We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Budget Hotel in the Center of Davao City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
North Zen Basic Spaces
Ranked #6 of 126 Davao City B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2013

North Zen Basic Spaces, located in Davao City, is relatively near to many commercial establishments, schools, parks, and other offices in Davao City.

You won't have any problem moving around Davao, when your staying in North Zen.

Though it's amenities is limited, I really loved the cozy lobby space where you can hang around and browse your laptop or read your book.

The staff are quite friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: North Zen Basic Spaces does not have a swimming pool or fitness center. But you can inquire about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JonjonEstipona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 70 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

We've stayed at North Zen a few times because of the great price for the room - $15 US for a single room on Agoda. It is located about 10 min walk from Gaisano Mall, and is also near Santa Ana Wharf. The rooms are basic - it is called Basic Spaces after all! - and are just large enough for a bed, wardrobe, TV, and bathroom. The standard rooms do not have enough space for kids. The wifi is lightning fast though, and unlimited. The staff are nice, but the front desk person never acknowledges guests as they enter the lobby, even though you must walk directly by her to reach the rooms. It would be great to be greeted. Maybe that is just a personal pet peeve though.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had a good experience at North Zen. I was a bit skeptical because of the low price in the beginning but as it turned out, the staff were extremely friendly, the room was safe and clean and it suited my 5 days stay perfectly.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bidnessboi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

If you are on a budget it's a nice place to stay.Bed is comfy but then blanket is so thin.Room is small but then it's very clean same with the comfort room with hot and cold shower.Low signal of wifi.Great location very near to gaisano mall and walking distance from church, hospital and 24hrs mcdo.Reservation is very easy,friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Nice location,, the rooms are true to their ads,, 'basic space', staff are friendly,, bathroom is clean and good ,, nice shower,, near the mall and eateries as well as a walking distance McDo ,,, but wifi ? Forget it,, generally it's a good place to stay ,,,,

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bong4fm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I recommend this place since its clean and new. Its perfect for us since we roam around the city the whole day and just needs a place to sleep in. Plus there's a free breakfast in the morning. Hot and cold shower is available but i would suggest for them to change the shower head since some of the parts are not working. No biggie, for the cheap price and clean rooms i would definitely go back to North Zen again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reimmak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I Love to stay at North Zen Hotel in Davao City its located in Sobrecary Street near Lapu-Lapu Street and Just Blocks going to Gaisano Mall just ride a tricycle for Php 7 per person, its very clean and cozy, nice restroom with hot & cold shower. Staff we're friendly and they accomodate whatever the guest needs right away. In my next vacation in Davao i will absolutely stay again in North Zen Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glezel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0.8 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#14 of 52 in Davao City
58 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#18 of 52 in Davao City
94 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#10 of 52 in Davao City
264 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tinhat Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.2 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#25 of 52 in Davao City
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Zen Basic Spaces? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Zen Basic Spaces

Address: Sobrecary Street, Corner Lapu-Lapu Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Davao City
Price Range: $18 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — North Zen Basic Spaces 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your North Zen Basic Spaces reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Zen Basic Spaces Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing