We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice & History Rich Local Museum just south of Tarlac, Luzon” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Aquino Center Museum

The Aquino Center Museum
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Tarlac
Attraction details
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
193 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nice & History Rich Local Museum just south of Tarlac, Luzon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Went here w/the Family on Saturday and was presented with a friendly Tour which was set up as a walk through of the years from Aquino's youth ambitions to early struggles and achievements right up to the History-Making Events of the edsa People Power Revolution which resulted from his assasination after imprisonment & exhile in america (then return). The Museum even features actual personal items from the famous Filipino and a re-created carbon copy of his prison cell featuring amenities such as weights, a bookshelf and even a typewriter and calendar documenting every important event (political or typhoon for example) during his time locked up. At the end you can see a perfectly restored VW Rabbit which was the aquino family car used in Boston, USA from '80 to '83 and later shipped over to the philippines. The museum was affordable, interesting, clean and friendly. Seemed obvious to me that it was documenting only the positive facts/propaganda that the aquino supporters & family would want you to see and the museum was a bit warm (no a/c although there are fans throughout that can be turned on during their presentation). All in all, a worthwhile Visit if you're heading through the area :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Olongapo, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a great museum of historial significance. too bad it leads to wrong dates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

is was a great museum full of historical artifacts but the placing was a bit off. the guide said you start at 1950's but the room are not clearly marked for me to follow the story. they should change the placing for the guest to understand the timeline in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tourchwoodtours_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great resource for history lessons.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I'm grateful for the preservation of Filipino history. This also has setup for conferences. The location is within walking distance from Microtel and also near Luisita Mall, where there are excellent choices for dining.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CelesteManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
191 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“history you can feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

the museum showcases photographs, newspaper and magazine clippings and personal items of the late senator ninoy and the late president cory. there is also a replica of ninoy's prison cell which gave me goosebumps. this as well as the clothes he wore when he died in the tarmac. art paintings of late president cory are also displayed. the staff actually hold her dear that they are generous with stories of how good the late president was and how very down to earth she was. it's really history you can feel especially with the stories of staff that goes with it. they also sell trendy t-shirts. there are meeting rooms and a ballroom on the other side of the museum where functions can be held.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank waget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Good Testament”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I decided to drop by the museum for a quick tour after their company event in the adjacent convention center. The admissions counter people were gracious enough to let us sign the visitor logbook and kind enough to remind that pictures are not allowed inside but allowed in the external halls. For a good glimpse of the Cory's Cojuangco family and the life story of our martyr Ninoy Aquino, this is the place to go in Tarlac. I got goosebumps when I looked at the pictures of the first EDSA People Power.... I was there :-)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JL0492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Aquino Center Museum also viewed

 
Tarlac, Tarlac Province
Tarlac, Tarlac Province
 

Been to The Aquino Center Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing