We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting, if overly quirky, floating restaurant”
Review of Isdaan

Isdaan
Ranked #25 of 47 Restaurants in Tarlac
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Filipino
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Interesting, if overly quirky, floating restaurant”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Isdaan is a floating restaurant consisting of bamboo cabanas on rafts. Throughout the extensive site run a number of concrete pathways between the rafts and a number of other attractions.

There's a good fun atmosphere - you might be greeted by circus performers at the gate and you can win free fish if you play a couple of skill games. There's a stall where you can throw crockery at a wall (for a small fee) to relieve your stress levels. Possibly the decoration is a bit *too* tacky and wacky - as well as some nice architectural features, there's also some weird Disney-esque features that don't really suit the place. If you're looking for a fish restaurant that has an 18-foot fibreglass statue of the Angry Birds, you've found it.

Kids are well catered for. There was a free face painter available, as well as balloons and free fish food so that they can feed the koi that swim around every cabin. Youngsters are also supplied with life jackets, which is reassuring in a country not known for its health and safety!

Service is not the fastest but it's a large site with a complex network of kitchens, bars and preparation areas so you need to show a little more patience than the average restaurant.

We had no complaints about the quality or preparation of the wide variety of meat and fish dishes we had. The service and tipping policies were very fair and clear.

There's only two minor complaints: there's the obligatory singing groups that go around the restaurant - one is fine but when the second or third group come around you feel it's an imposition. And good luck deciphering the bundle of papers that passes as your bill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_babbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    46
    45
    17
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Manila
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“You pay for the place, not the food. No fish available during our visit.”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Last time I ate here maybe 4 years ago, the food was nice. Servings are big, and i'd say value for money. Now. it seems a lot has changed. We arrived there Friday 8:30PM after a 5-hr drive from Manila, there was not much customer at that time, but no one entertained us. We had to approach a food attendant to get us seated. When it's time to order our food, the waiter told us that they run out of Fish. Isdaan (Seafood Restaurant) ran out of fish. There were many fishes in the pond so we were surprised when the waiter told us that their fish menu are not available anymore. We ordered pork and fried chicken instead. Price for each if I remember are at P400+ which is just good for 2 I believe. Nothing special in my opinion. I believe it has been commercialized too much that they lose quality.

You pay for the place and not the food. At night, the place is worthless because you won't be able to take photos of the place because it's dark. Recommend going there before lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Allan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“nice place for photo op”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

we've been here last week because i've been seeing this place every time we go up north but never had the chance to visit, so last week, we went, finally!

likes:
huge statues, feels like you're in thailand :-)
other statues (like sleeping guard, cartoon characters, even erap, obama and michelle, madam cory)
overall, nice theme park
waiters and staff - attentive, they always greet you "mabuhay" as you explore the area.
parking attendants - accommodating and alert, even had the concern of telling us our tires might be needed some air.

neutral -
food - i like their shrimp curry but i found that almost all the dishes are too oily. (pinakbet, curry, adobo rice swimming in oil)

dislikes:
singing group - i want to eat in peace :-) one song is okay. that's enough. BUT one of the group kept on singing even if we showed disinterest. PLUS, PLUS, obviously waiting for a TIP!

Tipping issues - they had that framed notice with regards to tipping as a gift ---- blah, blah, blah. for me, it's like you're forcing the customer to leave some tip. yes we do, as always, but that notice left me a bad taste. (pero nag-tip pa rin kami. old habits are had to break, hehe)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pablita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The food is so awful as well as the service...”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We were so excited to go to the place and we kinda xpected that the food is good as their place is but they let us wait for almost an hour for our food but when they serve it the fish were so cold and the barbeque..the bulalo soup en the meat part they served looks like it was just reheated several times...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank myMattheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
138 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good taste, Great Experience”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

I wanted to go this restaurant ever since. We arrived at lunch time so we need to wait for the table s to be vacant. One thing good about this place is it has a park and a zoo. We opted to feed the fishes while waiting for our turn. We also roam around to take pictures with the life sized statues and well known Filipino icons. the place feels like i am touring around Asia. I also got a chance to throw my hear away with "tacsiapo" (a mode of anger management. lol). their food is good very Filipino cuisine. thumbs up with this place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeng14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Isdaan also viewed

Tarlac, Tarlac Province
 
Tarlac, Tarlac Province
Tarlac, Tarlac Province
 

Been to Isdaan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing