We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but Reastaurant not good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tropika Davao
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I liked this hotel very much. Good rooms well priced and friendly staff. It is a bit out of the way from the centre of Davao but taxis are cheap and drivers are honest. The hotel is close to paradise island which is worth a visit. The downside of the hotel is its reastaurant where the food is limited and not good. Others I spoke to said the same thing. A great pity as the hotel has a lot to offer and is not expensive.

Room Tip: It has strict smoking so if a smoker ask for rooms on the ground floor to get easy access to outside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulW502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 326 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is our third stay in the hotel in as many years, and we have always receieved amazing service. The staff is consistently conscientious, friendly and accommodating. It is quiet, and removed from the main road, so we feel rested and serene when staying here. The food in the restaurant is great; we often had room service because it was some of the best food in town! I would definitely recommend, and plan on staying again next year on our annual visit to the Philippines.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank treginald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Hotel Tropika lived up to its promise of excellent service, rooms, and facilities. I loved their food and the attention they give to their guests. The staff are courteous, warm, and very facilitating. Location is good since it is not immediately beside the main road. Very near SM Premier.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leolady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I have never been disappointed in choosing a hotel base on the reviews from trip advisor. My balikbayan Aunt and cousin likes this hotel. It is not located on a busy street so you can have a peaceful and quite sleep. The staff are courteous and very attentive to your needs. They even allow my cousin to bring their laptop in our room. The food in their Aseya Restaurant is great and very affordable. The only down side is their AC in our room 101 is quite noisy already. We love this hotel because of its homey ambiance. The next time I will come back to Davao with my husband, we will surely stay again in Hotel Tropika.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duchess050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

It was my first time to book at this hotel. We were 2 ladies who were there on business.
The hotel staff were very helpful and nice and respectful. Food was good and presentable.
It gives you the feeling that they care for their guests. I like the garden view surrounding the hotel. Also it isn't right by the main road so guests are not subjected to the noise pollution of the vehicles. Taxis are easily available. Just call the front desk when you need one.
The only downside is that there is no elevator (there are only 3 floors though). But since I read reviews before booking at this hotel, I requested for a room on the ground floor. Luckily there was one available.

Overall it was a pleasant stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you do not want to use the stairs, ask for a room on the ground floor as they don't have an e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ma Rica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

I have been to Davao many times in the past but not within the last 5 years. What a pleasant surprise to find Tropkia recommended by a friend. Great value, great rooms, GREAT staff,convenient location and great food, Nothing more to ask for..except maybe a swimming pool

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekendtravelor_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I find hotel tropika very accomodating to our family of five and the staff really tried hard to meet our needs (even the rush ones). The rooms are kept clean daily and all the staff are very kind to us and to our children. We look forward to going back to hotel tropika on our next family vacation (",)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hamoudiselmamohammed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
960 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
1,157 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
578 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Davao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropika Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropika Davao

Address: Km. 7, J.P. Laurel Ave. | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Davao City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
Price Range: $55 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropika Davao 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropika offers 30 beautifully furnished and spacious guestrooms which have one king-size or two twin beds, fitted with pampering linens over plush pillow-top mattresses. Each has a full array of in-room amenities for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Tropika Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropika Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing