We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Davao Carinderia”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Carabao Diner - CLOSED

Blue Carabao Diner
Price range: $1 - $5
Cuisines: Filipino, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Description: We wish to inform all that the Blue Carabao Diner will cease operating as of December 22/2014. We are so grateful to all who took the time to write a review of their experience while at the Blue Carabao Diner. We thank all of our great customers for help to make the Blue Carabao Diner the top Filipino Style food restaurant in Davao for many years in a row. Attention !!This business is now for sale as of June 15/14. Sold complete with all equipment,recipes,highly trained staff willing to work with new owners.Included is a four bedroom upstairs apartment with air conditioning.Price P3million FIRM,price includes business name. Reason for sale is new business venture opportunity. Hello,when you visit Davao City,do yourself a favor and visit the "Blue Carabao Diner" and treat yourself to some of the best tasting,affordable Filipino styled food in Davao City. We are an open air styled establishment that lays out our meal items banquet style or what they call "toro toro"style,meaning point at the meal item you want and a server will give you a serving of that meal. We invite you to check out our kitchen anytime before you eat in our establishment so that you can have confidence in the food we offer.Not many restaurants will make that offer,but we at the Blue Carabao Diner are proud of our kitchen and it's staff and look forward to your personal inspection. My name is Sherry Scott and i am the business owner and head cook so you are important to me and the growth of my business.If for some reason,you are unhappy with a meal,i will either replace the meal,return your money for that meal item or give you a voucher for a free meal upon your next visit to the Blue Carabao.Try finding a restaurant in Davao City that stands behind the quality of it's food like we do at the Blue Carabao Diner. Our servers wear special hairnets and serving gloves and most can speak English,but if you find it hard to communicate with a server,please request for management to answer your questions or explain meal ingredients for you.If you are a first time visitor we will be more than happy to give you a small sample of a meal before you purchase it.Or if you just have questions about Davao City or need directions to a certain location,we will be happy to look after you. My staff and i look forward to your visit and will do what we can to make your visit to the "Blue Carabao Diner" one of the highlights of your trip to Davao City.Sherry & Francis Scott 09/05/13 Please check out the Fall issue of Sizzle digital magazine pages 44 to 46 as we have been given a mention by Chef David Wasson from Seattle, Washington,USA. 05/14/13 We received our ServSafe certification for excellence in sanitation and food safety.10/2010 We where featured in the following newsletter. PCC vol 9 No 4 Newsletter cover is a picture of our 'carabao pochero'.Check out pages 3,4,5,and 19. It was a wonderful humbling and elevating experience to receive and read that magazine.All credit goes to my hard working wife and Chef extraordinaire, Sherry and our dedicated staff. I take my hat of and bow to you all.
Davao City, Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Davao Carinderia”
Reviewed March 31, 2012

If you are looking for a unique Davao carinderia experience without the fear of getting Hepatitis. This is the place. Its signature dish, the Carabao Bulalo (Carabao Soup) is a must try. They also serve other pinoy favorites at an affordable cost (P40-80) per order. They used to have 2 outlets one near in Sta Ana Pier and one in Obrero. But today, only the one in Sta Ana Pier remains.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheldon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluecarabaoeatery, General Manager at Blue Carabao Diner, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Thanx for your kind words,they are deeply appreciated. We take food safety very seriously at the Blue Carabao and as such,we had our restaurant inspected and received an Excellent Sanitation and Food Safety certificate from USA based ServSafe which we are extremely proud of.
We as owners know all to well the disappointment of going to a restaurant in Davao and being charged a high price for food that is unfit for human consumption. Sure they have nice pictures on the wall and fancy table settings,but that is where it end. We spend all our resources on our kitchen so that we can produce the best food possible. Comments like yours prove that our investment paid off. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    11
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davao City
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“mealtime”
Reviewed February 2, 2012

delicious food and the prices are just right. this place is best for those who are hungry and loves eating.

Helpful?
Thank jaquinne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
1 review
“its a very good restaurant in the city.”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

i can recommend this restaurant, it has a very good service. staff(s) are friendly. they cater customers in a friendly approach. regarding with the food, its delicious and fresh. to all who wants to travel here in mindanao, blue carabao is he nice place to visit i terms of food trip. you can gain more than what you've paid for. with the lowest price you can enjoy the variety of foods that they serve. i mark it very good, because if its excellent. meaning no more room for improvement. good job!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhilipWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davao City, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AWESOME”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

The food, the atmosphere, and the staffs are great! Esp. the food. Oh how I love its 'Hinalang'. It's superb!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rinjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippines
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Cheap Place to Eat”
Reviewed September 12, 2010

Local Food Only! Picnic tables, no air condition, open front, worker class clientel. NO FRILLS! The food is cheap and that is a major drawing card. The establishment is clean. The Western travel would have to be adventurerous to eat here.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank tom1941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Carabao Diner also viewed

Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
Davao City, Davao del Sur Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing