We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobby Lounge Disappointment”
Review of Marco Polo Davao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo Davao
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Davao
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lobby Lounge Disappointment”
Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I tried theafternoon snack buffet during our stay. One word: MINIMALIST! Minimal choices; besides the minute little desserts and the unappetizing ham sandwich with mayo, they had pancit that was bland, empanaditas that were so so, the chicken though was good tasting but was minimalist in serving. we were there at around 4pm, once the plate of chicken was empty it remained empty until we left. Halo halo should be with fine ice shavings, not with ice cubes that could break ones teeth, the strawberry ice cream that went with it was great tasting though. I would have been kinder with my review if their services was at least average since the merienda buffet was a freebie with the room accommodations that we had, there was no spoon and fork on the buffet table and it took forever for them to arrive after we asked for them from the waitress. We had to eat our halo halo with a tablespoon since the waitress said they do not have any dessert spoons available, at least it allowed us to smash the ice cubes smaller and also allow us to finish our halo halo faster and leave the place earlier -- in a carinderia this may pass, but in a 5 star hotel this is really crazy! Good thing they had a live piano player who was good, and an employee who is a good friend of mine, and for them I give this place at least two stars!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rexoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,098 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    403
    134
    48
    31
See reviews for
265
224
83
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calamba, Philippines
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

I've enjoyed my stay at Marco Polo.. very good accommodation ;-)plus for a fact that it was located in front of souvenir shops. I love their lobby, very spacious and relaxing. I would love to stay in Marco Polo hotels in different cities.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maiafifteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Brothel or Hotel? The Marco Polo Davao needs to decide which it is. My wife and I recently spent 18 days at the Marco Polo. We were very pleased with the hotel facilities and staff. In many ways the Marco Polo is the first class hotel it claims to be. But the hotel has accommodated the rampant matchmaking and sex tourism industries of the Philippines. As a result the hotel is anything but family friendly. Everywhere there are men interacting with women who are clearly paid for their services like the five women boisterously frolicking in the pool with two Caucasian men, another Caucasian man slapping a scantily clad woman’s derriere in the hallway and a Swedish man in the elevator who openly expressed his enjoyment of sex tourism while in Davao.
My wife and I discussed our concerns regarding the exploitation of women at the hotel with Anthony Tan, the new General Manager and he told us he is aware of the situation and will try to take steps to move the matchmaking activities off site and minimize the presence of prostitutes in the Marco Polo Davao. We suggested that a statement opposing sex trafficking be posted in the hotel as is often done in other Asian countries. We certainly won’t return to the Marco Polo Hotel unless we know that they support the respectful treatment of women. Until that time, I would recommend other families to be very cautious about staying at the Marco Polo as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank SoCalMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Everything was perfect!! They had a van waiting for us at the airport and wisked us off promptly to the hotel. Upon arrival I was greeted outside and our bags were taken immediately. when entering I was patted down by security, and I was impressed and felt very safe ever since. Check in took no more than 5 minutes! They had my reservation and all was in order! We had a beautiful room on the 4th floor and it was very clean and stocked with everything we needed! We had room service for dinner and it arrive within 30 minutes and was delicious! The next morning we at at the breakfast buffet,,,and what can I say...I was impressed! First time in the Philippines and I tasted many of the numerous native dishes on the buffet. It was huge, tasty, and plentiful! Check out was a breeze and they had a driver waiting for us to take us to the wharf for our next destination. We have no complaints at all, and were very happy that we chose Marco Polo! We will be back! Dave and Angie

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DaveL578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for about 6 days. Our room was nice. The Staff was friendly and spoke english pretty well. The Spa was alright. I didn't use the swimming pool because it was either raining or there would only be men ( who seemed to be employees of the hotel rather than customers... who were on lunch break? ) by the pool hanging out so I felt a bit uncomfortable.
We ordered room service one night and the next morning after the housekeepers left our room the food tray (with the left-over food) was still on the table. The also forgot to restock the towels on one of the days. but other than these couple of instances, the service was very good.
We were not there for vacation and didn't really explore the city so I'm not sure how good the location is but other than that, it's a nice hotel to stay at if you're in Davao.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tarams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

for the price i paid for this hotel i must say its very worth it, the hotel is situated in the center of the city and just minutes from malls and restaurants :) their breakfast buffet is one of the best ive had in hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimuel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Arrived for a 3 night stay to be advised the club lounge is being refurbished, but OK ... breakfast in restaurant on 2nd floor, afternoon tea in lobby lounge and evening drinks and snacks in Eagle bar. Had a cabana room which was great with easy access to the pool. All staff were friendly. I think the club staff had been deployed to support the service in the lobby lounge and Eagle bar and were very attentive.

However it definitely was not a club experience at all, the breakfast restaurant is like a zoo with a massive buffet catering for hundreds at a time, not at all relaxing and breakfast soon became for me just a 5 minute ritual to eat and go. The Lobby lounge was OK except it was not quiet nor relaxing at all as the hotel was busy with a load of basketball players staying with their entourages. The Eagle bar is a pub and again not a club experience.

I am 100% sure that in the right surroundings the club staff must be great and it must be a treat to stay there, sadly this was not the case on this trip, I wish I had been pre warned that the club was being refurbished.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iThinkLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
2.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
874 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
533 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#17 of 52 in Davao City
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
#9 of 52 in Davao City
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Davao

Property: Marco Polo Davao
Address: CM Recto Street | P.O. Box 81540, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Davao City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
#5 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Davao 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marco Polo Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Davao Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing