We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YUCK! eeeeww.. !”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Luz Kinilaw Place

Luz Kinilaw Place
Ranked #42 of 488 Restaurants in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Davao City, Philippines
1 review
“YUCK! eeeeww.. !”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Yes! Luz Kinilaw is one of the oldest and long running restaurant here in Davao. But how about their cleanliness? wow! excellent dirt you can see and smell from neighborhood! the best! it'll ruin your appetite. I dont know why the people keep coming back, maybe because of the food.

And there was a time my Australian uncle tried to dine in there like 5 years ago, well unfortunately my uncle promised not to come back because he saw rat running under the table, cockroaches and flies all over. Front liners look so tired and hungry and i heard the owner is a mad race except her late husband. Well they should clean the surroundings of the restaurant in and out. Food is good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adezJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    22
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
88 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Horrendous”
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

I was never impressed the first time i visited this place some 5 years ago and vowed not to come back since then. But a friend from Cebu was so curious about its popularity, hence i gave in. It still looks exactly the same the way it was since the 90s; in an old, dirty, dilapidated shanty. Whats more hurting is that we thought they served NFA rice, and prices were too ambitious for the taste. We paid ph700 for a recipe that was purely grilled, almost tasteless.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank iamatopmodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
810 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 701 helpful votes
“Grilled seafoods my favorite!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

If one is looking for a glamorous place to dine or take a lunch. then this place does not answer.

But food.. sea foods are tasty and excellently done and very affordable. With rice and kinilaw..oh boy! this made my day.

I brought my husband here, one time and he did not complain. He liked it here, inexpensive but tasty and delicious grilled sea foods.

I am planning to bring my relatives sooner here for a lunch when they come to visit me in Davao.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MijnlieverdFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Freshly Grilled Seafood”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Because of the raves about this place, we decided to check it out during our trip to Davao last Oct 2012. We ordered Tuna Belly, Tuna Kinilaw and Squid. All were fresh and tasted divine, and the serving was huge. The only thing I didn't like was that the place is old and rusty. They should really consider having a renovation.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Clairekemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muntinlupa, Philippines
Level Contributor
220 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
“Food still great, but the smell of the neighborhood is a turn off”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I have been to Luz Kinilaw many times in the past, making it a ritual lunch destination. But the view of the sea is gone and the squatters have taken control of the rear section thus losing the appeal of Luz Kinilaw as a seaside place. There is a foul smell that must have come from the neighborhood, where sanitation is probably non existent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelito P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luz Kinilaw Place also viewed

Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 

Been to Luz Kinilaw Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing