We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a great museum of historial significance. too bad it leads to wrong dates” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Aquino Center Museum

The Aquino Center Museum
Ranked #4 of 11 things to do in Tarlac
Attraction details
Olongapo, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a great museum of historial significance. too bad it leads to wrong dates”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

is was a great museum full of historical artifacts but the placing was a bit off. the guide said you start at 1950's but the room are not clearly marked for me to follow the story. they should change the placing for the guest to understand the timeline in the future.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank tourchwoodtours_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    14
    5
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great resource for history lessons.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I'm grateful for the preservation of Filipino history. This also has setup for conferences. The location is within walking distance from Microtel and also near Luisita Mall, where there are excellent choices for dining.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank CelesteManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
191 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“history you can feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

the museum showcases photographs, newspaper and magazine clippings and personal items of the late senator ninoy and the late president cory. there is also a replica of ninoy's prison cell which gave me goosebumps. this as well as the clothes he wore when he died in the tarmac. art paintings of late president cory are also displayed. the staff actually hold her dear that they are generous with stories of how good the late president was and how very down to earth she was. it's really history you can feel especially with the stories of staff that goes with it. they also sell trendy t-shirts. there are meeting rooms and a ballroom on the other side of the museum where functions can be held.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank waget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taguig City, Philippines
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Good Testament”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I decided to drop by the museum for a quick tour after their company event in the adjacent convention center. The admissions counter people were gracious enough to let us sign the visitor logbook and kind enough to remind that pictures are not allowed inside but allowed in the external halls. For a good glimpse of the Cory's Cojuangco family and the life story of our martyr Ninoy Aquino, this is the place to go in Tarlac. I got goosebumps when I looked at the pictures of the first EDSA People Power.... I was there :-)

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JL0492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
514 reviews
124 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Museum tribute to Ninoy and Corazon Aquino, catalysts for the 'People Power" movement that toppled dictator Ferdinand Marcos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I had the honor of meeting Corazon and Begnino (Ninoy) Aquino in July 1983, just a month before his murder as he exited a plane at Manila International Airport.The museum is an excellent collection of ohotos, diaries, clothing, and memorabilia from both Aquinos.

The Museum gives an excellent and interesting historic review of the lives of both Corazon and Ninoy. Ninoy was a statesman and elected official in the Philippines from age 22. He was an outspoken critic of Marshall law and Marcos' dictatorship. Ninoy's murder, still unsolved, sparked the 'People Power' revolution resulting in the removal and exile of Marcos.

Highlighed in the museum are his murder (with graphic photos, and his blood stained clothing), outpouring of support from the people, and the subsequent presidency of Corazon.

The museum is located in Tarlac, about 2.5 hours north of Manila. It's on the way to Baguio City, the mountain city. Its worth seeing to bear witness to how 2 people can change the course of a nation's history and topple a murderous dictatorship.

Helpful?
2 Thank DrKatieRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Aquino Center Museum also viewed

 
Tarlac, Tarlac Province
Tarlac, Tarlac Province
 

Been to The Aquino Center Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing