We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Tropika Davao
Ranked #5 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home away from home.”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I've been visiting Davao for work since 2005, and have stayed in most of the City's posh (not to mention expensive) hotels. On a recent trip, colleagues encouraged me to give Hotel Tropika a try and was not disappointed.

This pocket-friendly hotel is your "home away from home." The rooms are very spacious, the staff are very accommodating and would always go the extra mile. They even accommodate early check-ins at no additional fee! Woot, woot! :) The hotel is also only about a 5min cab ride to Abreeza Mall, and only a few steps away from two (2) spas.

Many thanks Hotel Tropika for taking such good care of me on all of my visits! Till my next :)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gamurallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    119
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
67
60
19
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boracay, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I think the last review was very harsh (ThomasS389 - 10/07/12). Yes, there is a problem with the Internet router, but there is a computer with Internet access in the lobby. Personally i review how the staff have been, cleanliness of the room, the food, staff going that extra mile. And in my humble opinion the staff have done that.

I lost my mobile phone in a taxi I caught at the hotel. It was expensive and I never thought I would see it again. The staff made numerous calls to track down my phone, and they got it back for me. Amazing! Now I call that going the extra mile. I was very grateful. I have no complaints against the staff.

I Have only seen the odd ant across the place (it is a hot country after all), and I have seen the odd ant in 5 star hotels as well. As for the bees I have seen them but only late at night. I have never seen bees in my hotel room. Not sure what the staff can do about them, as they could from the grounds. However, to say it is like a beehive is grossly misleading. I have walked past them and they have left me alone. They seem to be 'dozing'.

Personally, (because my fiance is from Davao), I will be coming to this hotel again in the future. I booked the hotel because of the reviews from trip Advisor and I have not been disappointed. Hotel Tropia staff thank you. Will see you when I visit Dvao again.

Cheers!

Leroy

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LJJ1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Leroy,

Thank you for your kind review and for highlighting staff efforts towards rendering good service to all our guests. We did have an internet router problem for a few days, but this has since been resolved and wifi service at that particular area of the hotel is now back to normal.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to serving you again on your next visit to Davao City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

with HOTEL TROPIKA, grandiose does not mean spending so much!

We have received a service more than what we have expected, thanks to MARGA and her TEAM! SALUTE from us! YOU made our night so SPLENDID. everyone loves the arrangement you have done for us.

To HOTEL TROPIKA, you should have more MARGA's, BOBONG's, DREW's for your team. they are so fantanstic with their duties.

from the bottom of our hearts, all praises to you guys!!!

for the restaurant team, may you have the same spirit with the TROPIKA TEAM. Please improve your service, great thing you have excellent food.

Room Tip: you ask for Ms. Marga, if you want ease with your needs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Edxel,

Thank you for trusting us to handle a most important function, and for commending our staff for their efforts. We are glad to hear that you were pleased with the arrangements, found good value for money and enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We apologize for the glitch in restaurant service and have relayed your comments to the management of Cafe Aseya.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Tropika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have booked room accommodation in this hotel last June 14-16 for our auditors and I am so happy with the services of their front desk especially to Jane & Lara. I highly commend them, they are so patient with my instructions even @ 3am, thumbs to you girls!!!

I haven't tried to stay in this hotel, but definitely, I will stay here with my kids for a leisure.

Room Tip: Avail the free one way airport transfer....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Liabella,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review and commending Jane & Lara of front office. We always aim to ensure a comfortable and restful stay for our guests, as well as a pleasant experience for everyone who comes or calls at Hotel Tropika.

We hope that one day we will have a chance to serve you personally when you visit Davao City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

One would be hard-pressed to find a hotel with the welcoming vibe of a home, a huge garden with an installation of ceramic jars that doubles as a fountain and the amenities of a well-managed hotel. And to have this hotel tucked away neatly amidst tall trees away from the noise, smog and busy-ness of the city is a real treat. And then when you are ready to go back to busy streets and everything that constitutes a city vibrant with life, the hotel is just a a hop and a skip away from JP Laurel Avenue. The staff are welcoming and so accommodating. Eating at the restaurant is a gastronomical delight. I intentionally made sure that all my meals were taken at the restaurant so I could try each and every dish. Every dish I tasted, I was absolutely pleased with. This hotel is a must-see, must-go, must-experience. Reserve ahead of time, you must. The hotel is always fully booked because word has gone around. But go and experience, you must!

Room Tip: Reserve early so you can choose rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raye B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear Raye B,

We are happy that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Tropika and thank you for your kind recommendation to other readers. We will also relay your compliments to Chef Justin of Cafe Aseya, who will surely be delighted to hear that you took pleasure in his food creations.

We look forward to welcoming your again on your next trip to Davao City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calamba, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed at Tropika for 4 days. Had a great time there. Enjoyed the peace & quiet that the hotel afforded being a few meters away from the main road which most hotels in Davao does not enjoy. Rooms are spacious, sound proofed & cleaned daily.Front desk staff are courteous, helpful & friendly, same could be said for other hotel employees. Breakfast is included in all room rates.Great WiFi connection. Amenities like a gym or a pool could make it even better. Surely i'll be stay there again whenever im in Davao & will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dexter_jardeleza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear dexter_jardeleza,

We're glad that you enjoyed the quiet surroundings of the hotel, as well as the comfort and amenities of your room. We opted out of a swimming pool because of the hotel's proximity to Davao's beautiful beaches. We instead offer guests free shuttle service to selected Samal Island resort jetties.

Thank you for appreciating the efforts of our staff. They are there to ensure your pleasant stay. Thank you too for recommending us to your friends.

We look forward to serving you again at Hotel Tropika.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

This has definitely been the best hotel I have stayed at in Davao, maybe even in Mindanao! The service was excellent, they were really patient with my numerous specifications with food as I was on the Cohen diet. On top of it all I loved the King sized bed! I slept great at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank manilagirl83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this review, June 29, 2012
Dear manilagirl83,

We are delighted by your kind remarks about Hotel Tropika, and will relay your compliments to the chef and staff of Cafe Aseya. Looking forward to serving you again on your next visit to Davao City.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.0 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#2 of 52 in Davao City
874 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
1,098 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#3 of 52 in Davao City
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#1 of 52 in Davao City
532 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Ritz Hotel At Garden Oases
3.6 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#32 of 52 in Davao City
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropika Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropika Davao

Property: Hotel Tropika Davao
Address: Km. 7, J.P. Laurel Ave. | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Davao City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropika Davao 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropika offers 30 beautifully furnished and spacious guestrooms which have one king-size or two twin beds, fitted with pampering linens over plush pillow-top mattresses. Each has a full array of in-room amenities for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Tropika Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropika Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing