We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only hotel I would consider staying in Davao City”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Marco Polo Davao

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marco Polo Davao
Ranked #4 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Only hotel I would consider staying in Davao City”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

Rooms are quite homey and relaxing. Though layout is quite standard at least they have upgraded the tv to a flat screen. And as expected the bed sheets, comforter and pillows adds to the already relaxing atmosphere.

Food is good too. They have the best club house sandwich and the best buffet spread in town.

But for all these of course you have to pay a slight premium relative to other hotels in the city.

Location wise, it is right in the center. Just outside there is a shopping complex for native products. A block away you'll find fruit stalls. Just around the corner there are several spas. On the other end of the block, there is a small food stall that serves the best inihaw na panga ng tuna (grilled tuna jawbone).

Suggest you get a room on the upper floors with a view of the sea.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,050 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    389
    131
    47
    29
See reviews for
252
217
80
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

We spent the long New Years weekend at the Marco Polo Davao and enjoyed our visit very much.
The room was neat and clean and room service was excellent. We availed ourselves of the couples massage in the spa and that was very relaxing and greatly enjoyed.
The breakfast selection is wide and varied and was as I remembered from past visits. The hotel is centrally located and transportation is readily available for trips the the new malls in Davao and other malls. It is easy to visit points of interest from this location. This is a five star hotel with five star service. My favorite in the city. We had room WiFi which is a nice option when you want to stay in. Cable TV was good with some English channels but no U.S. ESPN for college football junkies.

Room Tip: 12th floor with view of the Gulf and city. I think it would be the south side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nightrider3315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

The hotel definitely lived up to its name and high reputation being as a Marco Polo Hotel. Aside from spending our anniversary here, occassionally, we come here anyday for an afternoon snack in their lobby's cafe. They offer buffet style snacks and desserts and varieties of drinks to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PrincessMiaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

Great Breakfast Buffet that comes along with the promo room. But during check-in they'll tell you that the room you were asking for is still not clean but another room is offered which they say has the same amenities. I wondered why wasn't it cleaned as a priority when you have booked a month earlier, hmmm. Its no excuse really hahaha the room they gave was just fine but not having the matrimonial bed as requested. Location is very near to aldevinco for shopping souvenirs and local knick knacks (may I suggest you visit maylao shop even pomelo they have it). Spa, pool, wifi, bar and lounge, etc is available. Getting around Davao isn't a problem alot of taxis ply that route to and fro the hotel. I say value for money is just average still a little costly as compared to other good hotels in the area. Just the same the place is great and very conducive for any activity just don't fall for the checking in thing and wait for your requested room hahaha.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank entengoreng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a wonderful property if you need to stay in central Davao. Rooms were large and very comfortable. A good desk and workspace. Good Linens. Included with room was breakfast buffet (fantastic with a huge selection of good quality of international foods!) and WIFI, making this a good value, even though the price may seem to be a little higher than its competition. I love this place!

I would rate this as the best hotel in central Davao. Only the Waterfront comes close, but the Waterfront is not centrally located as does not have as good a buffet.

In addition, unlike any other hotel in Davao, the Marco Polo has smoking rooms.

Negatives: Internet was rather slow, hallway on 12th floor had an odd smell.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Addicted2Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu City, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

I've stayed at The Marco Polo Davao a number of times already, and my stay there has always been a pleasant one. The services are great, the staff are friendly and polite, the facilities are convenient, and, being a food enthusiast, the food there was delectable! Cafe Marco serves really good breakfast and I like how there's a variety there. So much food that I don't even know what to get anymore. And Lotus Court has probably got to be the best Chinese restaurant I've ever eaten at in Davao City. Very authentic, very good.

Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: The Cabanas on the fourth floor are really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

I was fortunate to have stayed in this hotel for two weeks from the 20th November. It was Hot in Davao but the air conditioned room gave me great relief. From the moment you enter you feel comfortably isolated from the outside envirions. I was upgraded to a room overlooking the bay, and enjoyed looking out on the activities of the people on the street below.
The restaurant was very nice, however the hot food from the carvery was always cold. I mainly ate from the fruit and cereal bar.
The staff were more than helpful and always had a smile on their faces,
Security gaurds at the front door gave you feeling of safety, and they were always very pleasant.
The room was clean and the beds comfortable. Bathroom facilities were more than adequate.
The only negative thing I would say about the room i was in is if you are a light sleeper you might have problems getting to sleep as you can hear traffic noises, horns etc as the windows aren't double glazed.
It is located close to amenities, shopping malls and restaurants if you don't want to pay the exhorbitant rates charged at the hotel restaurant.
Next time I visit the Philippines I will definately be staying at this hotel
Thanks to the staff for making this a pleasant experience

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are highly recommended. I was on level 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StewFart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
2.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.2 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#16 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
2.0 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
#9 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marco Polo Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marco Polo Davao

Property: Marco Polo Davao
Address: CM Recto Street | P.O. Box 81540, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Davao City
#3 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
#5 Business Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Marco Polo Davao 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Marco Polo Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marco Polo Davao Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Hotel Davao
Marco Polo Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing