We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget-friendly, art museum and hotel rolled into one”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Davao City
Reviewed March 22, 2012

whenever someone asks me where to stay in davao, i would always recommend this hotel because of how amazing kublai millan's artworks are. the staff are also very accommodating and the owner is one of the nicest people i have ever met.

the rooms are sufficient and decorated individually. the hallways and ceilings are full of kublai's artworks and the roofdeck has an awesome view of the city and the best place to have a drink.

my favorite part of the hotel is its location. it is within walking distance from the main road (bajada) but far enough that you don't hear any road noise. it is also very near eating places and the mall. so if you need anything, you can quickly get it.

i have stayed at this hotel several times over the years.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imojen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 87 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2012

In a hospitality desert of bland beige walls and cookie cutter interior design lies this true oasis of individuality and creativity. A testament to one mans creativity this wild and wonderful hotel truly is a one off.

The rooms are adequate, the location convient and the meals filling. The service and staff are superb and really add value to this already extraordinary property.

We booked for one night and stayed for 3. A very very rare thing for me to do.

Do not miss the opportunity to stay here. If you have only a molecule of creativity in your body then you will not be able to walk away from here feeling refreshed and reinvigorated.

Room Tip: Room A3 was able to use the wifi in it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nonbg123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

After a partial nightmare flight travel of 50 hours from Europe to Davao I arrived at the PONCE SUITES UNCONVENTIONAL CENTER GALLERY HOTEL in Bajada, Davao City. A German guy advised me to try this hotel because I am historician and for his opinion this hotel would be a good experience for me. Well, the area around this hotel is populated by relatively very rich filipino families who drive expensive cars. Kublaikhan is not only the most famous designer of Davao but also part of the family who owns this hotel and make it a gallery of Kublaikhan's design arts. So there is not one boring squaremeter to find in this hotel. The manager told me that they are working to improve the catering but for my budget standard the choice of breakfast and meals is very sufficient, and it is easy to go out and walk some meters to have a spicy dinner in one of the Korean restos or a cheap meal at the Victoria Plaza Mall where I also found an ATM. On the other side of the highway at Victoria Plaza Mall you find the immigration office to extend your visa within 2 hours whenever you go there before 10 AM. Robinson's and SM City are also very nearby in just walking distance. The hotel reception is very helpful to call a cab or give advices. At the entrance area you find drinking water for free. Free WiFi available at the resto and in the neigbor rooms. The rooms are clean and standard accomodation (TV, bathroom with hot and cold water for shower, CR, towels, soap, filipino plugs to charge, phone in the room, aircon), the location of the hotel is calm and safe. Only some meters to walk and you can admire the current development of new designs by Kublaikhan. You can catch all information about this artist by reading the information about him in the resto. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I received the promo price and maximum value in this way. I paid a deposit of 1000 pesos at arrival and finally I paid it all with credit card.
I recommend this hotel for people who don't look for luxury facilities and swimming pool but a reasonably priced budget hotel room, may well be business people, couplel, singles, friends ... I would not recommend this place for families (no child friendly areas, no pool).

Room Tip: Rooms next to the resto have WIFI access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goddiejens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

This is a must-go to place when you're in Davao. The hotel is situated in a secure subdivision right smack in the middle of the city. ART is all over the hotel-- from the walls to the ceilings. It will surely leave an impact :P

Money wise, the hotel is very affordable. it's perfect for backpackers and those looking for great deals in the city. The price will cost you around 700-900? for an AC room. food serving is good too (p110 for a hearty breakfast of eggs, pork tocino, rice and ice tea). The staff will really attend to your needs to make your stay pleasant.

**PS. the local artist is Kublai Millan. If you noticed the big durian concrete statue at the airport or if you've visited Davao's People's park, you'll be seeing the same work of art by the same artist :)

No. Seriously. If you want a unique hotel experience, BOOK HERE. There's nothing like it :)

Room Tip: Check the rooms before booking :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gogo_mariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

The owner of this small hotel is a dentist using the ground floor for her office and living quarters. Her son has been working as an artist since 1998 and is both prolific and very talented. As you can see from their website the hotel is filled with his art, and also the street, the city, the airport and the new city hall in Tagum City. Talented guy!
As for the hotel, the rooms are a step up above backpacker level and only slightly more expensive. There is a variety of rooms, from no-hot-water, noisy a/c and no wifi, up to hot water with wifi and quiet a/c! You only need to ask... Wonderful, helpful, professional staff who all speak good English, good cafe on the 2nd floor serving simple meals for reasonable prices. The neighborhood is safe to walk around any time - even local kids walk on the streets at night. It is an upscale neighborhood even though you may not think so at first glance. The beds while firm are supportive and very comfortable. The rooms and bathrooms are a bit spartan but clean and bright and cheerful.
Easy walking distance to Victoria Plaza Mall - but don't go in... take a Jeepney from outside there to the new Abreeza Mall just 4 minutes away, for 8 pesos.. about 20 cents U.S.- where you'll find a wonderful Starbucks and other useful stores.
Around the corner and down the street from the hotel is the best restaurant in Davao, can't recall the name but something like Ronaldo or Bernardo... not cheap by Phil standards but gourmet food and they have a buffet every evening for 440 pesos - $11 US. It's on the same road as Victoria Plaza mall... sorry I can't be more accurate but the owner of the hotel should be able to direct you. Nearby also is a new $4m gym/sports club for those who plan to stay a while.

Room Tip: See description above....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank draggindave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

I had read about Ponce Suites from travel bloggers who stayed here. From my research about the place, it seemed like a very interesting place at the least. Reserved a room via website and within a few hours, I got an email response from Min Ponce.

The rooms are clean, air conditioner in good working condition. TAt first the TV did not seem to be connected but the The lighting can be improved, though - our room was lighted only by one flourescent light that is going dim. Friendly staff.

The hostel is nested deep within the city at the center of a bundle of winding roads, but it is well known by the locals, so take a taxi and mention the name. Better yet, have an address ready.

I don't need to tell you to explore the place -- you will feel an irresistible pull before you even see see the entrance. A "Thinker" statue contemplating atop his "throne". A big brass (?) eagle resting over the the sign bearing the hostel's name. And inside, every hallway has its own theme: pen, watercolor, chalk, "found" art, photography, mosaics, collages, aphorisms, hair (yes, hair)....

Don't forget to go up to the top floor where you can see the interesting twisted lamp posts and the lizard carved out of a log serving as an entrance to the room where the artist and his family stays. The Ponces left no space empty. Even "emptiness" is an art. And in the morning, visit the restaurant. The morning sun thru the wide windows shed quite literally a whole new light on artwork, and art appreciation.

Definitely recommended for solo travellers, backpackers and travelling with friends.

Room Tip: WiFi-accessible rooms is by request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lilytaiga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

For someone who has traveled a lot, there are few accommodations that really make an impression, an old train station in Nova Scotia; a coffeehouse in Amsterdam; a cattle station in the outback of Australia, and now the Ponce Suites.

Seriously, if you are going to be in Davao, take the reduced budget and stay in this safe and well-serviced place. Min and George are great hosts and the staff is eager to please.

If they could put some nicer chairs in the rooftop cafe, I could/would have stayed there for hours. Regardless, I doubt that you will be disappointed.

And enjoy the chicken adobo. It's top-notch!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bear_dee_arr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Davao City hotels
1.1 mi away
Alu Hotel
Alu Hotel
#14 of 53 in Davao City
59 reviews
5.4 mi away
Hotel Uno
Hotel Uno
#19 of 53 in Davao City
94 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tinhat Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Red Planet Davao
Red Planet Davao
#4 of 53 in Davao City
478 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Galleria Davao
Hotel Galleria Davao
#34 of 53 in Davao City
75 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Windows Dormitel
Green Windows Dormitel
#10 of 53 in Davao City
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel

Address: Corner Roads 3 and 4, Dona Vicenta Village | Bajada, Davao City, Mindanao 8000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Mindanao > Davao del Sur Province > Davao City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Davao City
Price Range: $15 - $25 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel is a small family run hotel located in a quiet location but only a few minutes walk from the business center of Davao. With 32 rooms, this hotel offers the guest a unique experience as, as the name suggests, it is also an art gallery with artworks by the owner's son, Kublai. We also cater for seminars and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ponce Suites Gallery Hotel Davao/Davao City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing