We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EVERYTHING IS GREAT”
Review of Blue Carabao Diner - CLOSED

Blue Carabao Diner
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Filipino
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner
Description: We wish to inform all that the Blue Carabao Diner will cease operating as of December 22/2014. We are so grateful to all who took the time to write a review of their experience while at the Blue Carabao Diner. We thank all of our great customers for help to make the Blue Carabao Diner the top Filipino Style food restaurant in Davao for many years in a row. Attention !!This business is now for sale as of June 15/14. Sold complete with all equipment,recipes,highly trained staff willing to work with new owners.Included is a four bedroom upstairs apartment with air conditioning.Price P3million FIRM,price includes business name. Reason for sale is new business venture opportunity. Hello,when you visit Davao City,do yourself a favor and visit the "Blue Carabao Diner" and treat yourself to some of the best tasting,affordable Filipino styled food in Davao City. We are an open air styled establishment that lays out our meal items banquet style or what they call "toro toro"style,meaning point at the meal item you want and a server will give you a serving of that meal. We invite you to check out our kitchen anytime before you eat in our establishment so that you can have confidence in the food we offer.Not many restaurants will make that offer,but we at the Blue Carabao Diner are proud of our kitchen and it's staff and look forward to your personal inspection. My name is Sherry Scott and i am the business owner and head cook so you are important to me and the growth of my business.If for some reason,you are unhappy with a meal,i will either replace the meal,return your money for that meal item or give you a voucher for a free meal upon your next visit to the Blue Carabao.Try finding a restaurant in Davao City that stands behind the quality of it's food like we do at the Blue Carabao Diner. Our servers wear special hairnets and serving gloves and most can speak English,but if you find it hard to communicate with a server,please request for management to answer your questions or explain meal ingredients for you.If you are a first time visitor we will be more than happy to give you a small sample of a meal before you purchase it.Or if you just have questions about Davao City or need directions to a certain location,we will be happy to look after you. My staff and i look forward to your visit and will do what we can to make your visit to the "Blue Carabao Diner" one of the highlights of your trip to Davao City.Sherry & Francis Scott 09/05/13 Please check out the Fall issue of Sizzle digital magazine pages 44 to 46 as we have been given a mention by Chef David Wasson from Seattle, Washington,USA. 05/14/13 We received our ServSafe certification for excellence in sanitation and food safety.10/2010 We where featured in the following newsletter. PCC vol 9 No 4 Newsletter cover is a picture of our 'carabao pochero'.Check out pages 3,4,5,and 19. It was a wonderful humbling and elevating experience to receive and read that magazine.All credit goes to my hard working wife and Chef extraordinaire, Sherry and our dedicated staff. I take my hat of and bow to you all.
Davao City, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“EVERYTHING IS GREAT”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My family, friends colleagues and even bosses love to eat their very delicious yet very affordable food from Blue Carabao Diner. We always wanted to taste their food all over and over and over again. some of our favorites are the Chicken Curry, Pork Binagoongan, Pork HUmba, Fish Fillet and a lot more... Everything is soooo great!

Thanks to Ate Sherry and her husband for being soooooo kind too to everyone.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yecatsmh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluecarabaoeatery, Owner at Blue Carabao Diner, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Hello,thank you so much for taking the time to put a comment on this form.We truly do appreciate your kind words.We look forward to your next visit.Thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luzon, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Come visit”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Been here! It was actually unplanned visit, When we were around Monteverde street we Notice this Fast food because its just beside the fire station we tried to eat here, at first i we were hesitant because of our budget at that time. Their is no harm on asking of how much would be each item cost. It can satisfy you hunger and different kinds dish of choice Value for money is a 5 plus star. .

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Qoy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluecarabaoeatery, Owner at Blue Carabao Diner, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our restaurant on this form. Unlike most restaurants in this city,we really do value customer comments. We are not perfect and some times we just don't get it right,but we will do our best to correct any situation that will come up.That is a promise from the Blue Carabao Diner to every customer.
We look forward to your next visit,thanx again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food Affordable”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great place for the budget concious yet food is delicious. Peter W if you are so SOSYAL you shouldnt have gone there. Go to a Five Star Hotel

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tolits09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluecarabaoeatery, Owner at Blue Carabao Diner, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your appreciation of what we strive daily to accomplish at the Blue Carabao Diner, to offer the best tasting,highest quality,most affordable,safest food in Davao City everyday.
Sure you can find a more fancy place to dine but you will be hard pressed to find the kind of quality and value you will constantly get at the Blue Carabao Diner.
Don't forget.on your next visit,to ask for a tour of our kitchen,we show it at anytime. Try and find a restaurant in Davao that will do that then ask yourself,what do they have to hide? Should i be eating here if they do not want to show me their kitchen?
Thanx again for your kind words and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

If you are looking for Buffet Style reheated food which is very cheap then look no further, as the saying goes you pay for what you get, so the location, decor, service and food suffers, sorry I prefer to pay more money and have proper restaurant cooked to order food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluecarabaoeatery, Manager at Blue Carabao Diner, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Sir,did you not read restaurant description before deciding to come to the Blue Carabao?? We give a detailed description of our restaurant and the way and style of food being served,plus we supplied many pictures so that people can make a proper decision about eating in our restaurant.But still you decide to come to the restaurant,why,what is your real motive?

Because we have been listed as one of the top 5 restaurants in Davao City for at least the last three years {letter from TripAdvisor to prove it} we are starting to draw the attention of much bigger restaurants who don't like the FACT that we can serve food far superior to what they produce at a price far below what they are charging customers, are now engaged in a smear campaign against the Blue Carabao. That's what happens when a market starts to get saturated like the restaurant business in Davao City.

Really makes no difference to us as we gained a loyal following in our last 9 years in Davao City.During that time we have seen many restaurants come and go so your obvious attempt to besmear our good reputation will fall on deaf ears.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

..the most affordable restaurant in davaO city .. excellent foods aNd clean kitchen .. perfect in every meals ..also fiLipini dishes are well cooked .


-ruzeL, RRT

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Russel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluecarabaoeatery, Public Relations Manager at Blue Carabao Diner, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you much for your kind words,it is much appreciated.

On your next visit,please visit our kitchen to see our food safety program in action. All are invited to visit our kitchen and if you notice something that concerns you,please mention it so that we can address and improve upon said situation.

Again the management and staff of the Blue Carabao Diner says,Thanx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Carabao Diner also viewed

Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing