We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feels like home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Tropika Davao
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
San Fernando, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feels like home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Good service. Me and my colleagues arrived around 9:45 in the evening and the staff at the restaurant still accommodated us even though there are only 3 of us at the dining area. They staff did not leave us until we were done eating and we really felt welcome. The surroundings look fresh and clean as well. There is also a water dispenser found at every floor.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Earl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    115
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
65
57
19
107
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Banos, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

i travel to davao city every month for work, and one of the best for me is Hotel Tropika. i think i've stayed in this hotel for more than 5x already. the place is very clean, the garden is very refreshing, i love it when the sun enters my room in the morning. the rooms are very conducive for sleeping, beds are comfortable, i love their soft and clean pillows. the staff are very warm and accommodating. it's very affordable and the place is also very near major places in the city. the restaurant also serves good food very interesting ingredients! such as the veggie roots chips and the iced tea with floating seeds of something :D

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beads_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Pinas, Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

It is my third time to visit Davao and my third time to stay in this hotel. And every time I visit they always surprise me.

My work sends me to places but only in Hotel Tropika that i sleep like it is a better version of my bed. In my three days stay, I woke up slightly unbalance for I thought it was my room and when I opened my eyes, alas I'm at a very clean, cozy warm room of Hotel Tropika.

As always their Asst. Hotel Manager - Marga Corotan is very accommodating especially when I got sick on my last night. it felt like it was more than enough not even treating me as a customer but a family.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel. And the internet is 10 times faster than my last visit and the food was great! :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsKrystelK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Hotel Tropika is a clean, comfortable and affordable hotel in Davao. Very friendly and accommodating staff., For the price we paid, breakfast was okay. Massage service was also affordable at P400/hour whole body. They do airport transfers for a minimal fee.

We were here for a meeting and meeting room was okay. Food served was good, too. It's really value for money.

What a find!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jasmin1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

The room is spacious and clean. Hotel staffs are mostly helpful and quick to respond on guests' requests. The wifi signal at our room was so weak. Apparently, there are rooms that have strong signals and I was pleased that such room was given to us the following day. This hotel is quiet and peaceful.

Their friend durian ice cream is good. Yes, if in Davao, don't leave without having durian and the hotel's durian dessert is a surprisingly good way of enjoying the "king" of the fruits. Take note that if you're not into so much sweetness, you don't need to mix all the syrup that goes with it.

Again, this is a good place to stay while in Davao.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pacific06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Hotel tropika can compete to other luxurious hotels here in davao. the location is just right, very convinient... room is clean and the place is so quite which makes you relax feeling like you were just in your own home. breakfast becomes even more perfect with their waiter and waitresses who wear their smiles and greet you so lovely when you enter their cafeteria.. they make adjustmensts with your personal request and grant you their full service from changing garlic rice to plain rice, ironing your clothes, getting taxi down to guiding you at the parking. i know this are just simple things a hotel expected to offer but i really wish to share it though because indeed my experience with this hotel is remarkably a thing should be shared of in order for other travellers be guided and might also consider staying on the same hotel. i felt contented with my experience with hotel tropika. i have been here for twice... and i highly recommend this hotel to all of you.. :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve N N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Manila, Philippines
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

I love & enjoy my stay in tropika! The staffs from the rEception, restaurant, the maintenance crew were all doing their job very well... They were very friendly and accommodating. If you're looking for cleanliness, peace of mind & serene stay- I highly suggest this place. You'll feel valued here!

Room Tip: All rooms available were deluxe but affordable! All rooms were treated equal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catrine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,046 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#17 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.4 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropika Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropika Davao

Property: Hotel Tropika Davao
Address: Km. 7, J.P. Laurel Ave. | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Davao City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropika Davao 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropika offers 30 beautifully furnished and spacious guestrooms which have one king-size or two twin beds, fitted with pampering linens over plush pillow-top mattresses. Each has a full array of in-room amenities for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Tropika Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropika Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing