We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Eagles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philippine Eagle Centre

Philippine Eagle Centre
Ranked #2 of 71 things to do in Davao City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This site is working to preserve the endangered Philippine eagle.
Marikina, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing Eagles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Its very interesting to see these kind of creatures. Although I'm not able to take a close up picture with the Eagle. You might also have a hard time going back to the city since most of the available rides are single motorbikes, so if you have cash to spare i would suggest to ask a cab or rent a car.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Reimmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    201
    91
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Let us help save the Philippine Eagle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

One can learn a lot about eagles by touring the Philippine Eagle Center --- a competent guide (volunteer) will accompany your party and explain the eagles' characteristics, their mating habits and their loyalty to their lifetime mate.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dreamgirl_1253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan, Philippines
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Philippine Eagles Territory”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The place is a little bit run-down and poorly maintained. What gives this place an average rating for me and my family is that we saw the majestic Philippine Eagles and even PAG-ASA for the first time and also the other animals that are in this place like Philippine deer, monkeys, hawks, other eagles to name a few. I hope that there will be major changes.

We also enjoyed our travel going here since we commuted all the way through and out the Philippine Eagle Center. From Matina Town Square, we rode a jeep to Calinan. From Calinan we rode a tricycle worth Php 100 for the four (4) of us to the Philippine Eagle Center.

When we rode back to the city, we rode a habal-habal to Calinan worth Php 50 for the four (4) of us. We took an air conditioned van from Calinan to the City worth Php 35-40 per head.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rolixto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Something Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

This is a wonderful experience & really is something special. The entrance to this facility has the usual sellers of souvenir items but that isn't really a problem - the large snake might be for some but it is harmless & is a thrill to have it wrapped around your shoulders & neck - but it isn't compulsory so don't let that put you off at all. The walk through the park can either be at your pace or with a guide who will give you an abundance of information about the birds, monkeys & wildlife you will see. Do watch out for the large spiders who have a tendency to spin webs that are quite easy to walk into.... I thoroughly recommend this attraction to anyone who visits the Davao region.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kalboHastings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great effort, but rather run down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

If you can live with the rather difficult logistics to get to the Philippine Eagle Centre, it's a fairly ok place to spend a couple of hours. Upon arrival, you are first charged Php 5 by the Philippine Water Authority to enter the place. You then walk a short while through beautifully landscaped gardens until you come to the ticket office, accessed by ascending a few steps, where you part with a further Php 50 per pax.
There is a beautiful lake just next to the entrance (meaning the main inside entrance, next to the ticket window). Nearby is a gift shop selling t shirts and a small snack counter.
The park itself was fairly good, delightfully wooded and lots of tall trees. The collection of eagles and the signposting was also not too bad.And there are other animals in there as well, apart from the eagles, like the Philippine wild boar, Philippine brown deer, owls etc.
Although the place itself was pleasant enough, there are some things I did not like. One, the whole setup looks rather tired and run down. Most important, barring one eagle sitting on a stump at the entrance, and another photo point with an eagle and a couple of owls which you can see fairly close, most eagles are kept in distressingly small cages. Only one cage is in fact so large that I had to really zoom in with my 70-300 zoom lens to capture it, but most other unfortunates are placed in tiny cages with rather thick mesh.
Of course, these powerful raptors with their strong beaks and powerful talons may be dangerous to put into a large walk in aviary like setup, but all in all, it was distressing to see the endangered Philippine eagle stuffed into such tiny living quarters.
It would also be nice if some brochures about the Phil eagle could be on sale in the gift shop, which seems to sell only t shirts, wall hangings and such. Signage was ok, and there was a film show scheduled which we did not attend.
A row of gift shops at the first entrance selling traditional Davao artefacts are interesting, though the sales staff were pushy, an one enterprising lady from one of the stalls were pushing an albino python into people's faces for a photo op.
Hire a car or a taxi to get there and back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank shankaronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philippine Eagle Centre also viewed

Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 

Been to Philippine Eagle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing