We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much more then a feet in the water meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Escudero Resort
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Pablo City
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Much more then a feet in the water meal”
Reviewed February 7, 2012

It is not cheap but it was worth the money. We also had the meal with our feet in the water but for me it was not the (only) highlight. This place is a piece of history and if you take time for a tour you can see the housing area of the staff families, the church of the residents, the concert hall and the wedding chapel but also the former school building which is falling apart now. A highlight is also the museum, packed with items collected for years by the owners. We also watched a show of how coconuts are harvested and processed further. The whole plantation area is nice like a garden and maintained very well. There is even a hotel by we didn’t stay there. Finally, the Villa Escudero is a destination to learn and enjoy on your trip in Manila’s South.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    105
    43
    9
    3
See reviews for
128
24
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We only spent one night here but I wish we would have stayed longer. The garden cabanas are very quaint and spacious. No a/c but you really don't need it.

We too did the bamboo rafting and bought bamboo poles for dock fishing. A really fun and unique activity.

The lunch under the waterfall is a cool experience but really, really crowded and loud. The kids had a great time chasing fish in the water.

The grounds themselves are spacious and well maintained and we took many nice walks. The buffet food wasn't great but not terrible either.

On our way out we took a side jaunt to the village where the workers all live; it was lovely and a little oasis itself. There's a beautiful church there that you should definitely see if you're into that.

Room Tip: The bungalows over the water look amazing. We didn't stay in one but we will next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

i was so lucky to find this place especially now that I havent been to the phillipines for more than a decade. The filipino hospitality and the ambiance made me realized I miss my country a lot. What I cant understand are pinoys who didnt read in the internet what villa escudero can offer then whine a lot and cry like a baby lol, hey man grow up! Before u go somewhere read the website first ok. At least u learned a lesson. Be prepared next time.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank gitara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

We (Family with one 3 year old) needed to kill a day whilst in Manila. I had found this Resort whilst searching on the internet. It takes approx 2.5 hours drive from Mall of Asia along the SLEX (Express). We left the hotel around 6:40 am to beat the traffic. Our new hire car with driver soon had us their althought the traffic once off the expressway bogs down to a crawl.

Upon arrival you need to checkin at the day tour reception area. Speedy processing & a free iced tea drink. All instructions are issued verbally in Tagalog. Would be nice to get a phamplet or leaflet in english explaining how things work with some maps of where to go & what to see whilst at the resort....I'd even pay for for a little souvenir booklet for the trip.
To get around you sort of follow other people & ask questions of the staff.

First stop was the Museum....as it's sort of right near the resort entry point. NOTE..children under 7 are not permitted entry...not even if carried nursed by their parents. So if you are a family with children under 7 one parent has to occupy the small child while the other parent browses the museum. There is a small, but run down, playground area to the left of the museum for this purpose. You could spend days looking at all the stuff in the museum...just so much to see...that it spoils it that the family has to be split...makes the parent in the museum sort of hurry through. Would also be nice to buy a tour guide book for the museum with some detail on the exhibits. Very few of the exhibits have description signs so it's left to your imagination as to what they are.

Next stop the free Carabao ride to the pool/lunch area. No signs on when the rides leave though so you sort of wait until one is departing on hop aboard. Nice ride serenaded by some singing instrument playing staff. Our Carabao was a pink (I think albino) one. Very docile. Nice ride. Once at the ride stop you hop off & sort of guess where to go or what to do...or ask questions. We went to the falls area...very nice but a bit spoilt by the strong hum of the nearby diesel generator. Sort of funny to hear a loud diesel generator right under the old (but not working) hydro electric turbines. Pity they can't restore the hydro electric turbines...would add to the nostalgia.

Whilst exploring the falls you notice the tables in the water & what seems like some food being cooked on the side. It turned out this was the lunch area (no signs saying this though). Whilst in the falls area people started scrambling to the food cooking area...seems like lunch was to be served. We followed the flock & had lunch. Very nice & abundant food..baked fish..chicked, salads, beef, & dessert (inc endless supplies of banannaque).
Beverages...no coffee/tea or diet softdrinks. Free drinking water, alcohol for purchase. Hundreds of coconuts around...all piled near the various beverage area's...so I thought I'll have a nice fresh buko juice. Sorry...we don't have any instruments to open the coconuts. So I stuck to the water rather than the sugar water softdrinks.

Lunch finishes...I ate too much :(. So what next??? My wife overheard sometning about river canoe rides....so we go up to the pool area & ask. Yes you can do river raft rides...BUT children under 7 can't go on the rides...so not wanting to split the family again we decided to play in the pool area...and yes amazingly children under 7 can go in the smaller pools.

But before enjoying the pool we thought we would explore the rest of the area....especially the accomodation area as we might be interested in an overnight stay next holiday. So no signs say you can't we do a bit of exploring. The waterside units looks very nice. Once was vacated & in the process of being cleaned so we peer in from the entrance door. Very nice deck & hammock overlooking the water. Seems sleeping areas are up top. Wonder if they are airconditioned?? So we ask a staff member we see a little later. Yes the waterside units are.
Yes this would be a place I would definately consider next holiday.
We explore the grounds a bit more & then head back to the pool area.

By this time being a caffine addict we ask were I could get a tea or a coffee. Yes no problem...I can get one in the coffee shop. I have my fresh coffee & then want to sue the male comfort room. I find one...but the door is locked. Someone comes running...sorry sir...it's broken...you can use one in the pool area.

After some time in the pool we decide we might head back to manila so we go back to the carabao ride area to catch a ride back. 20 or 30 people are waiting so we sit & wait. about 15 minutes later an electric buggy ride turns up & collects some people & heads off. We could not fit on so we continued waiting. Another 5 or 10 minutes later a carabao ride turns up so we pile on. My wife overhears that this is not going back but on to the folk dance show at 2 pm. What folk dance show?? No one had told us about this - would be nice to be handed a schedule of activites when paying the entrance fee. We decide we don't want to go to the folk dance show so thinking all the electric & carabao rides would be going only to there we decide to walk back to the entrance. We see the electric ride speed past seemingly heading back but are unable to flag it down. Luckily the guard sees our plight & stops the ride. We hop on & return to the starting point.

At various times you see what seems a professional photographer around taking shots of the tourists (including us). I imagine you can buy the shots later when you leave but who knows...no one tells you how it all works...not even the photographer.

My summing up...very nice...just enjoyed the lunch...feet dangling in the cool flowing water. Supply some optional schedule of activities, museum guides...a bit more maintenance...some of the gardens & lawns are run down. Maybe even a paid child minding for the under 7 children at the museum or river rafting area.

I look forward to do a review of the accomodation next holiday

Room Tip: only did a day trip
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank SamarTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binan City, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2011

I think it needs to add some swimming pools. Slides can't be utilize (don't know why). But apart from that, all things there are so good. A premier destination for relaxation.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days. It is a bit uncharacteristic of us considering this place is isolated, but it was fabulous if you want to get away and relax. You have options for some activities like rafting on the water, carabao (water buffalo) cart ride around the grounds, cultural show (which was very well done!), museum tour, swimming etc. We liked to just relax in the coffee shop by the river and drink REAL coffee and use free wifi and just watch the abundant bird life. I really liked eating our lunch at the waterfall with our bare feet submerged in the cool water. For us it was a unique experience that we enjoyed a lot and made our lunch memorable. Overall ALL the staff was extremely friendly, courteous, polite and welcoming. We stayed in a non airconditioned unit but the fans were adequate to cool us off. We slept well. We even met some of the owners Mrs. Escudero and Carmela who were super friendly and ulta accomodating. They provided us knowledgeable staff to help accomodate our natural history interests. Overall a wonderful place to get away from the hustle and bustle of Manila!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Naturegirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pasay, philippines
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

If you are on a tight budget and could not afford Hidden Valley, then Villa Escudero is a place to go. Be serenaded while taking a tour on a carabao cart and see the century old museum. Take a splunge in their pool and have a buffet lunch on the running water beside a mini dam. Watch the cultural show before going home. Overall, this is a good place to have a day tour with your family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickyrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pablo City
4.6 mi away
Auravel Grande Hotel and Resort
Auravel Grande Hotel and Resort
#2 of 2 in San Pablo City
24 reviews
9.3 mi away
The Suites at Mount Malarayat
16.5 mi away
Sol Y Viento Mountain Hot Springs Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
The Farm at San Benito
The Farm at San Benito
#1 of 7 in Lipa City
380 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Palmera Hotel
#2 of 4 in San Pablo City
1 reviews
6.0 mi away
Casa de Obando B&B at Sulyap Gallery Cafe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Escudero Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Escudero Resort

Property: Villa Escudero Resort
Address: Pan-Philippine Highway, San Pablo City, Luzon 4000, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Laguna Province > San Pablo City
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Pablo City
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Villa Escudero Hotel San Pablo City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing