We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homey Feeling at Home Crest” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Home Crest Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Home Crest Hotel
Ranked #6 of 124 Davao City B&B and Inns
Philippines
Level Contributor
222 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“Homey Feeling at Home Crest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Every time I visit Davao City I stay at Home Crest Residences. The hotel has a " homey " touch and service is very good. I always get a twin deluxe room, I find the room rate within my budget. I normally go there on a short business trip and do not need a gym or a swimming pool to unwind. I would much rather cross the street and unwind with retail therapy at the nearby SM Mall. Am happy with the clean room, nice smelling sheets and towels. The bathroom is quite small though and there is something wrong with their choice of lavatory. I do not use the lift, instead climb up the stairs to my 3rd floor room. I feel safe in Home Crest. The free breakfast the comes with the hotel room is standard Filipino breakfast of fried rice, corned beef, fried eggs, fresh fruits and coffee. Good enough for me. When I last visited, they had an art exhibit in their Lobby. There is a pub on the ground floor, where you can have a drink or two with other guests (easy to make friends since its a small hotel). The also serve breakfast in the pub.
I liked the service at Home Crest because the guys out there go out of their way to please you. One time, I mentioned by desire to buy some fresh durian and take them home with me. They immediately sourced them out for me (cheaper rate than the supermarket), vacuum packed the durian, ready for me to take back home. Superb service!
I will surely recommend the place to my friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: You get a nicer view of the rooftops from the higher floor (3rd floor):):):):) I think its quieter t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank saint28daisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    28
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
9
2
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baguio
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Friendly staff, comfortable beds and a nice bar/restaurant. Easy access to SM Davao.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metro Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2012

We have stayed in this boutique hotel for four times. Staff are extremely friendly and helpful...you feel recognized and welcomed because they address you by your name. Rooms are pretty cool...the bed, the pillows, bed-side lamps, television, etc...are almost perfectly designed to suit the comfort that you need. The blue hub cafe is just a perfect place (small but cozy) for a short chitchat. I love their cappucino....

I am also a seasoned hotelier and I should know what a good hotel is like. Home Crest is really my "home away from home".

My only comment is to maintain the building well...to attend to the little touch ups. Otherwise, like other boutique hotels, it will fall out of shape at no time.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

I stayed there for 4 nights in March 2012. The staff are friendly, courteous, & attentive to guests' needs. I love that they do not over-bleach their linens and towels. I booked a standard room but they upgraded me to executive suite to please my request for matrimonial bed, non-carpeted, non-smoking, & with large windows. It is conveniently located in a quiet area outside the city centre but very near a large mall which gave me access to coffeeshops, bookstore & different cuisines. Rooms even have dipper (tabo) which is a plus to Filipinos. It was indeed a good place to be.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

It is hard to find fault with Home Crest. Stylish and comfortable at a reasonable price.
Bathrooms are small but workable, my one criticism is the lack of lighting near the bathroom mirror.. It is hard to see whilst shaving.
A nice touch is the unlimited free drinking water available in the lobby on each floor. Meals at the cafe are good and not overpriced, SM mall is just opposite and there is a laundry shop in the same building.
I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulbannato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

The rooms are individually designed. No questioned on cleanliness because the place is new. Though a 3 floor-building only, an elevator serves the guests. Then If you want to shop around, you will just cross the street and Hola, SM Mall. I find the services very satisfactory.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yvesthink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights with my parents. The rooms were clean. Staff were friendly and the rates were affordable. The bathroom though is small and not well lit and the food they served for breakfast were not so good. It was plated breakfast, small servings which made us hungry after just a couple of hours of some touring around the city. No refrigerator / mini bar inside the room. Home Crest is recommended for budget travelers, but if you have extra cash to burn, try other luxury hotels like Marco Polo.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mayetski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
2.1 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#17 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
4.1 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Big Apple Hotel
Big Apple Hotel
#29 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
4.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Home Crest Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Home Crest Hotel

Property: Home Crest Hotel
Address: Tulip Drive corner Walnut Avenue | Ecoland Phase 7, across SM City Davao, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 124 B&Bs / Inns in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Home Crest Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home Crest Hotel a best value hotel conveniently located right across SM City Davao. Though nestled in a friendly neighborhood amidst towering trees and gardens; great dining, entertainment and shopping destinations are just a short walk away. A van and bus terminal, ATMs, spa, 24-hour convenience store is in the vicinity. Public transportation is accessible, providing guests with easy commute to downtown and to any part in the city. At Home Crest Hotel, we are dedicated to offer quality amenities and personalized services in a global standard. We aim to delight our guest with the unique blend of comfort and convenience for an utmost satisfying experience. It is our goal to provide a remarkable hotel experience by creating a cozy and friendly atmosphere where guests can look forward to coming home every time they visit Davao City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Home Crest Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Home Crest Hotel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing