We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old world charm”
Review of Apo View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Apo View Hotel
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“old world charm”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at Apo View -- the pillows were exactly how I like them: big, very white, and fluffy. It's these little things that count. The blankets were a bit scratchy though and the tv reception was staticky. If you plan to spend a lot of time in your room I would recommend a different hotel. However, if you need to work, this is the best place. The wifi was great, the desk spacious, and the lighting was perfect for pulling an all-nighter to tweak a presentation. I was able to finish a lot of work in my room. I also enjoyed the little garden with the waterfalls for my self-imposed mini breaks.

Check-in was a breeze and the front desk staff were very helpful. The hotel only offers in-room massages so when I asked the front desk where I can get a more extensive spa package, they directed me to the salon/spa next door. Fantastic! It was also right beside the Pasalubong Center, People's Park, and Dencia's of Davao. I got to see and do a lot of stuff thanks to the great location.

Room Tip: if you want a view of the pool get third floor rooms with even numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    40
    17
    10
See reviews for
17
16
13
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We had a training here in Apo View and although we had a limited budget, they were able to accomodate us. The rooms are clean and carpeted. The housekeeping staff clean it everyday. Rates are quite expensiven for the average Filipino but we were able to negotiate good and affordable rates. The swimming pool
is free for use of guests but it needs to
be cleaned and there should be a lifeguard on duty. Apart from this minor concerns, I am generally happy with my one week stay at Apo View Hotel. It is one of the best hotels in Davao and would definitely recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nairavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

The good: excellent customer service, nice grounds (small garden with waterfall), and a casino (I'm not a gambler, but my cousin is -- and luckily found the slots were loose). The buffet downstairs was EXCELLENT with matching service. Unlike previous reviews, we did not experience bad wifi. The only (even slightly) negative thing I have to say about this hotel is the decor of the rooms. Kinda retro with the red carpet and two single beds as opposed to two full beds. I would stay at this hotel again when in Davao City.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPofSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

One of the oldest hotel in Davao. I have used this hotel many times already. Location is excellent centrally located close to government offices, malls and restuarants. Davao's People's Park is just across the hotel.The complimentary buffet breakfast is awesome. Great hotel amenities. Rooms are just ok. Hotel staffs are helpful. I will recommend this hotel to everyone on business trip to Davao as location is close to private and government offices.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabawenyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

For people coming over to Davao for work, the newly renovated rooms are just right. This is applicable for those who would not really stay long enough in the rooms. Wifi's not that fast, however LTE signal is good, good enough for me to create my own personal wifi hotspot and connect to a VPN network

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vennis Angelo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I have stayed here over the past four months. Like many hotel, their wifi is not something to count on if trying to work in the hotel. You spend a lot of time logging into your account and service in the rooms is spotty. You will have to go down to the lobby to get service.

The menu seemed to drop a notch during this last visit (April). It seemed better back in December.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Apo View Hotel is located near the city center, this is an independent hotel which i think is run by a family. Very good hotel except that they should have already included a free breakfast considering the room rate they charge, compared to other asian cities and some hotels in manila and quezon city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charitoyara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0.3 mi away
Casa Leticia Boutique Hotel
Casa Leticia Boutique Hotel
#34 of 52 in Davao City
89 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
#9 of 52 in Davao City
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites
The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites
#12 of 52 in Davao City
190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#32 of 52 in Davao City
72 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apo View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apo View Hotel

Property: Apo View Hotel
Address: 150 J Camus Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apo View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Apo View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apo View Davao
Apo View Hotel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing