We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royale House Travel Inn and Suites
Ranked #53 of 125 Davao City B&B and Inns
Dumaguete City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A decent place in a great location”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

The hotel is situated in a great location. Banks, pharmacy, church and fastfood restaurants are just a few steps away. The price for the rooms are reasonable and are always tidy when you come back after a day's exploring. WIFI cannot only be found in the lobby but also in the rooms as well (courtyard rooms). The only downside is the nonexistence of an elevator but nonetheless it's a great place overall.

Room Tip: Stay in a room far from the courtyard since they have a caged bird there which will probably wake yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keewee248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    22
    16
    10
    4
See reviews for
8
16
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

the room they gave us was a deluxe triple room and it was well worth the price we paid. for the amount of P1500/night, it has everything you would need for a few nights rest. breakfast is included and they have wifi both in the breakfast area and the rooms. the receptionists were a bit snobbish though so i think they need to improve that. overall, it would mind staying here again for its cheap price.

Room Tip: choose the deluxe rooms as they are quite new and in a quieter area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hlim34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila philippines
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

It was our first time in Davao City and the first thing I had to decide was the type of accommodation we will book.I though it would not be wise to go for an expensive hotel as we plan to explore the city and nearby Samal Island.I asked my friends and they immediately recommended Royale House Davao to us.It was a good decision.

With a room for 1,000php or less, you get to have all that you need of a decent but affordable accommodation. Soft bed,clean linens, spacious room, table and chair inside should you bring in food,cable tv, hot and cold shower,spacious closet,plus a complimentary set meal for breakfast.The set meal is basic but with this rate,what more can you ask for?

The receptionists were a little stiff, I thought they don't know how to smile,but I didn't mind.

The location is really good.It’s downtown with key interests all within a square mile.It’s also located on the street with major jeepney routes and is 15minutes away to the port where one can take the boat to lovely SAMAL ISLAND.

There are so many things to explore in Davao City and Samal Island that if it is your first time in the city, staying at an expensive hotel might not be a good idea.Royal House has all the basic comforts that you need. Cheap Accommodation without Sacrificing Comfort.

Room Tip: There is a newly constructed section.An extension beautifully connected to the original building.Loo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pusangkalye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2012

We were intending to stay for four nights but moved out after the first. Upon check in the economy double rooms were all occupied and we agreed to pay a surcharge for the deluxe double room.
There is no downpayment or credit card guarantee, one need to pay all nights, or in my case, at least one in advance. We asked if there are any additional charges for credit card payment which was denied. Nonetheless, upon check out the next morning I was asked to pay an additional 82 Pesos.

The Room overall felt not very clean. Stains on the shower head and other parts were a standard. There was a dead cockroach in the bedroom which apparently has been killed by someone but not removed. The bed sheet had a very obvious blood stain. How can this be overseen by the staff?

Worst though was the noise. Our room was No. 313 near an Atrium in the back of the hotel. We woke up by the noise of multiple Roosters by 3am. By 4am a bunch of dogs kicked in, howling and barking. By 4:30 the parrots which are placed in cages in the above mentioned Atrium woke up and did the rest. None of us could get a proper rest.

The breakfast was another disaster. We asked for tea which the staff said isn't available. We later figured out it costs an additional 50pesos so they were just too lazy to make it. The 'Continental Breakfast' consists of 2 slices of toasted bread, butter and a micro portion of strawberry jam. Eggs and anything else costs extra. The replacement for tea is instant orange juice from 'powder'.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank durchland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Davao City hotels

honolulu, hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. Good value. Renovation in 2010 really helped this hotel. Rooms are all fresh, have LCD TV, quiet aircon, hot water in bathrooms. The rooms off of the central courtyard are especially quiet and bright. The birds and art are a nice touch that help to make the place feel special. Staff are well trained. Comfy beds but pillows are awful.Food was OK, but breakfast (included) is not good. Location is good but lots of street traffic and noise.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room looking onto the busy street below. You will have a bad sleep and the diesel fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank honolulumark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Reservation was a breeze but I didn't like that they asked me for a full payment already. I have been to other budget accommodations, but they just ask for a partial payment upon reservation.

Furthermore, I got really disappointed with the breakfast. For some reason, even though I made several followups, my order didn't came. I ended up leaving the place with an empty stomach or else, I'll miss our boat going to Samal Island.

I still recommend this place though especially if you're traveling on a budget. Their location is good since they are located downtown. The room is just right if you plan to stay out all day, and just need an affordable place to sleep at night. There's TV, AC & clean bathroom. So overall, the room is acceptable considering its price.

Room Tip: Construction is going on for new rooms during our stay. Try to request the new rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ceeeeeeej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

This hotel is blooming at the central Davao area. Accessible to rides anywhere in the city, with free simple breakfast, fast connecting WIFI at the lobby, friendly staffs and crews. Nice clean room, especially the deluxe rooms. It has a bar at the 2nd floor. Near to 24 hours fastfood chains, banks with ATMs, churches, shopping malls, police station, parks, restos, bars, universities, etc.

Room Tip: Reservation is a wise thing to do. Just call or SMS.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slazenger552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
5.2 mi away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#20 of 52 in Davao City
90 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#14 of 52 in Davao City
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#11 of 52 in Davao City
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#33 of 52 in Davao City
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tinhat Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Bahay Ni Tuding Inn
Bahay Ni Tuding Inn
#8 of 52 in Davao City
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royale House Travel Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royale House Travel Inn and Suites

Property: The Royale House Travel Inn and Suites
Address: C.M. Recto Street, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines (Formerly The Royale House)
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Royale House Travel Inn and Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your The Royale House Travel Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Royale House Travel Inn And Suites Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing