We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in Davao City
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I stay at this hotel from the 26th October 2012 for 14 nights what place the outstanding art work that hangs on the walls on each level of this 3 story hotel build 12 years ago it a credit to the owner and a outstanding land mark for the city of Davao and it people . Rooms are standard hotel rooms they are clean and well maintain the staff do a outstanding job in welcoming guest this was my second visit to Davao.

The dinning room is on the first floor of the Ponce suite the food is great and cheap they have room service. Ponce Suite is close to the major shopping malls with a 5 -10 mins walk from the hotel.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank AJN279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    32
    14
    3
    3
See reviews for
20
24
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
112 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Kublai Millan's head, to be exact. To say that this hotel is eclectic would be a gross understatement. Depending on your mood, the place might enlighten or depress you. But always invites more than a cursory glance. Every nook and cranny of this place, from the hotel's facade, entrance, lobby, hallways and rooftop, are festooned with every imaginable piece of artwork that Kublai has ever produced. Huge sculptured, installations, photos, bric-a-bracs, etc. Many of the artwork depicts sexual references, so kids staying here might ask awkward questions. But this is a very intruguing place to stay, certainly quite different from the usual. It invites the guest to wander around the entire hotel, closely examining the artwork. My only concern is the huge amount of labor needed to clean the place! Many of the pieces here are virtual dust magnets, so asthmatics and those with allergies beware!

Surprisingly, the guest rooms themselves are quite bare, considering everything outside, which might also be a good thing because of the dust factor. But the beds are adequate and comfortable, and I appreciate the thick glass windows that keep out a lot of outside noise. The bathroom is clean and comes equipped with a water heater. There is also free wi-fi, which is a pleasant bonus. The lobby staff is also friendly, and there a lot of foreign and local artists hanging out, and are more than willing to engage in friendly banter. No free breakfast, but the kitchen staff were very helpful, and allowed us to put some of our own food in the fridge (there was none in the room). They also helped us prepare the fruits we brought along with us, complete with plates and cutlery. Mucho appreciated!

It's near the main road, close to Victoria Plaza mall and its sumptuous restaurant row at the back (Ah Fat Restaurant is a gem). Lots of fast food and massage places nearby, and you can always hop on a jeep or cab if you want to go to Abreeza mall or to the beaches of Samal.

Don't forget to get a t-shirt with Kublai's artwork on it. Great souvenir of your stay in Davao!

Highly recommended for those you really want something vastly different from the cookie-cutter experience of the usual chain hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheShrike_inManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

My husband and I stayed here October 8 to 11, 2012. I chose this hotel based on reviews and pictures of the artwork. We have visited many countries around the world, but have never stayed in what amounts to an art gallery hotel that is filled with one man's art work.

The owners came out to greet us upon our arrival by taxi. We were given a quick background on how the artwork came about. The room assigned to us was A2, directly behind the reception area. Despite its central location, we didn't hear any noise that was distracting. There was a bit of construction/renovation going on, but it's a sign that the owners care enough to fix up the place instead of letting everything go to pot like at some other properties.

Although the room was basic (bed, table, chairs, bathroom, closet, tv), the staff was just great and very attentive. I think this has to do with Min's own philosophy of hospitality and graciousness. Before the trip, I sent an email asking about the price of breakfasts. I had received a short reply from the front desk indicating costs start at PHP 110. A few days later, Min herself sent an email to say that first email, while the content was correct, needed improvement in terms of grammar and spelling. I've never stayed at a place where the owner took a more personal interest in guests.

This hotel is located inside a residential neighborhood. The landmark to use is the ChowKing on JP Laurel street. We walked everywhere, and we particularly enjoyed the food court at the Victoria Plaza. It's an older mall, but it's authentic and does not pretend to anything it is not. Lots of local people eating local fare at a cheap price.

Ponce Suites is also close to a large massage place which offered 2.5 hours of massage for a promo price of PHP 500. Tricycle rides from the ChowKing to the hotel is only 7 pesos.

Thank you, again, to Min and your great staff for the wonderful stay. We'll be back. And more importantly, we'll tell all our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bendog2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philippines
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed at Ponce Suites for 2 nights. Room amenites were basic, as expected. It was the service that made it worth the experience. Staff were aways ready with a smile and willing to please. The owners were always on hand and played host to all the guests. The ambiance was artsy and unconventional.. Location is very accessible.you get to miss the traffic because there are many ways to reach the place. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for room not near the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maanmananzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed there three times since 2007 and love that place for it unique style. Dont expect too much from the rooms but be impressed by the rest. Some hundreds of Kublais paintings and other pieces of art decorate the whole place, not to forget the amazing roof terrace. A very friendly service provides the rest. At least stay there once when you visit Davao. Walking distance to Davao's newest mall Abreeza.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sleep00walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We came to this hotel for 3 nights. Unfortunately I had a slight mishap at the beach and injured my knee which I needed crutches.
The hotel was fantastic and really gave me the royal treatment. We were offered a ground floor room close to the pool facing the river.I was also offered a wheelchair to make it easier to get to breakfast and the street. Took the stress of us emmediately.
The hotel is simply beautiful and the grounds are lovely.
The service is definitely 5 star. Staff greet you all the time and love a chat to ask where you are from.
I would highly recommend you stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandaluyong, Philippines
Level Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I've chosen this hotel because of commendations from both Lonely Planet and Rough Guide books. The hotel management is very accomodating during booking, they have allowed me to be moved to a room with a strong wifi. I had to cancel my first reservation due to a family emergency. When I rebooked, they still granted my request a second time.

PROS:
- Excellent artwork from Kublai Millan, Mindanao's famous resident artist
- Walking distance from Victoria Plaza, Chowking, McDonald's, and Laurel street
- In-house restaurant
- Strong wifi in the lobby and nearby suites
- Helpful staff

CONS:
- The hotel has been around and some rooms look dated
- No public transport in front of the hotel (though 24/7 reception will be helpful to call a taxi for guests)

I recommend visitors to Davao to stay here at least once. My Davao trip got quite busy and I never had the chance to roam around the building but I know there's a lot to discover. I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: When booking, you can ask for a room with a strong wifi connection, usually those ones closest to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verargulla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.1 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#16 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tinhat Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.8 mi away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#11 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#5 of 52 in Davao City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#32 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#24 of 52 in Davao City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel

Property: Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel
Address: Corner Roads 3 and 4, Dona Vicenta Village | Bajada, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Davao City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel is a small family run hotel located in a quiet location but only a few minutes walk from the business center of Davao. With 32 rooms, this hotel offers the guest a unique experience as, as the name suggests, it is also an art gallery with artworks by the owner's son, Kublai. We also cater for seminars and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing