We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“thanks to trip advisor!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Tropika Davao
Ranked #3 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2012

It pays to read blogs and reviews, thanks to tripadvisor and our stay in hotel tropika was great, hassle free and the front desk staff (Jane, Yvonne, Sheena), hotel driver (Novi) , staff of Cafe Aseya are GREAT!!! As to location , very accessible to the main road you may get a taxi or get public transport easy, near SM Lanang and Robinsons..Rooms can be comparable to the other nearby big hotels or even better because Hotel tropika is just about 2 yrs old that's why the rooms are well maintained. Our group of doctors were not able to completely tour Davao since we were tied up in the convention but definitely we will go back to Davao with family and stay again in hotel tropika!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jlmpatho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Tropika Davao
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

246 - 252 of 321 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2012

Hotel Tropika in a nutshell:

**GREAT LOCATION-- 20-25 mins drive from the airport and leading shopping centers like SM, Ayala Abreeza and Robinsons; 10-15 mins drive to Pearl Farm Marina

**SERVICE-MINDED HOTEL STAFF--- The staff really went out of their way to provide excellent service, no matter the situation... We stayed here first for one night as we were billeted at Pearl Farm over the next three days... She told us to leave some of our things so as to make our boat transfer easier... And then we were driven off to the Marina, for free!!

When we came back, we got the same room as requested. On the day of our departure, we had to leave the hotel early and I thought that we would miss our breakfast at the hotel since Cafe Aseya, their restaurant, opens at 06:30...But no, we didn't! She arranged an early breakfast for us delivered to our room at 06:00!!!

**BEST PRICE IN TOWN--- The room is big, around 25 sq m and for 2,000 PHP per night, you would never get this price anywhere else...Fridge is available and you can buy things outside with no corkage charge! Locals calls are also free... Laundry service is affordable. Water dispenser is available at your disposal.

For this price I let some things pass like the lack of elevator... And I don't really expect a swanky bathroom and shower fixture for this price.

The area where the hotel needs to improve on is the restaurant service... Food tastes good, but service is very slow... It takes around 20-25 minutes for a ham and cheese omelette to be served... In some hotels we've been to it only takes a maximum of 12 minutes..

Overall rating for the hotel itself is 5 and a 4 for the resto.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FillipoNore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed a few times at hotel Tropika and can recommend this to anyone travelling to Davao City. The proximity to both the business areas and the newly opened SM Lanang for easy shopping is so convenient!
Great staff who go out of their way to ensure your requests are taken care of, shows management has provided excellent training as well.
Rooms are actually larger than other '5 star' hotels in the area. With free wi-fi and breakfast, why go to another hotel when in Davao?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We're here last weekend (09/21-23) The location is perfect! Near the airport and Samal Island. The room and bathroom is so big, bigger than the rooms in Intercon Hotel. The staffs are so friendly! The food is so-so. Very peaceful.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chellie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Glad that we stayed in Hotel Tropika! Staff are very friendly and accommodating! Price is reasonable for a 3 star hotel. Facilities is ok, though there’s no swimming pool but that’s ok because we just go back to hotel to rest and we don’t have time to do other things. Location is also strategic, not that far from other tourist spots. There is lot of taxis in the area. We had a great time in Davao!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hero_Alimagno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

we stayed in hotel tropika for just one night. the ambience is generally relaxing and the front office/lobby personnel even the security guard are all very accommodating.

they tried their best to guide us as to where to eat or where to find cheap pasalubong deals.
and by the way, our room (205) as well as the entire area is so clean, very refreshing.

elvie andino

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MEDA0218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed for only 2 nights. Its best hotel for business trips and having quiete nights in a garden. Good food and enjoyed our durian at the garden. Very accessible and friendly staff. Very clean.. We highly recommend and definitely will stay at Hotel Tropika again!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAYDEE2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
950 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
1,152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
567 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
3.4 mi away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#10 of 52 in Davao City
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropika Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropika Davao

Address: Km. 7, J.P. Laurel Ave. | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Davao City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
Price Range: $55 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropika Davao 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropika offers 30 beautifully furnished and spacious guestrooms which have one king-size or two twin beds, fitted with pampering linens over plush pillow-top mattresses. Each has a full array of in-room amenities for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Tropika Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropika Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing