We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Once is enough”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Philippines
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Once is enough”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

This hotel looks new outside, but rather old inside the room.
They even charge complementary water wherein it should be free. Have to argue with them before they refund the money. They also charge a bottled of water that was ordered and paid from their cafe area that was brought inside the room... they insist water is from their ref which is not.
Have to talk to their manager, seems their concierge are too stubborn to listen to customer explanation.
Breakfast food is terrible.
Will never stay here again.

Room Tip: Request for a room facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abingsyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    77
    51
    15
    9
See reviews for
47
26
24
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

I had a chance to stay at this hotel for 2 nights as my sister in law booked it for everyone. My general idea of this hotel was that it was young and fresh as it was just a year and a half but I was totally disappointed with how a year and a half hotel would look now, it actually looks 5 years old to me. However, the location of this hotel was perfect as it was walking distance from Penong's, a local restaurant famous in Davao. It is also a mere 5 minute walk to Gaisano mall and a 10 minute ride to Abreeza Mall.
Entering the lobby would give you a feel that this hotel looks young. The waiting area has several sets of sofa which is located at the left side. Further down is the mini restaurant where they hold their free buffet Filipino breakfast. On the right is a grand staircase and a table for its Europcar car rental which by the way is SUPER NOT RECOMMENDED. Behind that is their reception.
We arrived at 11AM. Since the standard rule of checking in is at 2PM, we really had no choice but to have lunch at nearby Penong's. By 1PM, the girl was kind enough to offer us a room. They have 4 elevators which is good for a provincial hotel. We were assigned at room 515 which is at the 5th floor. They also have their mini indoor pool and jacuzzi in this floor. I entered the room and just left my things because I was in a hurry. When i went back to retire, That's the time I checked my room. The room has an aircon which is located at the corner awkwardly and when I was about to charge my Iphone, there I saw their walls filled with thick dust and stains which was unacceptable for me. I immediately called the reception and they instructed me to call the housekeeping myself which was again a no-no. I requested to talk to the manager and he immediately went up to check. He agreed and apologized and after a few minutes, he upgraded us to a junior suite which I think was the right thing to do.
We transferred to room 520. Room was huge with a sofa and a bigger bathroom and a cold aircondition. 1 king size bed setup but I requested for a mattress for my daughter. We were able to sleep at 12 because of the hassle.
The next day, I woke up early because of the water dripping noise fro the aircon. This was irritating but I didn't complain anymore.
In general, hotel could have passed if the layout of each room was better and of course, cleaner. I will definitely not stay here again. I would rather stay at the bit more expensive hotel just a few blocks down.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JopetSy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Davao City hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 nights in April, 2012. Good location, very modern hotel. I visited during summer season, very hot, air conditioning works good in this hotel compared to others I stayed in. The rooms are large with comfortable beds and hot water.
The staff is very friendly and helpful, they go out of there way to help you with anything.
The location is good, mall (more a/c), places to eat, bars are within walking distance, although cab rides are very cheap there.
Breakfast buffet not the best, but is ok. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 5th floor have breezeways so the hallway not as hot as on other floors.. this is al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gns50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

WARNING: The following is a review that AGADO dot com (intentionally mis-spelt) DOES NOT WANT YOU TO SEE as of 7th April 2012!!!

Good:
+ New hotel
+ Entrance bright and cheery, well-kept facilities
+ Early check-in allowed, didn't have to wait until 2:00pm
+ Staff friendly but not intrusively friendly
+ Oasis in a rather dodgy area
+ Near mall and eateries
+ Substantial breakfast
+ Good and effective in-room air-conditioning
+ Nice small pool and spa

Gripes:
- Surrounding area rather dodgy but still safe
- No in-room kettle
- No in-room hair-dryer
- No in-room basic stationery such as pens and writing paper
- No in-room safe deposit box
- No bathtub, just a standing shower
- Needed to buy my own power socket adapter for non-American appliances
- Keycard extremely flakey, need to approach reception to re-encode keycard each time I need to re-enter my room. Very inconvenient. The other guest don't seem to have the same problem. The problem persisted even after I changed my room.
-- Flies landing on unused cutlery and food in the dining area. I took a photo of three such flies. Not good.
-- Cockroach on bread basket and toaster. Not good.
- Cable TV signal outage
- General power blackout on last day, partial emergency power restored within 30 minutes. Receptionist called to apologize. Good.

Overall:
+ Generally pleasant and enjoyable stay despite the gripes.
+ Hotel needs to improve its standards to meet the standards expected of a three-and-a-half star hotel.
+ Recommended with some reservations.

Addendum: I stayed there for several days recently. For the price I paid, this hotel DID NOT offer good value for money. It is currently, in my opinion, at best, a two to two-and-a-half star hotel. If they continue to charge those kind of prices and not improve their standards, you would do well to give this hotel a miss if you are looking for good value for your money.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is the tiny pool/spa level. Get a room where the key card does not flake out on you alm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SgJohnK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2012

The rooms are big and clean enough. Nothing special about the food. Their rates have recently gone up so I'm not sure anymore in terms of value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the 5th floor where the spa and fitness center is. Hallway there is pretty open com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stargazerManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Stayed 6 nights in mid Jan 2012
The hotel is supposedly quite new however some things looked quite dated. there's a huge crack in the floor of the elevator, the room-service menus are old and worn.
The rooms are ok. I had a pool-room for a few nights, the room was very small but decent. The sliding door which opens onto the pool-deck is very flimsy. With a laptop and cash in my room I was hoping nothing would happen which didnt. The pool is small but ok.
The breakfast was average. I liked the hotel, the location is close to everything and the staff are very nice and good. the hotel is reasonably priced and i had no issues at all. I would recommend the hotel as a 3 - 3.5 star.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrgAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Davao City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

Last Feb 8 2012, my Apple iPad 2 which was in my small canvas bag which I left in Room 513 of the hotel was STOLEN when my aunt, who was then a guest of the hotel, and I stepped out to have dinner. We were only out from 7:45pm to around 10:30pm. While we were out, 2 housekeepers were still inside of our room when we left. The hotel didn't replace it because accrdg. to their investigations and i qoute "there is no proof that any of the Hotel's staff or personnel was or were behind the loss". The investigation were not thoroughly done when it happened and the manager wasn't even apologetic for the unfortunate incident.

Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Marlotay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0.4 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
1,098 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
874 reviews
1.7 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
533 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
#9 of 52 in Davao City
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites

Property: The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites
Address: Sta. Ana Avenue, Davao City, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites is a mid scale hotel situated at one of the entrance to Davao's Chinese business district. It is strategically located at the city's midpoint enabling easy access to malls, schools, churches, hospitals, and local attractions. Our well-appointed guest rooms and suites provide comfort coupled with the exceptional service of our friendly staff. At The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites, relaxation is your only luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pinnacle Hotel And Suites Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing