We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,332)
Filter reviews
1,332 results
Traveler rating
593
476
166
61
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
476
166
61
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental club lotus court lobby lounge eagles bar breakfast buffet star hotel souvenir shops aldevinco shopping center davao gulf swimming pool business trip the heart of the city night market visit davao samal island security philippines
Filter
Updating list...
630 - 635 of 1,332 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2016

Gem of Davao City but..the rooms and decor look a little tired. Staff's attentiveness and courtesy are the two things that impressed me most. Security measures can be cumbersome but assures guests of hassle-free, trouble free stay.

Room Tip: Convenient and close to areas of interest. Try to ask for rooms in higher floor with an ocean view.
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OMPSA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloDavao, General Manager at Marco Polo Davao, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Marco Polo Davao!

We are very pleased to know that you have booked your previous stay with us. Our associates indeed gives the highest priority to guest satisfaction by ensuring that the best service is rendered at all times.

We also observe the most stringent security measures to ensure your safety while in the hotel.

Thank you very much and we look forward to your next visit here. Till next time!

Warmest Regards,

Dottie V. Wurgler-Cronin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2016

We stayed at this hotel jan.22-28/2016. we booked a deluxe room,but found it too basic After asking for an upgrade we were told,that the only available room is the suite on the 18th ,for which we had to pay a considerable amount extra, but i was really worth it.The suite did include BF at the continental club lounge and also some snack and free drinks.The service in the lounge was high class and the cook went out of his way to serve my Filipina wife some special food, she really did appreciate that very much. This is in sharp contrast to having BF at the 2nd floor which was very busy and it took the waiters a long time to clear the table,or get some coffee.Some additional staff might help here.Other then that our stay was

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kurt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloDavao, General Manager at Marco Polo Davao, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2016

Dear Kurt,

Greetings from Marco Polo Davao!

I am very pleased to know that you had a pleasurable stay with us, especially on your dining experience.

The Continental Club Lounge is indeed one of the most exclusive and most sought after areas of the hotel by our VIP Guests. The breathtaking view of Samal Island during breakfast is truly a noteworthy experience, and we are pleased that you were able to enjoy it.

We will,however, take note of your comments regarding Cafe Marco and relay to our team.

Thank you very much and we look forward to have you again on your next scheduled trip here. Till next time!

Warmest Regards,

Dottie V. Wurgler-Cronin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2016 via mobile

The hallway carpets on every floor I visited had water damage. Everywhere smelled like mildew or dead fish. They pumped rose scented air freshener into the lobby in order to cover it up so you wouldn't notice until it was too late. In my first room the phone didn't work and was never repaired despite repeated requests. The bathroom wasn't cleaned properly ... There was black mold in the tub that I discovered under the bath mat right before I moved to a new room (which means the tub wasn't cleaned the entire time I was there....and then our manager discovered the same thing in HIS tub, so it wasn't just me)....in my new room the phone also didn't work properly, the air conditioner only worked part of the time, and the furniture was severely beat up and scratched. When you called room service it would route to the front desk who would tell you someone would have to call you back....but then nobody would. I could go on....but what sealed the deal is when I got food poisoning on Tuesday and then my manager got food poisoning on Thursday.

Stayed: January 2016, traveled on business
Thank Weenrmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloDavao, General Manager at Marco Polo Davao, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2016

Dear Mr. Weenrmann,

Greetings from Marco Polo Davao!

First of all, allow me to express our sincerest gratitude for booking your previous stay with us. We would like to apologize, however, for the unfortunate situation/s which you have experienced during your stay.

We will take note of your comments on our carpet, and if we may ask, which floors were you able to visit so we could carefully check on their condition? With regard to your phone and restroom, we have informed our room attendants to check on it and ensure that everything is in order. There were no specific findings as of this posting, and rest assured that our housekeeping will continue their efforts to effectively clean each and every room before another guest comes in.

With regard to your concern on food poisoning, we understand that you brought this matter to our attention last January 29,2016; and we offered to have a personal nurse to ensure that you will be properly attended to, but yet you declined.

Which other restaurants were you able to try in the city aside from our dining outlets?

Once again, thank you very much for booking your stay with us and we hope that we can make up for any unlikely incident on your next stay with us. I look forward to see you again in our hotel in the future. Till your next visit!

Warmest Regards,

Dottie V. Wurgler-Cronin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2016

Needs to be cleaned and updated to be priced at this level. Carpet was old, soiled and stained.
There are local hotels that are smaller but much more comfortable. Do not assume world class because it's a big, highly visible building.

Room Tip: Book directly.
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Marco Polo Hotels
Thank jone894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloDavao, General Manager at Marco Polo Davao, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Marco Polo Davao!

First of all, allow us to express our sincere gratitude for booking your stay with us. We hope that you had a pleasurable stay in Davao, and we look forward to your next scheduled trip here.

May we know your room number and dates of your previous stay so we could look into your comments intently?

Thank you very much.

Warm Regards

Dottie V. Wurgler-Cronin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2016

This used to be great in all aspects of hotel services until they have lowered their standards on food. I saw expat Chefs around but they don't seem to meet the standard of typical Marco Polo brand. The breakfast buffet is bountiful but terribly prepared. Rooms though are comfortable and spacious. If you opt to work, it is indeed conducive to stay here. The pianist in the lounge is doing well. The service crew is great.

Room Tip: If one can afford Marco Polo, then you must google other alternatives to get really satisfied.
  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Arman B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarcoPoloDavao, General Manager at Marco Polo Davao, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2016

Dear Arman,

Greetings from Marco Polo Davao!

First of all, allow us to express our sincere gratitude for making us your hotel-of-choice. We are pleased to know that you have found our rooms comfortable and conducive for work. It is also nice that you enjoyed listening to our pianist in the lounge.

On your next visit, perhaps you could also listen to our band at The Deck, which usually plays on Thursday from 7:00 P.M. to 10:00 P.M.

With regard to your comments on our food, may we know which specific dish you think needs improvement?

Thank you very much and we look forward to have you again in our hotel soon. Till next time

Warmest Regards,

Dottie V. Wurgler-Cronin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews