We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Main restaurant staff has problems - SM Lanang the staff is friendly”
Review of Marina Tuna

Marina Tuna
Ranked #4 of 507 Restaurants in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Main restaurant staff has problems - SM Lanang the staff is friendly”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

I cannot complain about the food at either restaurant, but I can certainly complain about the staff at the original location. I have been there four times with friends and all four times the staff was rude. It is as if they do not like small groups coming in, especially two people in a party. On one occasion I had to request they give us another waiter or I would call the police and leave without paying. We could settle the differences in court. I believe the taxi drivers get a kick back from the meal because on several occasions the taxi drivers waited outside until we had ordered. A friend ask me to go to the new SM locations and I am glad that I did. The food was great the staff was great! To be honest I do not know if I would ever try the original location again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank tom1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    57
    27
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Affordable and delicious”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

The best Davao tuna dishes served here; fried, broiled, boiled, grilled whatever. Fresh and clean resto. Nice ambiance too. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerMac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Keeps you coming back for more!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

When in Davao, two things you must have are 1. Durian and 2. Tuna. Since the city is close to GenSan, tuna capital of the Philippines, you can have fresh tuna at a cheap price.

We had gone to Marina Tuna 2 consecutive days in a row and both visits, we certainly did not get disappointed. The tuna was very fresh and the staff had offered suggestions on other fish we can have - swordfish was excellent, crispy butot (deep fried tuna tail) was mouthwatering, fish eye soup was great and tuna sashimi extremely fresh.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveling_sushi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good seafood, ambiance not so nice”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

I can't complain about the food, the tuna is fresh and tasty, also the other dishes taste good. But the ambiance is lousy, need renovation, I also see some rats running under the table, and I really don't like rats! Prices are a little high.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fides_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Marina Tuna at SM Lanang!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I love Marina Tuna's Imbao shell soup and Durian shake best! I can only wish they have a branch in Manila! :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank JenAspacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marina Tuna also viewed

Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 

Been to Marina Tuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing