We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”
Review of Home Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Home Crest Hotel
Ranked #28 of 126 Davao City B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Good value for money,poor Internet reception,close by to new mall, restaurant workers are a little slow to have things done. Rooms are clean but nothing really special. Cheap and clean so if in a budget it is perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisarisalisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 54 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

One of the things many people come to rely on is unbiased reports about hotels people have stayed in. I find it hard to often find reports which ave obviously been written by some-one in-house, only to be disappointed when I arrive. So it is sometime hard to find great reports with honesty in them.
So I am happy to recommend a hotel which s not something I would normally do. I pay my money and expect a certain level of service for that amount of money. Every time I visit Davao city in the Philippines on the island of Mindanao I have my accommodation already organised. The Home Crest Hotel would certainly be one of the better and more clean places to stay in this town. Prices are reasonable for the standard of hotel. It is certainly not a 4 or 5 star, but it is very clean, affordable and across the road from an SM Mall shopping centre where you can almost all you need.
The rooms and beds are comfortable, not cramped, and the shower is great. Breakfast is generally included in the fare, and I could say that sometimes the amount served leaves a little to be desired. The breakfast is fairly limited, and on occasion I have been left without jam or fruit, but rare. The staff are really good and will do whatever is needed to ensure your stay is comfortable.
Position wise it is outside of the centre of the city, which also means no polluting traffic on your doorstep. Yet it is only a short drive into the city. Taxis are more than plentiful and very cheap.
Overall, I can easily recommend the Home Crest to anyone looking for something cost effective and comfortable and clean. They all count and add up.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with split system aircon as it tends to be much cooler and less noisy. BUT- t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Pros:
- Location: Situated in the residential part of Davao City yet easily accesible to all transportation and walking distance to a main road; just across SM City Davao so anything you need is easy to find/buy

- Service: Service is great, they always find a way to assist you in anything you need like tours; they also have a concierge; staff is courteous, eager to help out like carrying your bags after shopping or buying souvenirs; provided us with extra things we requested like extra towels

- Rooms: we were a group of 6 people so they suggested a connecting room which was just right for us 6; good airconditioning, well lit room, bathroom was just right with hot and cold shower, has wifi access in every room, cable tv, also drinking water dispensers were all through out the floor so you have hot and cold water to drink anytime, a big plus for me that beats out most hotels with 2 complimentary bottled water

- Security: every floor corridor is monitored by a CCTV camera for security purposes, has 24 hour security in the lobby

- Food: Accommodation comes with plated breakfast with a decent amount of serving and plenty of choices (American, Continental, Filipino); the ground floor has a restaurant that serves nice food and becomes a bar at night, decent prices too, also SM is just across should you need other choices

Areas of (minimal) Improvement:
- Towels: some that were given to us were worn out and have holes, they did replace them upon request but still, they could still use towels with better material quality (more thread count towels)
- Bathroom: should have at least a bathroom rug as a standard; they did however provide upon request

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djtravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I got this hotel because of tripadvisor reviews. I agree with most of them. Airport transfer is much better done via taxi. They do provide airport pickup but for 350 per pax per way. Taxi will only cost you not more than 250 pesos per ride. You do the math. Their contact numbers on their website isn't working, they do not reply via email. Best to SMS them. They do reply via SMS for inquiries. Check-in was fast. Rooms are cozy. Only bathroom ammenities are toilet paper and 2 bath soaps and shampoo. No toothbrush etc. Bath towels are provided. Refrigerator has a lock! You can't use it to for storage of outside food/drinks I guess. Drinking water is available along the hallway.

Breakfast was so-so. BEWARE, their extra rice is 30php per cup. Price of a kilo or rice for cooking.

All in all, my stay was ok for the price I paid and the accessibility to SM Davao where you have lots of choices for other activities.

Check-out was smooth, staff were friendly and helpful. Wi-fi is ok as well.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank khrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is a charming hotel right beside one of the major mall chains in the Philippines - SM City. So it makes your stay there pretty comfortable when it comes to dining or other needs that a typical modern mall can provide as it is literally, few steps away!

Love:
-check-in was fast, staff at the reception were very friendly and accommodating (Beverly & James)
-WIFI in the room at a very good signal
-friendly staff (worth to mention as I just recently came from a country where smile is not a common thing in the service sector)
-clean, decent room. Big wardrobe with hangers, mini fridge, TV and very cool split-type AC, good bed mattress, fluffy pillows
-fluffy towels
-breakfast option and serving is good (coffee is brewed not instant 3in1)


Hate:
-no bidet, was provided with a water dipper but it still has liquid soap in it (probably from the last user)
-mini fridge was locked, I had to ask why only to be told I need to pay 500pesos as security deposit (don't mind that much but would have been better if told right at check-in) plus I had to ask for the list of mini bar items coz there's none.
-no foot rug for wet feet after shower
-the shower curtain is too long, quite messy, shower head is just so-so (no way to adjust)
-quite far from the airport, I paid 220pesos for taxi fare

Overall, it still is a good and pleasant stay as you feel secured once inside the premises and in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shaigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here last May 2012. Was able to get a good rate thru their own website. This small boutique hotel is literally just within a few steps to SM Davao, which is perfect to grab some quick meals and buy certain necessities. SM also has a complex transpo hub where you can get an aircon van to go to other must see areas in Davao. The hotel is clean with a nice lobby and a small dainty restaurant. Breakfast was included but if you pay it is very reasonable. Food served was also very good. This hotel is in a quiet residential area so not much vehicles passing and relatively quiet and peaceful. If you regularly jog, the SM complex is a jogging path by locals in the early morning.

Staff were very courteous and helpful, no issues here and cleanliness is above standard. If you go for a budget small boutique hotel without the amenities like swimming pool, gym, etc. then this hotel will be the best for you.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rse-wpi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My family and I booked two rooms at Home Crest for two nights last month. The hotel, though small, has several positive things going for it, namely: location, friendly staff, good rooms, free wifi and efficient layout. The hotel's location allowed us to use it as a practical base for going around the different sights in Davao. The SM Mall was right across the hotel so last minute "pasalubong" purchases and wide dining options were easy. Rooms were a good size and had what we needed - comfortable beds, wide screen TV, good shower, strong aircon. Plated breakfast was delicious and filling. A spa (separate business) can be found on the ground floor where I enjoyed a very relaxing massage. The hotel had a small but cozy lobby. Front desk staff as well as security guard were friendly and helpful - check-in/check-out was no fuss.

Room Tip: If you need wifi, ask for rooms across SM Mall, where the routers seem to be located. Downside of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsLeeQuezonCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
4.6 mi away
Big Apple Hotel
Big Apple Hotel
#37 of 53 in Davao City
26 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Leticia Boutique Hotel
Casa Leticia Boutique Hotel
#33 of 53 in Davao City
95 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#2 of 53 in Davao City
592 reviews
4.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 53 in Davao City
974 reviews
5.0 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#3 of 53 in Davao City
330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Crest Hotel

Address: Tulip Drive corner Walnut Avenue | Ecoland Phase 7, across SM City Davao, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 126 B&Bs / Inns in Davao City
Price Range: $43 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Home Crest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home Crest Hotel a best value hotel conveniently located right across SM City Davao. Though nestled in a friendly neighborhood amidst towering trees and gardens; great dining, entertainment and shopping destinations are just a short walk away. A van and bus terminal, ATMs, spa, 24-hour convenience store is in the vicinity. Public transportation is accessible, providing guests with easy commute to downtown and to any part in the city. At Home Crest Hotel, we are dedicated to offer quality amenities and personalized services in a global standard. We aim to delight our guest with the unique blend of comfort and convenience for an utmost satisfying experience. It is our goal to provide a remarkable hotel experience by creating a cozy and friendly atmosphere where guests can look forward to coming home every time they visit Davao City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Home Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Crest Hotel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing