We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Potential, but missing some basic things.”
Review of Midori Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Midori Inn
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Potential, but missing some basic things.”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Sometimes I wonder if the people who own hotels ever stay in them.

There's three or four basic non-luxury things any hotel needs in order to make the guest's stay pleasant. They don't really cost money, but they take some thinking about the guest's needs.

1) Outlet near the bed. This is essential by 2013. I need to charge my phone at night. My phone is also my clock, and I need to set the alarm to wake up. But the only outlet is all the way on the other side of the room. What am I supposed to do? So easy for the hotel to just install an extension cord or new outlet if they had thought about the guest, but just hasn't been done. I asked for an extension cord, and they were happy to lend me one, but it was short and still didn't reach across the room.

2) Shelf in the bathroom. Another super easy one. Where am I supposed to put all my shower/toiletry stuff? My contacts, my hairbrush, my toothbrush. Can't stand this. Have to cram it all into the tiny ledge of the sink, but then constantly knocking it off. Just a no-brainer.

3) Lightswitch, or lamp near the bed. Most hotels have this nowadays. But here you have to turn off the light near the door, then stumble across the pitch-black room to the bed. Make sure you don't leave anything on the floor, or have to go to the bathroom in the middle of the night.

4) A desk would have been nice. If you want to get work done here, as I did, you either have to lie on your bed with the computer cord stretched across the room (can't sit, because again, the outlet issue), or go to the lobby (but no outlets there either).

The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly, so there's no issues there. Location is very good. Laundry service would be nice - they recommended a place down the street, but that place didn't have express service. Not critical. Just a few simple, cheap improvements would have made this a perfect, affordable place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Katzistan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    8
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
7
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed in this hotel when I was in Davao City last year. I would say that I was really satisfied with the service. The The room was clean and perfectly decorated that makes your stay worthwhile. This September 2013 I'm coming to Davao and will stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuisGeorgeIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texarkana, Arkansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was privileged to stay in the Madori Inn for 11 consecutive days at the end of February to the first of March and the facility was just fantastic! The room was not large but adequate. All the amenities worked well. A great breakfast was provided each day. The staff was always friendly and very helpful. The price was very affordable and the cleanliness was wonderful. I will stay there anytime I am in Davao City.

Room Tip: The A/C works well but there is no elevator, so consider that if you are on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

The staff was so kind and nice.
They always greeted the customers and people who visited.

I stayed a single room.
The size of the room was enough for me.
But it would be better if there were a desk and chair.

The room was very clean and i was free from noise.
Sometimes i found ants in my room, but i think that it's a kind of Philippines style...haha

You can have a breakfast with free at Saluhan Restaurant (near from Midori Inn) or order McDonald's.
I always had a breakfast at the restaurant, so i dont know how McDonalds' one was.
But the breakfast will be not enough especially for men if you have it at Saluhan Restaurant.

The location is also good, so you can go to anywhere easily.
But it is inconvenience that there are no convenience store near from Inn...X(

Finally, it's very safe and reasonable price, so i recommend this hotel :D
I will stay this hotel again!!!


スタッフはとてもフレンドリーで、
滞在者はもちろんのことホテルを訪れた方にも挨拶をしてくれました。

シングルルームに泊まりましたが、
部屋の大きさもちょうどよかったです(日本のビジネスホテルみたいな感じです)。
ただ、机と椅子があれば尚良いという感じです。

部屋もとてもきれいで、騒音なども一切気になりませんでした。
たまにトイレでアリを見かけましたが、それもフィリピンあるあるなのかなと…笑

無料の朝食はMidori Inn.の近くのSaluhan Restaurantで取るか、
マクドナルドを部屋まで持ってきてもらうかを選ぶことができます。
私はSaluhan Restaurantに毎日行っていた(ホテルのスタッフに「フィリピンスタイルに挑戦しなよ!」って言われたので)ので、
マクドナルドのことは分かりませんが、男性には少し物足りない量だ思います。

立地もよく、非常にアクセスしやすいと思います。
私の記憶している範囲では近くにコンビニがなかったのが少し不便でしたが…。

でも、海外とは思えないほど安全でお手頃な価格で快適なので、とてもお勧めです。
次ダバオを訪れた時も泊まろうと思います:D

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank penchampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubuque, Iowa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Great hotel, very clean, new. The staff was excellent! I was traveling with my son, daughter-in-law & granddaughter. The staff helped us with all our luggage, stored some for us. Everyone on staff was great. Felt very safe in this location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaroard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at room 405. Unfortunately, we were all too tired when we got to our room that I didn't get a chance to take a photo of the room before we used it.

Anyways, the inn was great! I've tried a lot of budget hotels but I would say that this is one of the best in Asia. Upon entering the lobby, guests will be greeted by the lobby, dining area and reception area. The place immediately tells the guests that it is a eco-friendly lodge.

The cheap accommodation doesn't align with the cleanliness and coziness of the place, specially the restroom. The room was just perfect! It was worth every penny.

The staff were very accommodating and helpful. On our last day, I even asked if I could take a picture of some of their vacant rooms and they allowed it with one staff accompanying me.

Another plus for this inn is the location. It is just a building away from Sampaguita Inn 1 and a few blocks away from People's Park and some restaurants. Being beside Sampaguita Inn also allows guests to have easy access to a cab since the cabs line up in front of Sampaguita.

Room Tip: The inn is a 4-story building. If you don't want to climb the stairs everytime you want to enter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ap0lz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

A nice, clean and small budget hotel with no frills. Very eco-friendly place which suits me fine. Staff are courteous and friendly. The beds are comfy although it would be nice if they could put a light switch near the bed so one didn't have to get up to turn off the lights. Location is good. I would stay in this inn again next time.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynell G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0.1 mi away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#11 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#16 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#23 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tinhat Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#32 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.2 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midori Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midori Inn

Property: Midori Inn
Address: Camus Extension, Davao City, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Midori Inn 3*
Also Known As:
Midori Inn Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing