We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury at its finest”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I have never been to Santorini but the blue-white themed resort together with the alluring bluish seawater - they all made me feel like I went to that mediterranean land... Our summer company outing was held there last April and after a 5-hour drive from Manila, we were pleased to be greeted with hot towels and cooling lemon grass tea. Our rooms were very clean and everything was very luxurious. There was also an electric kettle for hot drinks anytime you wish to drink. Each room has a veranda which could be a very good venue to watch sunset (romantic indeed). The rooms were cleaned everyday. Basic toiletries were also available. The food served at the buffet was great. The staff were also very attentive and of great help. Just a tip: basic Ilocano would be a little advantage for some favor from the staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babykoala79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 440 reviews

Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

highly recommended though rooms are pricey but it is complete package staffs are great .. but just beware of the food prices a little bit expensive .. the beach is awesome experience u could see live crabs lurking in the rocks.. pool is great not so much chlorinated but very well clean.. staffs smile all the way of ure stay .. they have a free bike ride that you could use for you too roam around the area

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fayblife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Thunderbird Resorts in Poro Point La Union is a dream crossing over the realms of reality. One would not afford to shut any of his sense from sunrise to dusk. The horizon from the veranda of my room burst with hues of lavender to sky blue to gold as morning slowly breaks in. The lovely sunrise view harmonized with the soft sound of rolling waves and early morning chirps plus that fresh sea breeze smoothly blowing onto my skin is my one perfect wake-up call.

What I truly appreciate about the resort is how it was constructed. The resort is respectful of its geographical location; across from the hotel rooms is an untouched coral sanctuary. The construction of the hotel was made in utmost reverence to the ‘cliff’ terrain of the property. A short walk from the hotel is an exclusive beach cove made available for Thunderbird Resort guests who wish to swim at the world-renowned La Union coastline. Their resort cove assures hotel guests of privacy and security. Van transfer is made available for those who want to be transferred to and from the hotel.

Every room is designed to give comfort and delight to its guests. Huge beds, surprise chocolates and fruits, lounge chairs inside the bedroom and at the veranda and a huge TV are some of the unique amenities of the resort.

Sunset is perfect at Thunderbird Resorts; orange turning into dark blue till it finally succumbs into the blackness of the night sky. Breath-taking and superb, the horizon serves as a huge canvass of changing hues brushed by every passing minute.

For guests who still want to take a dip after sunset, the resort pool is available. It is spacious and warm, perfect for night swimming.

What makes Thunderbird Resorts in Poro Point extra special is its people. As soon as guests enter the room, front desk staff would call and ask how guests are checked in, and even days after check-out, guests receive personal thank you notes for their stay. The staff exudes that authentic Ilocano warmth and hospitality. City-dwellers who want a perfect getaway go back to provinces because of the old Filipino classic warmth; Thunderbird Resort staff gives its guests exactly that, authentic and truly homey.

Wake up to your best dream ever… visit Thunderbird Resorts in Poro Point La Union.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Babette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

There's not a word to express how i really impressed with the beauty of the Resort though it was really my first time to stay in a Hotel/Resort. It may be Expensive as they may say but i guess that Customer Service i experienced w/ them pays it off. They are soo welcoming and u won't feel a bit strange in u. The overlooking sea adds to the beauty of the room. But of course there will always have an obstacle in any Business as i overlook the construction being undergone near the room where i stayed also the shower heater that never functioned during our stay. Nevertheless, I consider this place as one of the Romantic Place i've ever been (referring to the Beach part :) Hope to come back sooooon....


I don't have idea about the pricing because it's a Tour package..Anyways, Thank you THUNDERBIRD for the wonderful Experience. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lirpa06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

On our first time to stay here for just one night, we found the place quite charming and the staff were very accommodating and attentive. Sadly, that was four to five years ago and a lot has changed during those years.

Just last month, we stayed for 6 days and 4 nights. The front desk staff were very friendly and courteous. Reservations were handled flawlessly. The welcome drink of lemongrass teas proved refreshing after a long drive from Manila.

Each day we stayed, their gardeners and housekeeping staff greeted us with a warm smile.

Now comes the sad parts.

Every night, I would be awakened from insect bites inside an AIR-CONDITIONED ROOM! I guess they just don't regularly do pest control maintenance.

Having your food delivered to the room was a nightmare. Our pizza arrived on time but forgot to bring salt and pepper. It took 3 phone calls and almost 20 minutes, for the items to be delivered when in fact, it was just a 3 minute walk from the resto to our room. If they told us to pick up the salt and pepper, we really wouldn't mind at all, but they told us that it was being prioritized so we waited. By the time the items were delivered, the oven baked pizza got cold. Having it reheated in their brick oven was out of the question since it might take another half hour.

On one morning, we were walking along a concrete path. Little did we know that such path were not allowed to walk on, even if you are a hotel guest. What we found offensive was that, in less than 200 meters from where we stood was the resort's guard post, and their security guard was yelling at us to get the hell out of the path....and i mean he was yelling out loud when he could just have approached us and told us in a very nice and calm manner!

I just wish they have something like park benches scattered so if one feels like communing with nature, all you have to do is sit and relax.

On another morning while resting after eating breakfast, two of their waiters were standing beside our table like vultures, waiting for us to leave so they could clean our table. This was just around 930am and there were several other table that needed to be cleared. We just found it annoying that they were just standing there waiting for us to leave.

Since we stayed for almost a week, breakfast choices never changed. It was the same thing for 5 mornings.

It rained on our last day of stay so after breakfast, we just rested for next day's long drive. A lot of the floor area within the hotel got wet from the rain. We noticed that they lacked handrails along the path so we had to be careful when we walked. Even in the staircase, handrails should be on both sides of the wall for safety reasons.

Now the good points.

Their pool was very clean, the pool staff were also very courteous.

They have bikes which are rent free and all you have to do is log in your name and room number.

For a short walk, you can go down the beach area but since the current was very strong, we did not stay that long.

Sunset views is spectacular especially if you are into photography.

Checking out was a breeze, just like checking in.

Most of the times, it is the little things that seem to count most that would make or break a good hotel.

Room Tip: There are no lifts or escalators so if you are travelling with a senior citizen or would have a hard...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank jojowtan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2013

Good day Jojo 1440,

Greetings from Thunderbird Resorts - Poro Point

I would like first to thank you for giving us your constructive feedback with regards to your last visit here in Poro. I'm very glad to hear your highly appreciation with my Front Office Staff.

My sincerest apologies for your disappointment with your experience from our Room Service and to our Restaurant. Rest assured that I have discussed this matter already with my Senior F&B Manager and to his team. We do value your comments for us to learn our short comings in serving our guests.

The concrete path way that you have mentioned is part of our Golf Course, I was informed that they were calling your attention because for safety reason as one of the golfer was about to hit the ball. I'm very disappointed the way they handled the situation especially on how they called your attention. Appropriate action has been done accordingly.

We will also be placing additional informative signage's and hand railings all over the property to ensure the safety of our guests.

I do hope that you will give us an opportunity to correct the impression this has brought you on the overall performance of the Resort. We will certainly do our best to recover your trust in our service again and allow us to extend the quality of services you truly deserve.

If in the meantime I can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at 0908-8158892 (mlanuza@thunderbird-asia.com).

Looking forward of meeting on your next visit to La Union.

Kind reagrds,


Marvin Lanuza
Hotel Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our company had a two day activity in this hotel. It was a scientific meeting involving doctors from all around the region. We spent almost P300,000 for the whole event and I would like to believe that it would have been better if we spent it in another place. The doctors said that the food was not that great because there's nothing special for the high price. One doctor even said that its just like any other cafeteria food but extremely expensive. The rooms have defective toilets with weak water pressure. Some rooms even have missing bathtubs. The rooms were also overlooking a construction site where workers kept passing by and can look inside your room. Lastly, everything you do has a corresponding charge (so be careful and ask first so that you wont be surprised upon check out). Overall, I wish I made other plans because I wasted the company's resources for this one. The prices are that of a 5 star hotel but the experience was definitely just 2 stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank EgbertChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Sorry if they rate it a 5star, it's not. Firstly, the moment you approach the hotel you don't feel you're a guest. You wonder where you are. Secondly, you are a little confuse where's the direction of your room until you met a staff and directed you to where you should be heading. Thirdly, the bed linens doesn't live up to what you project of your hotel. Dull, thin beddings which shouldn't be expected in a pricey hotel like yours. Really it is pricey for what it's worth. Poor us, there's a furniture at the balcony that we had to figure out how to unlock them. It wasn't made ready for a guest. We were almost late for a breakfast buffet at the Olives Restaurant so the waitress served us ala carte instead which was so nice of her. My best experience here so far was when my request of a robe, slippers and fresh fruit were in the room when i got in late at night. KUDOS. Upon check out, you have to say it loud you want your luggage down at the entrance otherwise you be waiting forever. At least my curiosity for years to be able to try thunderbird was fulfilled at a satisfactory rate. Really pricey for a not so special hotel. I wanna come back though and see the changes who knows sooner or later. Hopefully, it will be better. Regards.

Room Tip: view of the ocean helps you unwind a bit.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mspeahk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear mspeahk,

Thank you for taking time to give us your constructive feedback. These are challenges for me and our Team which we are continuously working on. It is only thru our guests’ reviews like these that we get the perception of customers which help us to improve and do better. With these concerns raised, we are glad to inform you that we are currently changing our linens to live up to the 5 star standards and quality our guests truly deserve.

We do hope you will consider staying with us again in the future and I will be glad to personally assist you.

Best regards,

Marvin Lanuza
Hotel Senior Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Fernando La Union
1.2 mi away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#1 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
50 reviews
5.9 mi away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
174 reviews
34.2 mi away
Villa Soledad Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel Elegant
Hotel Elegant
#3 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
1 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
#1 of 9 in San Fernando La Union
10 reviews
35.9 mi away
Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point

Address: Pennsylvania Avenue | VOA Compound, San Fernando La Union, Luzon 2500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Fernando La Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Fernando La Union
Price Range: $128 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Poro Point Hotel San Fernando La Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing