We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“educational and entertaining...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Philippine Eagle Centre

Philippine Eagle Centre
Ranked #2 of 71 things to do in Davao City
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This site is working to preserve the endangered Philippine eagle.
davao
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“educational and entertaining...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

I would recommend this place to all nature lovers and also to tourists and locals who love seeing the Philippine Monkey Eating Eagle. It is such an amazing experience to have a close encounter with these birds of prey. Would definitely be a fun day for everyone

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank bracomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    199
    91
    9
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Everthing I expected”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

One of my main reasons for visiting Davao was to see this Center, and I wasn't disappointed.
The walking paths were easy to negotiate-- helpful for an older guy-- an the Eagles on display were impressive and appear well cared for.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Greg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level Contributor
95 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Meet Pag-Asa and other Philippine Eagles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

How can one not visit the Philippine Eagle Center when in Davao? It's about an hour's drive from the city. Surprisingly, there are no signs along the road. A sign pointing to the watershed seems to be the key but it is easy to miss. Personally, I think the foundation and its management should encourage more people to visit the place and to give financial support. The center needs funds not only for the birds' care but also for the park's maintenance and improvements. The Haribon or Philippine Eagle is a majestic creature with a face that seems to say "i am king". You need long lens for your SLRs because the enclosures are far from visitors (and rightly so! poor eagle must be the most photographed bird in the country). Don't forget to give a donation on your way out. I don't think the measly P50 (US$1.20) entrance fee does any real help.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelogue823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
80 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Help in Saving the Philippine Eagle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

The place is not very much well-maintained but the animals are not in bad condition either. Aside from the Philippine Eagle, there are other breeds of eagle and other animals too. It rained when we visit there and we were delighted that they have free umbrellas for visitors use. Maybe it always rains there. I believe the admission fees go a long way to help them save and maintain this center so please pay a visit. It will be worth your time.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank lizl0ves2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dipolog
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Meet and Greet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

It is a must do when in davao, but the place is very far, first you took a van which is stationed near the market. Just tell the driver to drop you off the the philippine eagle center. when you arrive to the drop off shed, there are motorcycles for hire called "habal habal" to take you to the site, the fare is cheap though but you should tell the driver to wait for you coz there are only a few to none transpo going back which calls for additional pay.. The place is huge.. No tour guides at you side but you can manage to roam around thru signboards. This place is truly for nature lovers

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Livycious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Philippine Eagle Centre also viewed

Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 

Been to Philippine Eagle Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing