We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value vs. Marco Polo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Davao City
Reviewed August 12, 2011

My wife and I tried this hotel for more than 2 weeks in July-Aug 2011 and are very pleased. Our first choice was the Marco Polo but their prices have risen far above the competition. You'll like the Pinnacle as it is fresh and new, has a friendly and helpful staff, a delicious breakfast and nice, private pool.
For a traditional Filipino breakfast, you cannot go wrong here. There's an egg station for the western touch to accompany your meat, rice (fried or steamed), vegetable and soup with a great fruit salad and fresh fruit, although no mango. Get up early as the breakfast rush between 7-8:30 tends to cause the fruit salad to disappear quickly. They'll put more out, all you have to do is ask.
We had a car for our stay and it was not at all inconvenient to park in the back if we could not get one of the few spots in front of the hotel. The doorman is incredibly friendly and the lobby is open, bright and has wi-fi. Cable internet in the room was fast and reliable. This is a business hotel and you should expect to share breakfast with a conference or other group. During our stay, there were several conferences and a basketball team enjoying the facility.
We chose a "cabana" room that opened out onto the 5th floor pool. While small, I could do many laps in total privacy as it was rarely used by other guests. There's a hot water shower next to the pool. The jaccuzi, however, never had its jets working...bummer. There are only 4 cabana rooms and the corner one gets you a good-sized terrace. The terrace door swings from either direction...remember to close the lock at the top when you leave your room. Note...it's the tropics...ants are plentiful. My wife kept this honey-containing face soap open on the big walk-in shower floor one day and the ants had trailed to it when we got home. Baygon works wonders and it lasts your entire stay. We sprayed some around the generous terrace door opening...needs some weatherstripping!
Aircon will freeze your butt so keep it about 22C all day and night on the low setting...leave the room keycard in the slot when you go out. It wastes some energy but you're comfy when you return. Great TV with CNN,etc, for your American tastes. HBO Asia is tame but okay, too. I wished for a microwave but got used to getting a teapot of hot water in the evening from downstairs.
Remember, this is culture with quiet, polite and friendly people. If you treat them this way, you'll get better response. We'll return here on our next visit. I really hope they complete the gym. It's next to the pool and should be adequate. With a gym, I'd bump my rating up one star.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Iceman272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 210 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2011

well, the only good thing i found in this hotel is the very friendly doorman who will greet you once you enter the hotel.
the general manager could not help you with your problem with their frontliner... he acted worse.. as if these people did not go through customer service seminars.. frustrating!
the aircon did not work... it was soooo hot! they have been called several times but no one bothered to go up to fix it..
i would never ever recommend this... i live in davao city and this place is a big SHAME!

Stayed: December 2010
6  Thank saturday_nor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2011

My Girlfriend who lives in Davao told me about the Pinnacles, apparently it opened in 2010 so its a new hotel.
As we entered the hotel we were greeted by the doorman who was really friendly, and took our bags to the room, there are 2 lifts as the hotel is on several floors.
I booked an executive suite for 3000 peso per night, I was very happy with the room, if anything it was too large. The Double bed was very roomy with fresh clean linen each day, the aircon in the room was plenty cool enough. The room had a 32 LCD screen on the wall with cable with lots of shows in English, HBO and ESPN i think.
The shower was nice and powerful although if im being picky the bathroom could have been lit more brightly.
The staff were all very friendly and efficient, each morning we had to claim tickets for breakfast from the reception which I thought was annoying but they always greeted us with a smile.
Breakfast buffet usually consisted of Rice, toast, scrambled egg, fruit, and a choice of pork, fish and chicken usually done in some sauce adabo style, the food was ok, not what im used to for a european breakfast and if we took breakfast late then the food was just luke warm.
The jacuzzi was great, the swimming pool was ok, quite shallow and not so big but it was ok to do a little swimming.
We had a large balcony, which was nice but the view is just ok with a multi storey car park facing the hotel and there was no table and chairs on the balcony.

I recommend this hotel highly for value I really enjoyed my stay its clean and luxurious, I think you could pay much more for this standard of room in other local hotels and I will stay there again on my next visit to Davao

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank daveblinx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Theo J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank Xavier C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: 上の階ですと景色がよいです。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Masafumi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2016, traveled with family
Thank C3807SJbobt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0.4 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#5 of 53 in Davao City
1,199 reviews
1.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 53 in Davao City
998 reviews
1 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#3 of 53 in Davao City
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
#12 of 53 in Davao City
176 reviews
1.7 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 53 in Davao City
524 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Tropika Davao
Hotel Tropika Davao
#2 of 53 in Davao City
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites

Address: Sta. Ana Avenue, Davao City, Mindanao, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 53 Hotels in Davao City
Price Range: $49 - $73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites is a mid scale hotel situated at one of the entrance to Davao's Chinese business district. It is strategically located at the city's midpoint enabling easy access to malls, schools, churches, hospitals, and local attractions. Our well-appointed guest rooms and suites provide comfort coupled with the exceptional service of our friendly staff. At The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites, relaxation is your only luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Pinnacle Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pinnacle Hotel And Suites Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing