We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming gem serving comfort food”
Review of Lachi's

Lachi's
Ranked #1 of 11 Dessert in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Filipino
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
341 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Unassuming gem serving comfort food”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

After years of visiting Davao, I finally found myself making a bee-line towards the one restaurant my friends have all tried (and I haven't). Lachi's is located along a busy-ish street and sits side by side next to small mom and pop establishments. In front is a bungalow which doubles(?) as a showroom for Betis Pampanga furniture. Blink and you will miss Lachi's so keep you eyes open to the non-descript facade save for the green sign at the glass window. Everybody is saying the go-to order here are the ribs. Since I do not eat meat, my friend indulged - and enjoyed it so much! He raved it was falling off the bones, had the right mix of sweet, tangy and savory sauce barbecue-d in and came in just the right amount of serving to share or eat solo. I had the fried bangus (milkfish) served with rice with a personal side order of fried egg. I liked that mine came extra crispy which complemented the side dish of cold pickles it came with. For dessert, we had the sans rival (again, to everyone's recommendation). It was the kind I like: crunchy, buttery and not so sweet - just like how Burger Machine in the 90's served theirs. It was a no-frills lunch - almost like being served at home. The price is very friendly, too! Next time I had my fill of the usual Davao fare, I will work my back to Lachi's.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aveeno1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    64
    15
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rice Meals”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Lachi's is famous for their cakes and pastries. The last time we went here, we ordered their rice meals. I had their grilled pork ribs. I'm not really a picky eater so the food was fine for me. Not too expensive. I believe I paid around Php150 for my rice and ribs. We also tried their french macaroons (3 for Php100). I find it expensive and the taste was not that great. I'll just stick to their famous NY cheesecake next time. :)

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent cakes!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Their cakes are divine!!! Moist, airy, NOT SO SWEET....beats all other cakes I've tasted in Europe and USA!!! Will definitely go back there again when I visit Davao.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marixie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“yum! yum! yum”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

i love this place they serve yummy food, and plenty of choice of their desserts which are cakes. i love their fish with tar2 sauce, the unforgettable spareribs really you will forget your neighbor but not this dish. their laing oh so tasty, the bbq porkchop, the chicken roll i forgot the name its like cordon bleu with pineapple sauce hmmmm yummy, bfore i forgot the lechon kawali are so crispy hmmm.
annnnnd the cake are so unforgettable the sanzreval, the blueberry cheese cake will make you happy,the choco torte, the dark choco cake and many more, actually plenty of choice of cakes they can offer here , you can't go wrong bringing your family and friends in this place, for me its davao's pride.
now they have more seats to offer and more relax ambiance, the place is newly renovated.
and before i forgot the price are soooo friendly. all the dishes comes with rice and litle side homemade pickle P100- P130 are the usual price. cakes ranging P60- 75.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank charcieldavao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I loved their French Macarons!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

it might be pricey though, it's 3 for P100... if it's priced much slower, I would love to have it everyday

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank PrincessMiaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lachi's also viewed

Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 

Been to Lachi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing