We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 Star Hotel with a 3 Star Service”
Review of Marco Polo Davao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Marco Polo Davao
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Mandaluyong, Philippines
2 reviews
“5 Star Hotel with a 3 Star Service”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The ambience, the room, Café Marco, the spa and the pool was Amazing and even the View in my room is perfect. The hotel itself was good except for the service. I was really disappointed when the front desk staff looks like she doesn’t know what she is doing, it took my check-in procedure for 10 mins with all the ID’s and the signature she was requesting from me. And when I ordered room service, they informed me that my order will be ready in 20-35mins and it arrived in my room after an hour, thou the attendant apologies for the delay but they should have called and informed me beforehand rather I fall asleep waiting for my food. It was very frustrating; the hotel may have a 5star facility but they should have train 5star staffs as well.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool or they call it mountain view is AWESOME!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fab_Explorer_143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    403
    134
    48
    31
See reviews for
265
225
83
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iloilo City, Philippines
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

if i have the opportunity to choose a hotel (if splurging), marco polo it is. i had the opportunity to stay at their hotel in cebu a few years back, so when i got a chance for a vacation in davao, i chose to stay at the marco polo. the buffet breakfast is great (although their cebu branch has wider selections). free upgrade for our rooms was also a plus (i don't know why they gave us an upgrade but it was awesome, i did not even bother to ask why). location is great. across it is the aldevinco shopping center where you can buy pasalubong for reasonable prices. transport is convenient as taxis and jeepneys abound.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nasmej11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Marcopolo, no doubt is one of the best hotels to stay at the Davao City. Rooms are clean and maintained.

They have a moderate gym with most of the faciliies, whats nice is the swimming pool. Its 30m in length and do have some nice lightings at the night. Ambience is very good.

Room Tip: Check the room with the view of the pool. Looks nice. Otherwise nothing to see as it is in the mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debojyoti_DJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Marco Polo in Davao City is supposed to be a 4 star hotel. I don't think it is. A bit old and has to improve their rooms. Stayed in a Deluxe double, good bed, cool room but the room needed complete vacuum job 'cuz i kept on sneezing inside our room.
The Chinese restaurant was so so - just average. Expensive food there.
They have stiff competition with newer hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TerMac84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This hotel is great, from the minute you enter until you leave.
The decor is beautiful, and the rooms are spacious and well lit.
The toilet is beautiful, with white comfortable towels and bathrobes, and the toiletries are nice. I haven't been in many hotels where the toiletries are so well chosen.

Breakfast is delicious, and you will find a wide choice of food to suit all your choices, unless you are vegan. I advise that you try the local hot chocolate, made with local cocoa, very interesting!
I was a bit disappointed with the Spa: true it's luxurious and the massage is great, but DO NOT wax there, it takes forever and you will be burned with the hot wax!

The hotel is located next to a mall where they sell souvenirs... made in china mostly. If you want souvenirs, try this great artisanat in SM mall, Lalang. The shop is called Kultura, and sells hand made souvenirs that are just breathtaking!

You can hail a cab from the entrance, and the hotel guard will give you a paper with the plate number of the cab, just wonderful...

The pool is also nice, and the food ok. The prices are also quite reasonable for a 5 star hotel.

You will enjoy this place, especiallz the very helpful staff.

Room Tip: If you're not a fan of long karakoke nights, stay away from the room on the pool side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MC_Feghali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Arrival experience was not very pleasant. We arrived in the hotel after taking a 7hour landtrip so we were exhausted from the travel. We requested to have the car valet parked and we were informed that there was a valet parking fee. We were put off by that since most 5* hotels offer complimentary valet parking for in-house guests. The parking lot was very inconvenient. It was tight and had only one entrance to the hotel so if all the parking slots were full in the 2nd level, you would have to walk the floors inside the parking.

Generally, the staff were friendly. The front office was pretty efficient in checking us in and voluntarily gave us a password for the wifi, except you would have to encode the password each time you log in to get a connection.

The room was a little tired and run down but clean. Gym was clean but lacked a number of equipments for a total body workout. We visited the Chinese restaurant, Lotus but the staff was not very accommodating so we decided to go elsewhere. The bartender just didnt seem interested to serve us.

Would I stay here again? Probably not. There are a lot of newer hotels in more convenient areas of this city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveling_sushi888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were on a business trip to davao and one of our clients who lived there booked this hotel for us as it was supposedly the best in town. The hotel lobby looks very nice and the staff who greeted upon our arrival were quite friendly, but once we were lead up to our rooms it was nothing special. The dining options were fine, the hotel had spa and fitness facilities but I did not try any. All in all it was nothing special, but if this is the best you can get in town then I guess it will have to do.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YaldaKhanum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
2.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
875 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
533 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#17 of 52 in Davao City
54 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
#9 of 52 in Davao City
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Davao

Property: Marco Polo Davao
Address: CM Recto Street | P.O. Box 81540, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Davao City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
#5 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Davao 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marco Polo Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Davao Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing