We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Excellent service and nice staff. Clean rooms and special art exilbits and good food.
An oasis in a busy city.
When i go back to Davao, it is here i will stay. Maybe there is no pool yet but the atmosphare weighs up. The atmosphare is very special.

Ralph

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ralph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poncesuites, General Manager at Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

We read all reviews left by our guests because we care about your experience here at Ponce Suites.
Excellence is our goal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 87 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

The artwork is worth a night to stay here. It's unbelievable. If not for the artwork, the hotel would not be rated as high.

Staff are friendly, George is great and the place has a nice vibe to it. The building is old and does need some work. Wi Fi does NOT work in all rooms and you need to go up or down stairs to get a signal. This surprises me as it’s an easy thing to fix. Not all rooms have hot water showers. You have to climb stairs to access the rooms, so be aware of this if you have ambulatory problems.

I was a bit worried about this building. If ever an emergency or fire, I can’t see how to get out quickly and it will for sure be a major hazard. Rooms are basic and do need some updating.

They do have some great discounted rooms and deals for longer stays. The roof top bar is nice, but as non drinkers we did not use it.

As others have stated, this is not far from several malls. Do NOT use the dentist that is located on the property, rates are way overpriced.

For a nice experience, even one night, stay here and get your artwork fix for the year
.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leftovertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poncesuites, General Manager at Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Since this review all our bathrooms (CR's) have been renovated and bedrooms are in the process of being re-painted (odourless paint). Our wi-fi has been upgraded and is now available in all rooms. We do have a fire escape. We value your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Ponce Suites is not at the downtown center but it is only five to seven minutes walk from Victoria Plaza Mall. The newer Abreeza Mall is a ten-minute jeepney ride away. Downtown Davao is only P8 jeepney-ride away. If you choose to go by taxi to downtown, fare should be not more than P80.00. The hotel is within a residential compound and most taxis are not familiar with the place, so you have to be familiar with its location from Victoria Plaza so you can direct the taxi driver to the place. Because it is inside a subdivision, we were spared from the noise of jeepneys and other vehicles.

What sets Ponce Suites apart from the other hotels in the city is the art of the owner’s son, Kublai Ponce Millan, which fills the entire hotel. The façade of the hotel, as well the street leading to the hotel is a grand display of Kublai’s sculptural works. Paintings and photography by Kublai adorn the walls from the ground floor up to the coffee shop at the fourth level. The walls by the stairs leading to the third floor are junk materials converted by Kublai into works of art.

Eda, the lady at the counter is warm and accommodating but the other one (I forgot her name) needs to learn to smile and make guests feel welcome. We were glad Eda manned the counter most of the time that we were there.

The rooms are huge, well-lit, and all are tastefully decorated with Kublai’s work. In the suite room which we occupied, three huge junkyard art are placed on the wall. There’s TV and, contrary to some review I read, we were not required to pay P200 as deposit for the TV remote control. There's air conditioning and our bath had a hot and cold shower. There were huge closets. There is also wifi signal in our room. No swimming pool though.

Great place to stay if you are into arts and stuffs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeyQC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poncesuites, General Manager at Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 5, 2014

Your opinions drive us on our continued journey to not only make your stay at Ponce Suites an 'unforgettable experience', but an 'unforgettably pleasant experience'.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed again in Ponce Suites for Davao’s ArawngDabaw event. Wonderful. Even more wonderful that Kublai, the artist whose paintings and sculptures make this hotel unique, is doing so well and has received commissions all over Mindanao and his hometown of Davao. In addition, to reflect the awards given to Ponce Suites by Lonely Planet, Trip Advisor and Cebu Pacific Airlines, many of the rooms have been renovated, a welcome initiative.

What else can I say about Ponce Suites that I and others have not already said? The hotel is unique, an on-going work of art created by Kublai for the benefit of us all. So if you are tired of hoi hum hotels that all blend together after awhile, the Ponce Suites is the hotel for you. If you love art, Ponce Suites is the hotel for you. If you are looking for and expecting 5 star conveniences, décor, and service, however, Ponce Suites is not the place for you, the Marco Polo is. As well, Ponce Suites is well located, a short taxi ride from all places of interest.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

This was our second stay at Ponce Suites. It’s a great place to stay while in Davao. We really enjoyed all the art work. Just the artwork alone is like being in an art museum. There are not only paintings, but lots of three dimensional wall art along with many sculptures on every floor. The Kublai Bar and Café was tasty and has good prices. All of the staff at the hotel were very nice and accommodating, even the security guards. I have to say that next time I come back to Davao I will stop by Ponce Suites for a relaxing and enjoyable time. The rooftop deck is big and has a great view over the residential area it is surrounded in. But don’t worry, Victoria Plaza and many restaurants are a close walk away- only two blocks, so coming and leaving was not difficult at all. When we had the front desk call a taxi the wait was usually about 5 to 10 minutes. So, overall with the comfort, food, rates, and very accommodating staff, I give Ponce Suites two thumbs up!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

It was my fourth time here. Amazing artwork all around you. Very affordable rates but the experience is priceless. Food is also good here.

Walking distance from the hotel is a place where you can find the BEST Durian Ice cream and candies (durian, mangosteen, and marang!).

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albert E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Ponce Suits is located in a quiet area, close to everything you need in Davao. Clean rooms, nice people and great value. Great food nearby... lecohon and bbq chicken is outstanding in this city.

The art work is out of this world!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VancouverDotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.1 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#14 of 52 in Davao City
58 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tinhat Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.4 mi away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#18 of 52 in Davao City
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 52 in Davao City
435 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#32 of 52 in Davao City
74 reviews
1.2 mi away
My Hotel
My Hotel
#25 of 52 in Davao City
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel

Address: Corner Roads 3 and 4, Dona Vicenta Village | Bajada, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Davao City
Price Range: $15 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel is a small family run hotel located in a quiet location but only a few minutes walk from the business center of Davao. With 32 rooms, this hotel offers the guest a unique experience as, as the name suggests, it is also an art gallery with artworks by the owner's son, Kublai. We also cater for seminars and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing