We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Summer 2013 @ Thunderbird, La Union...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Cainta, Rizal, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Summer 2013 @ Thunderbird, La Union...”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

From the entrance, to the view, to the welcome team, front desk team, bellman, to our room, our food especially our breakfast to the pool, to the beach, cleanliness, people & everything here was perfect.
Relaxing, refreshing & peaceful paradise.
Our family really enjoyed staying here we love the service, the food, the friendly & accommodating staff & my kids really love the pool & the beach. Special thanks to
Mr. Ferdinand Molina of F&B, food in the breakfast, lunch & dinner are fantastic.
A truly a perfect summer vacation for our family.
Definitely we will come back. Money worth.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SweeTART18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrphilippines, Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear SweeTART18,


Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are happy that you appreciated the beauty and feel of our resort including our staff and the amenities that we offer. These are our best assets and we will do our best to keep and maintain them.

Your good words inspire us to continue to do our best to provide all our guests with great service.

We do hope that you will come and visit us again in the future.


Best regards,

Marvin Lanuza
Hotel Senior Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    141
    102
    41
    33
See reviews for
189
77
11
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 5, 2013

People here are wonderful. The staff go out of their way to accommodate the guests. I would give more than 5 stars if I could. Food is very good and reasonable price wise. We were a group of 16 and we had dinner for approx. $200.00 including tip. Our only complaint is that beach and pool access is not handicapped friendly. The stairs are quite steep also. If you have knee problems it could present a problem. One of our group is wheelchair bound and he went to the casino instead of the beach because of this. It all worked out. He won some money!!! I We would definitely return here, but it would be nice to have some sort of elevator in place for beach access. I told my wife, I visited a place similar when I was younger and they had installed a small chair lift, like you would find at a small ski slope. Chair lift had a wheelchair attachment. All in all, a great resort with great people. Salud. amigos.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddy Love M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villafranca di Verona, Italia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Was here in april 2012.
Cons:
No early check in after a long way travel neither welcome drinks while waiting for the room.
Distant and Rocky beach front. (Prefer Kahuna's)
Didn't see any lifeguards doing rounds.
Broken jacuzzi.
Prefer Kahuna's.

Pros:
Excellent breakfast buffet and a nice swimming pool.
Very comfy beds.
nice and spacious rooms.
very clean.
Free wi-fi connection.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dollybaby_0421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Fernando, La Union, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

For a hotel that boasts of a five-star status, this establsihment merits a hands down in terms of customer service by hotel employees, especially the wait staff at its Olives Restaurant, who obviously lack good manners and training in treating their guests/customers well.

The waiters are poorly trained and they do not treat the customers well. I experienced, on several occasions, being discriminated and bumped off by these waiters to accommodate foriegner guests. They were not accommodating, and despite polite requests, I was ignored at times. Perhaps the wait staff should be reminded that even Filipino guests can be big tippers as well to merit their attention.

For the quality of service that this establishment provides, I would rather spend money elsewhere. Not worth the money, imho.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Myra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Fernando La Union hotels

Makati, Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

There was this banner in front of the hotel bearing the TripAdvisor logo and something about being Top25. I scoffed at it when we left!

Having been to another Santorini/Mediterranean-inspired resort (Bellarocca), Thunderbird was very disappointing:

No welcome: Not even a guide to tell us what's the first thing to do! The guards just stared at us; they looked like imbeciles.

No advanced checkin: We arrived there 11AM, but they insisted we wait till checkin time at 2PM; didn't suggest anything to do to entertain ourselves, so we had to leave in the meantime to go somewhere else.

No luggage handling: None! We carried our own bags up the stairs to our rooms on the third freakin' floor.

Boring room (plain white walls on one side), faulty toilet flush, hot shower faucet doesn't heat up water during my entire shower ritual. nice soft bed though.

No Complimentary Activities and Amenities: Just one pool. no complimentary activities. no golf cart service (though resort is small enough for just walking around.

The beach: Rocky and unkempt; it looked more like a marsh!

Architecture:Crisp white, but the blue accents are harsh, too much; i liked the blue dome though, something bellarocca doesn't have.

Free breakfast buffet: Maybe the only good experience there, though choices were limited. staff were accommodating though, refilling water and stuff. but, the monobloc tables and chairs made it look like a carinderia/canteen.

Worst experience in Thunderbird:
There was a golf course were we accidentally ventured into (no sign whatsoever that non-golfer guests are not allowed there). It was also one of the very few times moments we enjoyed in our entire stay, taking photos of the green hilly terrain. but it was abruptly ended by this thug, i mean a staff member in a golf cart, who approached and looked at us as if we were criminals before he told us that we were not supposed to be there. He didn't even carry a caring tone to advise us that it's for our safety, and that we might be hit by golf balls. He led us through this unpaved path where it looked like we were being kidnapped, but it was just the way back to the resort.

Thunderbird is I believe more than half cheaper than Bellarocca's regular rate, but still, it was pretty expensive compared to other luxury hotels, but didn't live up to it.

Will never return to Thunderbird. Will never recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Carlo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2013

It was my first time ever staying in a Villa and it was such a memorable experience! We were given a driver and he was very accommodating and always found time to drive us whenever we called. Our Villa was a VIP one (the price was ridiculous for such a small thing but when we entered, our jaws nearly dropped). We had all the necessities we needed and were supplied whenever we asked. Internet is a little sketchy but the rest of the facilities are updated and clean. Compliments to the interior designer and architect, the Villa was small but it didn't seem that way at all. Everything was perfect! Wish everything wasn't so overpriced though...

My complaints are the construction work and that there isn't a lot to do... There's a casino but I'm underaged and even if I was at the right age, I don't like those kind of places! There's a swimming pool and THE BEACH. OH THE BEACH IS LOVELY! There arent a lot of people so it doesnt look like some kind of squatter area. The security is tight and you'll feel secure. The view near the beach is great too! The food is great. American sized. The service is a little frustrating because you'll get your food an hour later so be sure to order a lot even though you dont feel hungry. Once you get your food after how many hours passed by, you will thank me.

I don't have very high standards and I found this place worth it (that is, if you have cash to burn. Thankfully for me, I had relatives who pitched in. This place will make you pay GOLD even though it's not much to look at. The place looks a little dull with the white walls but the design is clean and solid).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francess03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed in a villa for 2 nights with extended family. Entering the property at night, there was no feeling of awe that the photos seem to project. The Mediterranean-inspired architecture seemed to be haphazardly put together, as is the quality of construction in the villa. The master suite's balcony had huge puddle of water from a clogged drain as was the drain in the downstairs bedroom's ensuite shower. Water pressure was poor and the water did not reach the second floor both mornings we were there. Facilities were severely lacking. Just a pool and a swampy beachfront. Restaurant was average and the food was only so so. Service was a saving grace as was the long happy hour in the bar.

This is one place I would not return to as the distance I need to travel to holiday here is further than Baguio and it lacks the charm and x factor the resort seems to want to project.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viajeroManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Fernando La Union
1.1 mi away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#1 of 5 in San Fernando La Union
49 reviews
5.9 mi away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
171 reviews
34.2 mi away
Villa Soledad Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 mi away
Punta Riviera Resort
Punta Riviera Resort
#3 of 4 in Bolinao
106 reviews
1.7 mi away
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
#1 of 9 in San Fernando La Union
10 reviews
35.9 mi away
Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point

Property: Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Address: Pennsylvania Avenue | VOA Compound, San Fernando La Union, Luzon 2500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Fernando La Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in San Fernando La Union
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Poro Point Hotel San Fernando La Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing