We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Regal Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Be-ing Suites(Davao City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alta Pension House(Davao City)
View Hotel
Red Knight Gardens(Davao City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Apple Hotel(Davao City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mamay Inn & Resort(Davao City)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (93)
Filter reviews
93 results
Traveler rating
4
30
35
17
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
30
35
17
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree shuttle servicefree breakfast buffethotel is locateddental kitayala mallwifi connectionrooms are spaciousdavao airporthot waterswimming poolsaunatubtaxi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 93 reviews
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel has surely seen better days. The rooms are old and bare, the mattress was hard and lumpy.
There is a casino at the lobby and I guess this is the only thing keeping this place afloat. Casino-types hang out in the lobby and restaurants.
The location is far from the city center but thanks to Davao's peace and order situation, the area is generally safe.
I stayed in this hotel around 5 years ago and it has certainly deteriorated.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the farther from the noise of the casino and street.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Was booked in the hotel as a resource person for a workshop that was also held there. The hotel is located near the Davao International Airport but is some distance away from the CBD. My room was good and had a nice view of and clean but the shower in mine needed some updating. The staff were very attentive during the workshop but the food served was average. The breakfast buffet was much better though and guests will surely enjoy their first meal of the day. Be sure to order hot chocolate as they will serve you the really good local concoction from tableya and not the supermarket variety of hot chocolate. There's a casino but we didn't go in, opting to explore Davao and eating out for dinner and lunch after our workshop. (Note: There's so many good eating places in Davao.)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d0ctrine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Excellent service from the moment we arrived, enjoyed wonderful friendly hospitality. Restaurant food was excellent, although menue was kind of restricted the food we liked was there and tatsed great. Would come back again just for the service and food.

Room Tip: Is a good distance to city proper but you have many good shopping malls on the way so you can do "mall hopping"
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siggyh52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The place is a little old, but thought was kept clean. Room was ok, a/c worked ok. The breakfast buffet was the best I had while staying in Davao. Nice view of Davao gulf. Stay away from casino, unless just totally bored. Has a small bar, but very cold beer and nice, friendly bartender.

I would stay here again, just to eat at the buffet.

Room Tip: higher floor has best view of the gulf.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gns50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed at the Grand Regal for 8 days. In those 8 days, I can only say that one bad thing happened and that was the fitness center didn't allow my fiance to use the facility because she didn't have the proper shoes(in their opinion).

In my experience, one bad thing cancels out 100 good things and the fitness center experience was definitely a bad experience. The staff was pretty unreasonable and impolite.

With that said, I honestly can't give this hotel a bad review because everything else was very good, especially the breakfast buffet. Each day there was a different type of food to experience and it was prepared perfectly. The hotel staff was very good, with the exception of the fitness center personnel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank That_Darn_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews