We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable but nice hotel in Davao”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Davao City
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed in Mandaya, a good and cheaper alternative to Marco Polo which I understand raised its prices recently.

The room was good but shows signs of age despite the renovation. Still, it has good, comfy bed and pillows. The amenities are complete - ref, led tv with cable, with complimentary drinking water & instant coffee. The bathroom was also nice, with reliable hot & cold water. There is also free buffet breakfast. Wifi in the room is erratic, its more reliable in the hotel lobby.

Food at the coffee shop was also good, I enjoyed the breads a lot! Service was very good, the people here are well trained.

Location is likewise very good, walking distance from most banks and Marco Polo, Aldevinco.

All in all, a great alternative for business travelers who are looking at an alternative to Marco Polo.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mike321ph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 174 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

The Royal Mandaya Hotel is a 5-minute walk away from the more five-star Marco Polo Hotel in Davao, but its price is definitely more persuasive. Guest services are okay, but all hats off to the bellboys/van transfer drivers. Those guys are courteous and friendly, while doing jobs typically held by 2 guys.

The hotel's showing its age, especially in its rooms, although I read somewhere it had some renovations done a few years ago. There's little to no noise barrier between one's room and the hallway, so any reveling guests who carouse and shout along the residential hallways are going to be the bane of sleeping guests' lives. Good thing the hotel staff respond quickly to these types of complaints.

There are several guest/room amenities that should be staples in business hotels like Mandaya, but are not normally available in their rooms, unless requested for: slippers, hair dryer, iron, and ironing board.

Request specifically for Superior rooms with twin beds if you're staying with someone you're not close to or intimate with, or else the hotel will give you a room with a double bed.

The dinner buffet was affordable - came at a very reasonable price, in fact. Try it!

Room Tip: If you're staying at their Superior room: Request specifically for Superior rooms with twin beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimmie1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Prior to staying here, I read good reviews, so we booked here to attend the Kadayawan 2012 Festival and visit the neighboring provinces. It is one of the more expensive hotels in the area and so, we had high expectations. First frustration came when we found out that wi-fi can't be accessed on the 7th floor, where we had our room. Our reservation indicated 2 guests and there was only 1 bath towel and 1 face towel when we arrived. Also, there was no hair dryer. Our original booking was for Aug. 17-20 and Aug. 24-26 (another story) thru Agoda.com. We had to extend our stay fro, the 20th thru the 22nd and had to pay nearly double of what we paid agoda.com (even though Kadayawan Festival is already over), even though I was told that they'll make it the same rate as what we paid agoda.com if don't go thru agoda (P2,600+/night) -- they charged us P4000/night for the extra days (total of P12K for 3 days). Upon returning from Surigao del Sur, we returned to the hotel (we had paid reservations Aug. 24-26) and repeatedly told them that we want a room with wi-fi access. We were told that the new room will definitely have wi-fi access, even though it's on the same floor we were in before (7th). We also told them that they never delivered the promised hair-dryer. Sure enough, when we went to the assigned room, the A/C wasn't working. They transferred us to another room on the same floor -- no wi-fi access and there was a hair dryer, but it wasn't working.

Lesson learned: Never again to stay in Royal Mandaya next time we're in Davao City!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay at Royal Mandaya Hotel at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PapaJet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I booked the hotel's presidential suite on my recent visit to photograph the festive Kadayawan. I naturally expected the best room and the best service. It was not the best. I could not access the wifi, and I called for assistance. After nearly 30 minutes of waiting, and after 3 reminder calls for such assistance, a hotel staff came to my room. And still was not able to make the wifi work.

The next day, i wanted to leave my valuables in the safety deposit box. And found out it doesn't work. Made repeated requests for assistance, none came.

The pot at the lounge area I wanted to use to heat water for coffee doesn't work. Good thing the kettle at the second room worked.

I will never stay at the Mandaya again. Or maybe I will, when i am on a shoestring budget and my expectations are not those of a presidential suite guest.

Room Tip: May be a good hotel for budget travelers. I am reviewing this on the basis of my experience booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelito P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Hotel is strategically located at downtown area of Davao city. Very nice facilities & room. Seems well maintained. Easy check in and out. Just had a minor incident about the hair blower that was not working. It was, however, replaced immediately upon advice. Would recommend this hotel for business or family trips.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LADYMMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights, reception was kind enough to give me a room upon early check in since i flew in at around 7am. Hotel is beginning to show age but management does its share of renovations. Price is a lot cheaper vs nearby marco polo. Wasn't able to try breakfast but there are a lot of restaurants nearby. Transportation is easy, guards at front door ready to hail cabs as needed. Frot desk personnel were ok

Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
Thank a9828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Hotel Mandaya Hotel in Davao is reasonably priced and located in the heart of the city. The hotel has been in existence for sometime and it has been renovated. The hotel is well kept, the room is neat, the bed sheets and towel are clean. The room has bedside table, hot pot with complementary coffee and two bottles of bottled water, complementary toiletries, flat screen and cable TV. The front desk staffs are courteous and helpful. The breakfast is fine, enough to get you started in the morning.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer wind should be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OWSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0.2 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#5 of 53 in Davao City
1,185 reviews
2.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 53 in Davao City
981 reviews
1.4 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#2 of 53 in Davao City
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites
The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites
#11 of 53 in Davao City
205 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#3 of 53 in Davao City
333 reviews
2.2 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 53 in Davao City
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Mandaya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Mandaya Hotel

Address: J. Palma Gil St., Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range: $55 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Mandaya Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 181
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Mandaya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mandaya Davao
The Royal Mandaya Hotel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing