We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just right”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Ranked #6 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Manila
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Just right”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Its like entering a posh subdivision when you arrive at the hotel lobby. Its not your ordinary hotels that when you step out everything else is accessible.

Cozy clean rooms which is very conducive to doze off even in the middle of the day. Flat TV, cable and internet are available. Food is well just enough to fill in.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank entengoreng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    426
    209
    84
    36
See reviews for
287
200
43
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We had merienda at the hotel's cafe. We had 2 cakes and a tuna turnover and three cappuccinos.

The food arrived before the coffees! And the tuna turnover became soggy after they just microwaved it to heat. They should have shoved this quickly into the oven, or at least in an oven toaster. The cappuccinos didn't last long. It wasn't enough.

But the cakes were lovely. Mango and Chocolate we had. And we had a beautiful beautiful view of the garden, pool, and the beach.

Overall, it was a great Christmas merienda.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhaynosaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Rare are hotels that are not high rise and this hotel is one of them. The most appreciable part of this hotel is its vast lawn, there is a generous space for greenery and there is no shortage of space to breathe in oxygen. The location is perfect, just across the enthralling Samal Island which a separate review is devoted. The lobby is spacious and nice with very friendly staff. The security staff is also helpful. I stayed at the second floor room and it is evident that a remake has just been completed. The floors are spanking clean and shiny and the beddings are clean and soft. There were some remnants of the old era though like the door knobs, shower heads and faucets that have ingrown molds and stains. The bed lamps need replacement also. I appreciate the cable TV though with its wide selection of channels. The balcony in the room is a plus. The best attribute of this hotel is its very friendly and quick room service--- you get your requests all in a jiffy. The beachfront garden and the swimming pool area are also excellent, really plenty of breathing spaces. Since my accommodation doesn't come with free breakfast, I cannot comment on the food, but Davao is a buffet's paradise. Restaurants here offer breakfast, lunch and dinner buffets at a fraction of cost than in Manila. Locally grown fruits are also the sweetest and the best in the country and are sold here a dime a dozen. Insular Hotel and Davao makes for a perfect vacation combination place. The only drawback of this hotel is its very slow internet connection. It also has poor business center facilities.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jude T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2011

Hotel pick-up on time at airport - rooms clean but air con struggles as does the Wifi - front desk staff are great - beyond that housekeeping is a zoo - great polite smiley people but totally disorganised - example - specifically folded bath towels up ( to save the world) but they were taken away BUT NOT REPLACED and it took 4 calls and a visit to reception to sort it. It took 5 days to get an ashtray on the balcony - by the way smoking is restricted but not to the draconian levels of legend.

Winning points were its great restaurants especial Il Pirata out on the jetty. Service is excellent and the food is good. Breakfast is substantial. Not much happening around the hotel - it is off a main road but in a relatively safe area - although did not feel inclined to wander far.

Rooms come with a safe for a reason so use it like you would anywhere else for your own peace of mind..also Business Centre was closed - a bit tough if you are there on business! To be honest its a tourist hotel and not geared to the business user.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apearce53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
253 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The hotel is clean with accommodating and approachable staffs. But you cannot swim at the beach outside. The water is not for swimming. Only at the pool. If you want nice scenery outside the hotel, then this can be the place.

Room Tip: Book a room facing the sea. Lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slazenger552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This is my first experience to Philippines and although quite disappointed by the beach (can't swim as it's polluted), the view is good. Hotel on the whole shows it's age but well maintained, service is very good. The staff are well manner & helpful. Overall it's a nice pleasant stay if you are looking for a peaceful, quiet (barring any events) relaxing stay. Be prepared to bring your own music, ipad or books as there are nothing much to do.
Pool is relatively big by resort hotel standard (25 meters) but can be dangerous to children or non swimmers as it's very deep on both sides (5 ft - 10 ft)
Breakfast buffet is as expected sufficient (can't really complain) but not great, there's a good Italian restaurant that serves good pizza & pasta.
There's a jetty that takes you to 'Paradise Island' 5-7 mins (150 peso) by boat but although the water was clear on the island, there's a lot of broken bit of sea shell all over and the general atmosphere wasn't great.
From the reviews got to eat at this 'Ah Fat seafood' just 15 mins by taxi (taxi's are pretty cheap) and the food is succulent and reasonable despite the place looking cheapo ( there's 3 Ah Fat seafood on the same vicinity, we went to their 1st outlet). Highly recommended, on the other hand the front desk recommends 'Marina Tuna' about 400 metres right when you comes out the hotel and maybe it's not our day, service is poor and food is lousy and very surprise for a seafood place the varieties are quite limited.
Spent 4 of our 5 days shopping and SM Mall & Abreeza top our list, the latter being upmarket & pricey.

Room Tip: Unless you are on USD or Yen then maybe be good idea to change enough for the duration as only the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

Left important personal stuff here during my stay. We called on the same night we checked out and fontdesk staff said no one else checked-in after us. they said they'd get back to us when they find my stuff but they never did. If no one else used the room after me, who stole my stuff then? Is there no honest person in the country anymore??

On another note, the frontdesk staff never smiles, light in the room is dark, and ive had better buffet food and service.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
3.6 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
1.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
3.6 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#17 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao

Property: Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao
Address: J.P.Laurel Ave, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterfront Insular Resort Davao
Davao Waterfront Insular Hotel
Waterfront Insular Hotel Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing