We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable but worst customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Green Windows Dormitel
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
Quezon City
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Affordable but worst customer service!”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We chose Green Windows over Ponce Suites because there's a room in the former which can accommodate 8 of us. Plus, there's a toilet and bath in our room. I agree to mcengracia's statement below the absurdity of the hotel as we need to surrender the key to the lobby guard if we'll all go down. Really, absurd.

The rude and impolite receptionists pissed me off too. They need to be trained on good customer relations. 24/7, they are on Facebook! We saw it on their computer screens. Duh!

Also, their lobby shop always has no change even for small bills!

Affordable accommodation yet worst customer relation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HALLYCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    94
    37
    7
    14
See reviews for
63
30
35
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed there last weekend with 15 others. We took their dorm-type rooms, boys separated from the girls. Their rooms are new and clean... don't have any complaints about their rooms except for the noise coming from the outside. Their rooms lack good sound proofing that you can hear the staffs walking/chatting outside. But they have hot shower and clean/crisp blankets and pillows so that have already well compensated everything for me :). The room rates are also cheap, especially for groups like ours. Will definitely stay here again in my next visit to Davao :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wendell v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zamboanga City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed in this hotel June 6-8 and I must say that this is the worst front desk service that I have ever experienced with hotel stays. They get bookings mixed up, very rude in answering to querries and have very poor system and procedures. My sister who was in another room at the 6th floor has to leave the key with the security guard everytime she goes in and out of the room; despite her plea to the guard, he refused to give her the room key when she would get inside because according to him it is a management policy and there is only ONE copy of that key... . So it looked like their room guests were their "prisoners" as they are not allowed to hold the room key!!! this is not to mention the danger of being intruded of privacy when inside the room...

The structure of the hotel is so strange... we were billeted at the 4th floor but has to go up to check out or have business with front desk because its on the 5th floor!!

the cafeteria service is also very poor. When we ordered for food, 3 attendants (who looked like student-trainees who does not understand what customer service meant), did not mind us at all but continued to be giggling in front of the computer!

I will never recommend this hotel as there are better, better much better hotels in davao city.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcengracia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

the only hotel in davao where i experience a satisfaction in services, w/ low price. staying ther is worth it! and i'm planning to be back in my next visit.

Room Tip: choose the famous greenwindows dormitel 188 if you are travelling alone :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank edj083090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cebu
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2012

For large groups, the dorms on the 4th floor can actually accommodate. We were 6 in a room and mixed. The room was very clean and organized. We never had a problem except for the CR which was actually clean yet there was a problem with the drainage. The level of the tiles may not be similar, hence the water goes to the other directions instead of the drainage. No towels also.. But all in all, we had a wonderful stay.. There was a cafeteria.. A store.. inside the building.. and there's rose pharmacy as well at the ground floor. And the location's also good.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IvyKristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Province, Philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were booked in Green Windows from May 3-6, my husband and I, 3 small children and a nanny. We got two rooms on the same floor (4th). One Executive King and one De Luxe King. The Executive King is slightly more expensive, and the difference is, it has a small refrigerator (empty) and a window with a view of the buildings outside. The De Luxe King has no windows and no ref, slightly smaller but big enough and tastefully decorated. The rooms are very nice. Both had a king bed each, own bathroom, aircon, and TV with cable.

We gave our children the better room (executive). Immediately, the aircon started dripping water. So the whole time we were there, there was a bucket catching the water dripping from the aircon. In our room (de luxe), the aircon did not work properly. It is very hot in Davao so this was unacceptable. So the staff moved us to the 6th floor for the night. Here we got another de luxe king, and this time the aircon worked properly. The room was much bigger, still no window or ref, it had a table and two chairs, but no closet. Anyway, when we settled in for the night, we barely got any sleep because it was SO NOISY. We could here the phones ringing in the other rooms, and those rooms may have been empty because the ringing went on for AGES. Also, even if our room was down the hall and around the corner, we could hear the elevator DING every few minutes. There were people walking up and down the halls, talking and shouting even in the wee hours. I did not have a restful night. Fortunately, our baby did not wake up.

The following day, Green Windows redeemed itself somewhat, because we were able to go ahead with our plans for the day, and while we were gone, they moved our things from the 6th floor back to our old room and by the time we got back, the aircon was fixed. The last two nights on the 4th floor were somewhat quieter (no phone ringing from other rooms) but still, the elevator ding, and people passing by were noisy. At least the noise died down at around midnight. After that we could sleep well.

Oh and also, on the first morning, we were unable to make use of our breakfast stubs because of the big crowd at the canteen. Their canteen is very small, and could never hold all their guests at once. Apparently this was unusual because on the following two breakfasts, we were able to eat there in peace.

Perhaps it was because we happened to be there on a weekend when there seemed to be a large congregation (church group?) of many families who all knew each other. Their children were everywhere, playing in the halls, being noisy, etc. But I suppose as long as it's almost fully booked it would be noisy, because of the density of people in the small space (3 floors).

I would say Green Windows Dormitel is perfect for big groups who plan on being out and about around Davao all day and just need a bed to sleep in for the night. The rates are really unbeatable and it is new, clean and very well decorated. But if you want a relaxing time with your children, and you want to be able to hang around and take afternoon naps, it is no good, as it is a very noisy place. As expected of an establishment that attempts to put many people in a small space.

Other pluses for me. There was free underground parking, where we could park our rental car and take the elevator straight to our rooms from there. And the location is quite good. It took us a short time to get to wherever we wanted to go. Loved the king sized beds, because 2 kids and a nanny could fit comfortably, as well as a couple and one child. The mattresses were nice and firm. The pillows were soft and fluffy.

All in all, I was not completely disappointed, I would recommend the place to barkada groups, but if I travel with my children to Davao again, we would probably stay someplace quieter.

Room Tip: In my experience, the 4th floor room was quieter. But I don't know if it was a fluke that they h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank inabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davao
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

omg! this place is really nice BUT THE FRONT DESK SERVICE is a BIG QUESTION! .. they are just so DIS ORGANIZED !!!

PRE-BOOKED 5 rooms (std king, deluxe twin & executive twins) on march 2012 for today, april 27 2012.. PAID IN FULL the rooms yesterday, april 26

upon arrival of the guests (an hour ago), the std king room is not available (?), they gave it to somebody who checked in earlier (!) w/o a call from them informing us or asking us if we are going to continue our booking (to note, we are already paid in full)

so they gave a triple sharing room instead of the std king room BUT our guest have to WAIT for AN HOUR bec the room wasnt cleaned yet (!) .. tsk 3x, one guest is to stay in that room alone w/ 3 beds :(

to note; we have "CONFIRMED" our reservation 4 times !
yesterday, when we are to pay in full (we already had 2 down payments), they gave us an outstanding balance of MORE THAN 10,000 than our actual balance :( well, they called after 2 hrs confirming from us if their 7,500 collection was from us .. it was our 2nd down payment.. huh!

i was very positive on this hotel/dormitel having read positive reviews & nice rooms on the website & on their show rooms, but now? I DO NOT RECOMMEND THIS DORMITEL AT ALL .. im sorry guys. we will be reporting this to your management, for them to know that the frontdesk lacks proper organization & competence.. well, it's for your business' own good, too.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tweetay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0.7 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#16 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#23 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
2.2 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Tinhat Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#32 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bahay Ni Tuding Inn
Bahay Ni Tuding Inn
#8 of 52 in Davao City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green Windows Dormitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Windows Dormitel

Property: Green Windows Dormitel
Address: 1034, Mt. Apo Street | 5th Floor FTC Tower, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Davao City
#5 Best Value Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Windows Dormitel 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the prime touristic area of Davao City center, Green Windows Dormitel promises a relaxing and wonderful stay. It offers the most affordable accommodation rate which is P188/pax for backpackers that suits a travel on budget. The hotel offers a variety of amenities which include airport transfers, elevator, concierge, open and basement parking, a 24-hour reception desk and a mini grocery which are all readily available for you to enjoy and make your stay in Davao unforgettable. The hotel prides itself on its elegantly designed rooms, with its structured designs inspired by modern architecture; every guest will feel right at home. The hotel also caters therapeutic options such as spa and massage to relieve your senses after a long and stressful day. Truly, Green Windows Dormitel is indeed the ideal place for travelers who want to value their money. At the same time, each will enjoy the quality and upscale amenities with all the convenience and comforts of a hotel at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Green Windows Dormitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Windows Dormitel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing