We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super Friendly and Homely Stay in Davao”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Drifters Apartel and British Bar
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Davao City
Reviewed March 14, 2012

This hotel is one of the reason that make me want to go back to Davao again. It makes me feel home, staff is so friendly, food is delicious, free wi-fi internet access in all areas, located near to the city, and I truly feel welcomed. Value for money as my room was 1350pesos per night.
The bathroom in the room I was staying is so big, I believe it can be made another room.
I rented a motorcycle from the hotel, when I stayed there. The motorcycle is clean, in superb condition and price also amazingly reasonable.
I have to mention May and Annabelle the 2 bartenders that were so friendly and helpful.
The prices of food and drinks are reasonable in the hotel, not to mention Yummy!
I truly enjoyed my stay there, and if anyone is looking for a homely like kind of stay and surroundings, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DaniTawil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drifters Davao D, Owner at Drifters Apartel and British Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

GM,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at Drifters.
Many thanks for your review and to mention the girls by name will make them very happy.
If theres anything we can do to make your next stay even more enjoyable pls get in touch.
Regards from Bert and the team at Drifters Davao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 102 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2012

I made the mistake of staying at this place. I think most travelers know how to see the reality of reviews, so, here are some things any traveler should know:

This place is not a hotel it is an Apartel – just like it says in its name. So, I have no idea why it is classified along with “Hotels” in Davao. This is especially deceptive considering all other Apartels in Davao are listed in the B&B section.

After checking in, we waited for several hours in our room for basic things to be fixed. We just kept being told that someone was coming. No one ever came.

This place is in an area extremely far away from any activities and if you are calling a taxi expect to wait a long time (one hour or more) during the day and even longer at night (two hours).

There are no nearby restaurants and the food at this place is horrible and cooked under no particular standards.

Also, I would not swim in the pool as it looked unclean with debris floating in it.
Among other things, the room was cramped and smelled like smoke. And the front window covering was old and would not close properly so we had to position luggage in front of it. The room was VERY NOISY and the noise goes on day and night e.g. dogs barking, people screaming, music playing, etc.

The building itself is very claustrophobic. The windows were dingy and offered a view of nothing except the greasy pool.

They have a bar on premises. Keep your children away from it.

Drifters also states they have a Security Guard. What they have is one guy in a white shirt who was only occasionally present and even then he was texting or talking on his cel phone when I observed him. So, if you are “secure” with that then I guess this is the place for you.

The owner is very rude and after about our third complaint were told to “go somewhere else” if we did not like the rooms. We were also told we were getting a “good deal” so “stop “whining”. This kind of behavior can often happen when the owner of a small property is answerable to no one else. Customer Service is non-existent. I also found it strange that so many positive reviews of this place go into great detail about things which no average travel could possibly know; and especially odd that they love the owner so much. How many travelers spend so much time praises the property owners?

This place is bad even for low end apart els. Stay away.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jack b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drifters Davao D, Owner at Drifters Apartel and British Bar, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2012

We wonder why people wait from Oct 2011 to March 2012 to write a reveiw?
We have no idea who you are and you certainly never complained to me and Im the owner of Drifters Davao.
There is no smoke, no smoke rules apply in Davao City. Both smoking and burning of trash!
Our BBQ in the garden is powerd by Gas not Charcole.( no smoke!)
Windows are new and in good order. Put you bags to block the window? I dont think so.
Taxis are availible by calling our staff from your room 5 min before your travel.
Many restos and shops just 10min away at Damosa / Market baskit..
Samel island resorts just 5 min away by boat.
We are in the hotels section because thats exactly where our guests put us when they write reveiws about Drifters. Davao tourist board also rate us as Hotel.
Our pool is clean and I was very happy to see one of our guests floating in the pool as I read this reveiw. He stays for 3 months each year.
Yes we do have 24 hr secuirity which most people tip for their help and service.
Once again any guest can comment on TA site, but can all the other reveiws be wrong about Drifters?
Regards Bert Baldwin.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

This is the everything hotel. Nicely landscaped (newly painted), very clean, extremely safe, large rooms w/ frig, wonderful pool, restaurant & pub, very good food, small grocery and friendly guests & staff in an upscale Davao neighborhood across the highway from the famous Waterfront Resort. All at the value price of p1350 (room s4). Food costs are the typical high hotel rates (P800/2), however, the portions are large and satisfying.
The nicely landscaped, compact pool is the key feature which gives this compact B&B a large open feeling. The pool has both a children & adult sections and a nice underwater bench for those who just want to soak. Dine next to the pool for a pleasant evening.
Quick 30min p150 taxi ride from the airport. Easy to find across the highway from the famous Waterfront Resort at the gated Nova Tierra Village, passing the less value Elena Hotel. P7 trike or P50 taxi ride into Nova Tierra to the door step of Drifters. The guard at Nova Tierra can provide your taxi driver directions into the subdivision. Drifters is walled and has its own guard.

Room S4 had a comfortable king size bed dwarfed by the huge room. The room included frig, high power A/C, cafe table, coffee, hot water boiler, bamboo chairs, writing table, resort style tiled bathroom w/ four wooden clothes cabinets. One thing you will notice at Drifters is that they always give you more than you actually need. The guard will get you a taxi anytime you need one, though you need to walk a short distance to the p7 trike rides.

Across the highway you can pick up a P30 ferry to Samal Paradise beach for a day trip. Five malls line this highway with only p8 jeepney fare. Though Davao has more than 2 million people, it is an one street (highway) town, so it is easy to find things. Go to the Crocodile Park, P100 taxi from Ayala Mall for a fun day.

Room Tip: Get Drifters Globe or Smart cell numbers by email them on their web site (<24hr response). You c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mjdztep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

The staff here is extremely rude. The place is self is just like an old house with rotten rooms for rent. The door would not lock properly. The bed was lopsided. We repeatedly asked for our broken toilet to be fixed. Smoke from outside was constantly filling our room. We asked to be moved but the staff was completely insulting. Do not stay in this garbage heap. The whole experience was a nightmare.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reviewer8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drifters Davao D, Owner at Drifters Apartel and British Bar, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2012

My advice to all our guests past and new is read the other reviews.
Regards from Drifters Davao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Drifters is a gem in an out of the way, somewhat secluded subdivision of Davao. The first thing I felt upon arrival was a sense of security, as the subdivision is gated, and non-residents must surrender their drivers license to the security shack when entering the neighborhood. Then, upon arrival to Drifters, you will notice a armed security guard in uniform posted 24 hours a day.

The security guards are friendly and helpful, and after a couple of days, I started to see their important dynamic with the other hotel staff members, but at no time does this sense of security feel overkill---it made me feel safe enough to sleep with the apartment door left unlocked.

Once inside the compound, you enter the pool area, which is surrounded with tables and a relaxing area they call ;'the garden' . It is kept immaculately clean, and for those such as myself that appreciate socializing, you can find other English speaking guests in the morning and evenings that will engage you in conversation given the chance.

The room (studio apartment actually) I had was clean and in good repair, a spacious room with king bed, full kitchen and refrigerator, and plates, pans, a rice steamer, and utensils provided for your cooking needs.

Internet is accessible free of charge using either an ethernet connection in the room, or wireless if you want. The room has an lcd tv, dvd player, and full cable tv.

My only negative observation is regarding the price of the food offered from the kitchen. The food and drinks. Meals ranged from 200 pesos to 600 pesos per plate, which is just slightly cheaper than a typicsl restaurant in the USA would charge, but II enjoy to cook

Room Tip: If you do not want or need a kitchen, let them know when you book, as lower rates are available for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GSK41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed with Bert, Marnita and their staff for six weeks recently, and I really can't praise them enough. It is like home away from home, but without the hassles. We are made to feel like family, and nothing in Davao can compare at ANY price. Since we stayed over 21 days, our cost per day was P1000 (about $23.00) Two cold aircons, great kitchenette, pool, a bed that a person over 6 ft can actually fit into, daily housekeeping, and an awesome restaurant and pub downstairs that delivers to your room free of charge.
Bert and Marnita truly care about each and every guest, and they've arranged several trips to Talicud Island with its beautiful beaches and awesome snorkeling, Like Bert and others have said, Drifters is an apartelle, not a Holiday Inn, so if you crave a more conventional, sterile environment there is always the Marco Polo at ten times the price and one tenth the atmosphere
This was our second stay with them, and we now live in Davao. We plan on visiting as often as possible and will stay there whenever possible for a short getaway. Great job guys, and thanks!

Room Tip: Only six rooms in the apartelle, and you can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rickster9LasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

another great stay at drifters APARTEL,rooms cleaned everyday,kept spotless ,pool area spotless with nice cool pool to dip into all day..got a good rate for staying over 21 days.(the normal rate is best in the area for what you get).nice fully kitted out kitchen and great food in the bar if you do not fancy cooking. all in all 5/5 again...thanks for everything bert and marnet

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank richie5817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
0 mi away
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel
#20 of 53 in Davao City
88 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#18 of 53 in Davao City
96 reviews
0 mi away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#9 of 53 in Davao City
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Red Knight Gardens
Red Knight Gardens
#34 of 53 in Davao City
55 reviews
0 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 53 in Davao City
525 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#31 of 53 in Davao City
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drifters Apartel and British Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drifters Apartel and British Bar

Address: 39 Pili Street | Nova Tierra Sub Division Lanang, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Davao City
Price Range: $17 - $32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Drifters Apartel and British Bar 1.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Drifters is a family owned hotel consisting of 7 fully fitted and serviced apartments, We can accommodate family's up to 10 persons. We are located inside Nova Tierra Village Lanang Davao City. Drifters provides free access to and from the airport and is approx 5km from Davao central. We are only 10 min away from Samel Island Ferry's. On site is the Pirates British underground Pub, serving freshly cooked traditional English / Asian foods. And of course a world wide selection of beers and wines. We can help you with travel plans both local or to any part of the Philippine Islands. We have free WIFI all over. Swimming Pool, Beer Garden. Please remember this is a family hotel. We are Pet friendly if you are Drifters friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Drifters Apartel and British Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drifters Apartel And British Bar Hotel Davao
Drifters Apartel And British Bar Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing