We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet in the Middle of the City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Casa San Pablo B & B
Reviewed May 3, 2013

After a day of bamboo rafting at Lake Pandin and Lake Yambo, shopping on the last day of "Tsinelas" Festival and dining at Arabella Italian Restaurant at Liliw, Laguna, then touring the nearby Sulyap Art Gallery and Restaurant, my husband and I together with my son and daughter retired at Casa San Pablo where we were booked for an overnight stay. At P1,700/head promo rate, Room 2 had a queen size bed, three single beds beside it and two single beds in the attic. For big groups, it has a door that connects the room to another room of the same size with a separate entrance and bathroom. Matchbox cars mounted on the walls reminded my husband and son of childhood days. I like the interiors and the furniture for their rustic and antique feature. The TV, air-conditioning unit, and wifi service provided relaxation options after a tiring day of touring the city and nearby areas. I enjoy the warm water in the two swimming pools up to early evening. Casa San Pablo is a wide, private family compound with bed and breakfast accommodations. The ancestral home sits in the middle of the property and a bike trail leads you to vacation homes of other family members built with wide open lawns under tall trees and far from the guest rooms. An early morning walk in this part of the resort brought back memories of un-fenced houses we saw during our vacation in the US. Our package included dinner, lunch and breakfast and since the whole family have started to diet, a full meal served at breakfast with crispy fried 'biya' and tablea chocolate drink, among others, was more than what we needed. There is one truly EXCELLENT SERVICE that really struck us: the owner Mr. Boots gave us a super-detailed road instructions on how to get to worth-going-to-places around the vicinity such as Ugo Bigyan Pottery in Tiaong, Quezon including but not limited to landmarks and distance by kilometers from one place to another. For tourists and guests who really want to maximize their vacation time, Casa San Pablo gave us not only comfort and fun, but also our money's worth.

Room Tip: If you wish complete privacy, ask for the rooms far from the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pnaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 136 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

I first visited San Pablo about three years ago for work, and at first actually confused the province with the much nearer San Pedro Laguna, an oversight that nearly caused me to be late for my appointment. Anyway, I was struck by the simple beauty of the city and as a result, when my wife asked me where I'd like to spend the Holy Week with our kids, San Pablo was very high on my list. We did a quick Google-search of places to stay at Casa San Pablo showed up as, far and away, the best-reviewed by its visitors. We basically built a whole trip around our going there, visiting twelve churches between Maundy Thursday and Good Friday, all in the Rizal/Laguna area, and finally ending up in CSP on Saturday morning.

And boy, was it worth the trip! The pictures on the internet painting a pretty promising picture, but even they did not give the place justice. We stayed in room 18, a loft type room in which we and our three kids fit quite comfortably, with room to spare. Air-conditioning units on both floors ensured that we were well-insulated from the summer heat outside, and there was even a nice veranda to go with our mini-cottage.

What really struck me, though, was the personality of the place, so to speak. Our room was lined with posters of various pop-culture events, and sparingly but very tastefully decorated. If I may nitpick just a little I think it could have used a little more storage space, as our bags spent most of the time bunched up on the floor due to the absence of a closet to put them in, but apart from that the room was wonderfully comfortable, and with cable TV to keep us occupied we were more than happy with it.

Even better, though, was the fact that we didn't exactly spend all of our time in the room; the meticulously kept grounds, along which several hammocks are strewn, were simply beautiful, and the kid-friendly pool near the entrance of the resort was very inviting as well; the kids and I spent several hours there on two separate days! The food was very good, with a wonderful home-cooked vibe to it, and the servings were very, very generous.

Easily the highlight of the stay was the very personable, approachable staff, from the receptionist to the owners, Boots and An Alcantara, who walked up just about every guest in the place, including us, to ask us how we liked it. It is worth noting that the place was packed that weekend, so they had quite a lot of people to approach. That they took the time and effort to do so is testimony to their dedication to the comfort of their guests. That alone is worth five stars, but fortunately there was so much more to this place than that.

CSP also offered tours of San Pablo's seven lakes, of which my family and I have only seen one (Sampaloc Lake), but due to time constraints we were not able to avail of that particular perk. The good thing is, it's now something we can look forward to on our next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed at Room 18, and in terms of spaciousness, it's quite hard to beat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JimArroyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An A, Owner at Casa San Pablo B & B, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Casa San Pablo and for encouraging other people to come. I distinctly remember the time we spent chatting with you and your wonderful family over dinner. I appreciate your sharing with me the highlights of your trip to Sampaloc Lake. I also enjoyed having your boy play with our son and your kids participating so eagerly in the Easter Egg hunt. We look forward to seeing your family again and again in the future, especially when the new addition to your family arrives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our family stayed overnight for the Easter weekend and we were happy at Casa San Pablo. It wasn't perfect but it was good enough for our short stay. We had lunch-dinner-breakfast included in our package and the food was delicious. Although at times we feel that it wasn't enough to fill our tummy...esp. that food bought outside is not allowed and their snack menu is limited. Nevertheless the food was fine. We stayed in a family room and we have individual single beds. The room was spacious and bath had two separate shower/toilet (total 4)...However, the drain of both showers were not working properly, it kind of flooded the shower areas. We called someone to fix it but it wasn't entirely fixed as the shower areas were again flooded till we checked-out. At any rate, it was a comfortable family room. The ambiance is really a telling-point. It's a home away from home. Casa San Pablo was laid back, relaxing and refreshing. It had the perfect native touch, hammocks, tall trees, swimming pool, lots of wooden furnishings and friendly people. The entire staff was helpful and accommodating. We will definitely come back and hope to stay longer.

Room Tip: confirm room availability before depositing if you're with family, stay at either room 16 or 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An A, Owner at Casa San Pablo B & B, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback. Upon reading your review, we acted quickly on your concerns about the amount of food and the drainage in your room. It is unfortunate that we didn't fully satisfy your appetite but we do hope you enjoyed the flavors of our cuisine cooked in traditional Laguna style. Our staff has acted on your report about the drain and the clog has been removed. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Nice place with hands-on inn-keepers and helpful staff.

Rooms - Each room has its unique artsy/rustic theme w/ cable tv, air-conditioning, and shower with heater. We stayed at room #5, which is big enough for 2 persons. Guests are also reminded to bring their own toiletries (clean towels and toilet paper available) Downsides:
Bugs enter the bathroom's exhaust fan when it's turned off, so you have to leave the bathroom lights and exhaust fan on during your entire stay. Water pressure is weak in the shower, and it takes about 2-3 mins before shower head dispenses warm water. Air-conditioning's thermostat seems not functioning, so it can get really freezing at night.

Food - We availed full board meals, since bringing in food and snacks is not allowed. They serve Filipino home-cooked meals ("lutong bahay"). The food was okay, nothing special. Serving size, however, is HUMONGOUS! I had to force-feed myself because I couldn't stand the thought of food esp rice going to waste. My suggestion to the inn-keepers, serve smaller meals for lunch and dinner, and serve native snacks like sotanghon, pansit, and kakanin in between. Anyway, thank you for leche flan and ube. It was really good!

Facilities -
Dining area is air-conditioned and equipped with wi-fi. Its interiors are very well done. The garden/lawn is well-manicured. A gazebo is built for weddings and other special occasions. The conference rooms are spacious and cozy enough for mini-workshops. There are two swimming pools - one for kids and another one for adults. The one for adults was only 3-4 feet deep. Also, I'm not sure what the pool's flooring is made of. It felt like it would peel off anytime. It just wasn't well-maintained.

Activities - The inn-keepers seem really passionate about San Pablo's culture and history. They want their guests to become more culture-savvy by offering half-day workshops in native cooking, pottery, terracotta doll-making, etc. They update their website and Facebook fan page with upcoming activities. Corresponding workshop fees apply.

Service - Service was very good. Coleen, the receptionist, was always willing to help.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sleepyhead29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An A, Owner at Casa San Pablo B & B, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Casa San Pablo. You are right: we are passionate about San Pablo's food, crafts, and culture. It comforts us to know that you picked up on the vibe.

We will immediately act on your feedback and we apologize for the inconvenience to you. We were fully-booked on the weekend you were with us and this weakened the water pressure through out the inn. We are now preparing to install another water tank in anticipation of peak season demands for water.

We look forward to playing host to you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

this place will give a very provincial feel and serenity. lots of green and awesome food. the garden was relaxing with its hammock under the trees and cool breeze that can make you sleep. the kids enjoyed the free bike that they can use. the resto was sorrounded with arts and its nice to look around

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladytee808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to celebrate our 8th anniversary when we found casa san pablo in the internet. It was very easy to book for a stay because mam angelica was very accomodating. The place was 2hrs away from manila. It was easy to find since it is near the highway.

When we arrived, a staff greeted us at the gate and we were escorted to the reception lobby. Immediately I thought that the place looks great. It was like a paradise escape from the city.

We stayed at room 7. Even though the website and ms angelica informed us that the bed was a bit small for a couple, it was actually perfect. It looks bigger than what they described. The bathroom was clean and the hot shower was working. I only notice a minor problem in the room... At the other side of our room is room 5. There seems to be water leaking from the adjacent room going inside our room but it did not bother us because overall the room was perfect plus all of the decoration added to that lasting ambience.

We ate our lunch at the dinning hall with the other guest. We were really satisfied with the food because it totally blew away our expectations. The food was plenty and it tastes good too.

We then decided to take a quick tour of the place and take some pictures as souvineers.After our quick break ,we then took the opportunity to swim on the two large pools near the bridge. The pool was clean and it did not have that nasty clorine smell in it either.

Overall we find casa san pablo a great place to stay especially for couples who are looking for a praceful place to be romantic. The staffs and security are very approachable. We will definitely comeback again next time.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gino M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An A, Owner at Casa San Pablo B & B, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We are happy to know that our food exceeded your expectations and that you found the room to your liking. We will act on your concerns on the leak you detected. It should be quite easy to remedy. Please do give yourself another romantic break with us — soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Staying in Casa San Pablo is like meeting up with your old high school or college friends you only get to see once in a while but when you do it's very easy to pick up from where you left of. There is a feeling of familiarity and of being comfortably home. Casa San Pablo is unpretentious and the atmosphere is very relaxed. There is nothing flashy about the food or accommodations but that is definitely part of Casa San Pablo's charm. After all, would one associate the words "flashy" and "pretentious" with "home"? Staying in Casa San Pablo gives one the space to bask in just the right amount of art and creativity, nature, storytelling/story sharing, and reflection.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Pablo City
1.2 mi away
Auravel Grande Hotel and Resort
Auravel Grande Hotel and Resort
#2 of 2 in San Pablo City
24 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Suites at Mount Malarayat
21.7 mi away
View Park Hotel
View Park Hotel
#3 of 27 in Tagaytay
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Casa de Obando B&B at Sulyap Gallery Cafe
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Casa Palmera Hotel
#2 of 4 in San Pablo City
1 reviews
12.3 mi away
The Farm at San Benito
The Farm at San Benito
#1 of 7 in Lipa City
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa San Pablo B & B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa San Pablo B & B

Address: Brgy San Roque, San Pablo City, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Calabarzon Region > Laguna Province > San Pablo City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in San Pablo City
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa San Pablo is a bed & breakfast at the heart of San Pablo City, Laguna. It is run by innkeepers devoted to making you experience the hospitality, warmth, and creativity of their hometown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Casa San Pablo B & B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing