We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst ever” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marco Polo Davao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Marco Polo Davao
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
1 review
“Worst ever”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Service is very poor... we had an event last week at the ballroom. Waitersare sooooo stupid. They dont know what to do. Spoon and fork are so dirty glasses has sopt and hand print i saw one waiter hols the rim of the glass. One of the waiters sleeves get into the food he is serving. Waitees are particular with the tipping that they wilk get from the guest. I had a friend who stay in the hotel and ask the vallet parkerto park his car later he found out that his romeo oakley got lost...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davaoena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    438
    381
    130
    46
    28
See reviews for
243
215
77
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
220 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed at the Presidential Suite of Marco Polo for 3 days to attend the famous Kadayawan Festival. I was booking this suite last year but the Kadayawan schedule was erratic and I ended up losing the suite. I knew it had 2 levels, 2 bedrooms, and indoor and outdoor jacuzzis.

The outdoor jacuzzi is gone and in its place is an outdoor bar. The second bedroom, to my surprise, is not part of the rate quoted. I had always assumed it is part of the rate like the presidential suite of the other hotel I stayed in last year. I did not take the second room even when offered at a discount. I felt it was their fault not saying so at the onset. No point arguing, I am not a difficult guest.

The jacuzzi wouldn't work, and a crew came in the day after to fix it. The phones would not connect to Housekeeping nor to Concierge, and I had to call operator to connect to anybody. The crew came again to fix the phones. I was belatedly told the room was renovated and I was the first occupant of the renovated suite. Oh well.

In spite of these hiccups, note I am rating the hotel VERY GOOD. That is because management officials have acted on everything with dispatch. And they have accommodated my other requests - - - like a spot for me and my friends at the VIP stage reserved for hotel guests at a vantage point near the parade. Plus the fact that the suite is clean and wide and beautiful. I also had a perfect view of the sea and Samal Island.

Buffet breakfast has a good spread. The lobby lounge, while small, is cozy and comfortable. A good stop-over point.

The Marco Polo Lounge at the 17th floor offers a fantastic view and offered cocktails and aperitifs until after sunset. Great service, too.

I commend the staff of the hotel. In the heat of the Kadayawan with I assume a 100% occupancy, there was no lag in service. I will be back.

And I will not have qualms about recommending this hotel (if you do not mind the bodysearch on all guests as you enter).

Room Tip: Get a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelito P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
93 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

well it's a bit more expensive compared to other hotels so i am expecting a lot from them. overall i had a nice, comfortable stay in marco polo. there's only one downside for us, the concierge lost 3 of our bags and that was unacceptable for such an expensive 4-star hotel and thankfully it was returned to us as soon as we came back from our activities in the city. however, the other personnel who attended to us were very courteous, friendly & accommodating. i even had a fun last night at the eagles bar at the ground floor. the bartenders were really accommodating & fun to talk to. knowing that we were the only young people inside the bar, they even played electrohouse music especially for us.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank igga200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Marco Polo. I also appreciated that they offered me a GHA membership for free which entitled me to free wifi for the rest of my stay. The bed linens were great and the pillows were super fluffy. I liked how the a/c was cold and easy to use. No awkward fiddling with a battery-less remote here!

The food was fantastic -- they put a special twist on old favorites. The bartenders at the poolside lounge were such darlings. I was having a pretty crappy day and just to make myself feel better, I asked to be served an amaretto sour in time to this song I requested: AWOLNATION's "Sail." They did it! They managed to pull it off! It really put a smile on my face. This place is a perfect example of a luxurious hotel without the least amount of stuffiness or pretentiousness.

The Lazuli spa was my favorite experience there. I had a scrub and a pedicure... it was heavenly. In fact, my spa experience was so fantastic I still find myself thinking about going back to Davao just to relax out there.

I also appreciated the fact that the manager called me up the day I returned to Manila to ask about my stay. I told her I had a wonderful time and would definitely go back next time I'm in Davao.

Room Tip: don't pick rooms from the same floor where the spa/gym/lounge is.. it gets too crowded along the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had a fantastic stay here on our long holidays. The property is stunning and the service is beyond 5 star. Their attention to detail is truly impressive without being pretentious or uncomfortable. Overall this is one of the best hotel I have ever stayed in and it was a fantastic experience. If you are thinking of staying here, you should.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yakovodka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Have just spent approx 3 weeks in Marco Polo having first stayed at the hotel in 2003. It is our first choice when in Davao and 5 years since our last visit as we are based in London. During that time the restaurant has been refurbished and the rooms are in the process of being refurbished/upgraded. The Marco Polo is the elder statesman of hotels in Davao. Very relaxed atmosphere. Staff are exceptionally friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Great pool out the back. Best located hotel in town. Thank you again for another fantastic stay. If you are in Davao for the first time stay here. Perfect for families,leisure or business.

Room Tip: All rooms good - rooms to front have a view over city and Gulf - rooms to back have a view over city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Marco Polo Hotel in Davao City centre is an excellent hotel. It is clean and well run with comfortable rooms and various resturants within the hotel providing a variety of choice for whatever the guest would like to eat. The staff are friendly and professional, there is a really good swimming pool, and although the hotel is not inexpensive, I think it provides very good value for money. The only down side is that it is situated in the city centre, a long way from the beaches or other tourist attractions. The Marco Polo Davao is very comfortable, and is highly recommended, particularly for people with business in Davao City.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrVjWalden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
2.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
1.3 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#17 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
#8 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Davao

Property: Marco Polo Davao
Address: CM Recto Street | P.O. Box 81540, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Davao City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
#5 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Davao 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Marco Polo Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Davao Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing