't it the standard procedure of hotels to ask for a deposit in cash or swipe a card for this, and the front desk answered sorry sir, we will send housekeeping to open the ref. Isn't this crazy, a padlocked ref in a hotel room!

One disappointing point during this stay that made us decide not to return again to this hotel was the arrogance of a pool personnel towards our kids. This was one disappointing stay.

Room Tip: if you really would like to stay here, we find rooms on the right wing to be in a better state, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

If there's an award for worst service, this property should win one. The bell captain gave us the wrong information regarding ferry transfers to the island right across the hotel & as a result, we had to wait for almost half an hour. We then walked back to the lobby to follow up but only to find out from the same person that they cannot provide the ferry service after all! No one even bothered to relay the information to us while we were there waiting for nothing under the sun. We were merely given excuses, totally no accountability on the bell captain's part. To top it off, their front office receptionist did not want to assist us at all. I had to insist on getting their manager's name so we could write a formal complaint. It used to be such a pleasant property, now all that's left is an old hotel with lazy & unreliable people to run it.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
3  Thank moonbabies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Was disappointed with the flies on Buffet, not sure where they were all coming from. Room overlooking pool was lovely and staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mydestination2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

looks like a beach resort but is not; you are being warned away from the un clean waters on the beach. staying here because it is close to the airport and on the road north out of Davao so convenient for travel to Surigao del Sur and Davao del Norte.

staff is not what you would expect from what bills itself as a four star hotel. they are either unfriendly, or if they are friendly, mostly not competent. (a bartender who never heard of a scotch and soda, for example)

this was my fifth time there, and the rooms have not improved, with sliding doors off their tracks, and bad wifi. breakfast buffet is good though, as is the pool.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
3.6 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
1,157 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
960 reviews
3.0 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
326 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
435 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao

Address: J.P.Laurel Ave, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range: $56 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Insular Resort Davao
Davao Waterfront Insular Hotel
Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing