We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Tropika Davao
Ranked #2 of 53 Hotels in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 6, 2012

The location is good - and the hotel rooms / grounds are very quiet for the location. Staff is very friendly, and the rooms are nice and clean.

It is a very peaceful place, which is a nice break from the loud and busy streets. I would recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avoidingthetourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear Avoidingthe tourists,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are glad that you appreciate our service and facilities, and in particular, that you enjoyed the peaceful environs of Hotel Tropika. It has always been our desire to provide a comfortable and restful stay for our guests.

Thank you too for recommending us to your friends and TA readers. We hope to be able to serve you again on your next visit to Davao City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

286 - 292 of 340 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2012

Dear Hotel Tropika,
We appreciate the friendly, efficient and accommodating staff, the free airport pickup, the clean rooms, the hand bidet in the toilet and the endless drinking water supply!

Dear Cafe Aseya,
We loved the hamonadong crispy pata and your excellent service! Thanks for being so accommodating!

We will be back!

P.S. To those who plan to use the wifi, get a room on the ground floor. :-)

Room Tip: To those who plan to use the wifi, get a room on the ground floor. :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hagios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2012

Dear hagios,

Thank you for appreciating our service at Hotel Tropika and highlighting our efforts towards ensuring a pleasant stay for all our guests. We will also relay your compliments to the chef and staff of Cafe Aseya. We look forward to welcoming you back :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

very accomadating place,room rate are affordable and the you cant asked for a friendly staff willing to help you.....the only downfall is no Wi-Fi in the room but!!! that is why your in Vacay no electronic gadget :0)

Room Tip: very roomy room,clean and specially the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iriesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Dear Iriesh D,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and for noting the glitch in our in-room wi-fi service. While we are working to fix this problem, we advise incoming guests to notify us upon check-in if they require in-room wi-fi so that we can assign them to wi-fi enabled rooms.

Nevertheless, we are glad that you had a pleasant stay and we look forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Tropika.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I was recommended about 5 hotels in Davao but opted to read comments from tripadvisor which was helpful and reliable. My family and I checked in at Hotel Tropika on March 28 and 30. Hotel is quiet and clean. It has spacious rooms with firm beds and clean and smooth bedsheets. The staff were very accommodating and were always smiling. Nothing fancy, a place where you can really have a a relaxing sleep after a tiring trip around the city. Thumbs up!!! Keep it up!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank datduy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Dear datduy,

Thank you for relying on Trip Advisor and for picking Hotel Tropika from among your 5 hotel choices in Davao. We are glad to hear that you and your family had a pleasant and relaxing stay. We hope to serve you again on your next visit to Davao City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We've been traveling to Davao three times this year and all of the hotels we stayed in which were recommended to us by friends, came up short to our basic expectations. Last month, after checking in once again in a crappy hotel, I met a friend at Davao airport and mentioned that they stayed at Tropika Hotel. He spoke good of it and was highly recommending it to us. Although skeptical due to last 3 poor hotel experiences at Davao, I booked at Tropika for our usual overnight stay. I must say that it did not only meet our expectation but somehow exceeded it in some ways. From the complimentary airport pick up to the good breakfast they served. In fact, I have booked already a rooom for our stay next month. Great job! Will definitely comeback.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Dear Cris F,

Thank you for your kind words about Hotel Tropika. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and have in fact booked a return this month.

Our staff send you their compliments and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

This is one of the better hotels in Davao Philippines. The location is good. Just down the driveway, there's a sandwich shop and a massage service center. Convenient.

Pros:
. Clean rooms
. Quiet
. Close to the airport
. Good service desk and personnel

Cons:
. No wifi in the rooms - must go to the Lobby (variable)
. Breakfast. Very oily and greasy. Got sick once.
. No fitness room or pool

Room Tip: If you need wifi in your room, confirm it w/ the front desk first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank socalguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Dear socalguru,

Thank you for your review and for considering us one of the better hotels in Davao. We appreciate your comments especially in the areas that we need to improve on. Since we are a relatively small hotel, a fitness centre and pool are not within the scope of our amenities. However, we do provide complimentary shuttle service to most Samal Island resort jetties, where a 10-minute boat ride will bring you to beautiful beaches where one can enjoy sun, sea and various water sports.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Yes, we've seen the best hotel in Davao --Hotel Tropika. Although the name wouldn't catch your attention if you're looking for a place to stay but that doesn't stop this hotel from providing excellent service.

I had the our room booked two days before our visit to Davao and it was a breeze. The phone assistant was knowledgeable and courteous. She even asked for special requests that I may have like floor preference and what not. They have free airport transfer facility from the airport to the hotel which is awesome! They'd ask you to provide your flight details though at least a day before your arrival. No down payment needed, you just have to ensure that you have your room reserved.

After we were taken from the airport, we see ourselves at the hotel lobby. I was with my father and sister and we were greeted with smiles as we enter. The receptionists were great, not to mention, beautiful, especially Yvonne and Lara. They were courteous enough to discuss with us the hotel facilities and payment details. They're also knowledgeable in terms of Davao's tourist spots. And they are ready to answer any question that you may have. You have the option to pay upon check-in or during your check-out. And to my surprise, all the requests I made during my phone reservation were there on their notes.

We were assigned on the second floor near the stairs. It's just a three-storey hotel so no need for elevators. We were escorted to our room with no worries that we have big bags to carry. We were shown how to operate the room facilities as well. The moment that we saw the room, we were all at awe! It was bigger and more spacious than we expected. Some hotels use wide-angle lenses to drive people into believing that their rooms are spacious. Hotel Tropika did otherwise. Our room was amazing, cozy and has a calming effect. It was effortless sleeping at night because the bed doesn't make noises and it's as comfortable as can be. The pillows are firm and soft and the sheets are clean.

The room has a couch, a coffee table and another extra chair. They're beside a tall lamp which is a great place to read a book. There's also a full-sized desk where you can do business with. It has ample sockets, as well, for your laptop chargers and other needs. On this desk, you'll see an LCD television with a digibox for cable. This could've been bigger, like a 32-inch or better, maybe? You'll also see a filer wherein you can read through hotel rules, facilities, restaurant menu (Aseya) and other services that they offer.

The bathroom is great too! The shower has great pressure knowing that the hot water and cold water com from two separate faucets combined at the end. They replenish toiletries everyday. Their shampoo is in a container and not on sachets. Also, they have this rule that says, if you hang your towel, it won't get changed, put it in the hamper otherwise. It is part of their drive to conserve water. They also have two tissue holders that don't get replenished until fully consumed. Cool eh?!

I was told that my room is near the router so I can enjoy mobile internet during my stay. Unfortunately, I cannot seem to connect while I'm inside the room but when I go down to the restaurant or lobby, internet connection is fast and reliable. It's a good thing I have 3G connection so I didn't bother reporting it at the front desk.

The in-house restaurant serves buffet breakfast during weekends and plated ones during weekdays. The buffet could have more options to it. They served pork tocino, scrambled eggs, fried bangus, congee, cereals, bread and butter together with coffee and watermelon juice. The next day it was the same set only that they served pork longganisa in exchange of the pork tocino. Then for the plated breakfast, they'll show you a list of available meals to choose from. Don't expect much from this list.

The hotel is approximately 100 meters from the highway. It's near establishments like massage clinics, a gas station, and Damosa Gateway if you're craving fro more food options. We didn't get to try having food delivered to our room as we have our Davao trip fully planned so we opted to eat outside all the time but as I've read, Aseya serves great meals. The hotel also have function rooms for meetings and symposiums. The hotel also has a spacious parking lot that would hold at around 20-25 cars. I was expecting a swimming pool though but it's not a requirement. They have this area that I believe would be utilized soon.

All in all, it was a great experience for me and my family! I'd recommend you guys to visit this hotel when you're in Davao! A genuine bang for the buck! What more can I say? Cheers and more power to Hotel Tropika!

Room Tip: When booking a room, during phone conversation, make sure to get the confirmation number.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexis L, Manager at Hotel Tropika Davao, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2012

Dear Mark E,

Our compliments and gratitude for your very thorough and detailed review of our property. I am sure that TA readers will appreciate the wealth of information that you have provided. Thank you too for mentioning our initiatives to conserve and protect our environment.

We are currently working to fix the glitches in our in-room wi-fi connection. Appreciate your calling our attention to this matter.

We are happy that, overall, you and your family had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to serving you again at Hotel Tropika.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
Park Inn by Radisson Davao
#1 of 53 in Davao City
998 reviews
3.1 mi away
Marco Polo Davao
Marco Polo Davao
#5 of 53 in Davao City
1,199 reviews
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 53 in Davao City
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Seda Abreeza Davao
Seda Abreeza Davao
#3 of 53 in Davao City
621 reviews
3.6 mi away
Bahay Ni Tuding Inn
Bahay Ni Tuding Inn
#8 of 53 in Davao City
86 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
The Royal Mandaya Hotel
#12 of 53 in Davao City
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tropika Davao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tropika Davao

Address: Km. 7, J.P. Laurel Ave. | Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Phone Number:
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Davao City
#5 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
#5 Best Value Hotel in Davao City
Price Range: $57 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tropika Davao 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Tropika offers 30 beautifully furnished and spacious guestrooms which have one king-size or two twin beds, fitted with pampering linens over plush pillow-top mattresses. Each has a full array of in-room amenities for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Hotel Tropika Davao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tropika Davao Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing