We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Makes me feel like foreigners are not welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
David, Panama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Makes me feel like foreigners are not welcome”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We spent a night in a so call Mondo wing. I booked online through the resort website and the description was a suite with sea view. No clear photo or explanation of what it looks like or where exactly mondo wing is. We arrived early to grab a lunch at the resort's restaurant and ask if the front desk can get us a room earlier than 2 pm. There was no hope coz we waited until 2.15 pm and nothing happened and I had to chase them up again. Then found out that we were put in a building miles away from the main building(we stayed in the main building before and it was called a suite as well) so that surprised us a lot but not as bad when we went in and it was not a SEA VIEW as described on the website. The balcony looking towards the golf course and at the front door there was another building construction ongoing!!! Yes you could merely spot the sea far far away but in a million year that we would catagorize that as a sea view!! My husband had to talk to the manager( took him a long time to actually get to the real manager) it was a long story and the conclusion was that was the room we booked online there's nothing they could do all room are fully booked. The fact that we arrived so early didn't help them to find as a decent room because all the rooms were specified by other guest prior arrival....well then!! You could have post on your website that we NEED to actually phone up and specify the room not just rely on what's written on the room description( which wasn't a clear description at all!) All in all, we were not happy how the resort dealing with customers especially we feel like it's because we are foreigners and it's not their market to care about. We had another disappointment during the breakfast as well since lots of table were reserved during breakfast so even though you are early it doesn't make any different, you would end up in a bad spot coz all the good one are reserved...I don't know whether that's normal practice for a breakfast session of 10 tables ( I can understand a huge hotel with 40 tables they do take a reservation for buffet breakfast but so rare still) once you get disappointed, it is extremely hard to enjoy their nice pool and nice food.
so we just felt super uncomfortable the whole time at the resort. It is still the nicest place in town no argue about that but would we go back there to throw our money again? I don't think so. For what it cost, we will travel somewhere else and spend the same amount with happiness.

I'm not gonna blame the resort, I think it's just us not familiar with their management here and expect too much from a 5* resort.

Room Tip: Call then direct!!! Mondo wing is miles away from the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Glizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Ms. Glizzy,

We are sorry that you had such an impression, nevertheless, we thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. It was and is never our intention to make our guests feel unwelcome, regardless of any nationality. We always strive to give everyone the warmest welcome and the most hospitable service.

We hope to rectify this the next time you visit. Please contact me and I will personally do my best to assist you.

Our best regards,


GM Yves Remondeulaz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    129
    91
    33
    26
See reviews for
162
70
10
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philippines
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had such a wonderful view of the blue sea from our room! The staff were very polite, we had our own wifi connection in our room, and we had fun biking around the resort! Also, the complimentary breakfast had such variety of dishes!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rodolfo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

We went here to celebrate our one year anniversary and my husband's birthday for 3D/2N, the location of this hotel is 6hr travel time from manila, the bus dropped us off at San fernando Plaza where we waited for the hotel shuttle service (take note) they charge 300 pesos per trip and some welcome drinks they served us when arriving, they also prepared some romantic set up in our room and birthday cakes for my husband, the room was okay bed and pillows are nice but little hard, bathroom is okay but it'll be better if there's a tub or something cuz the bathroom is pretty big to leave it that way with a boring space, we had a good view of the sea but there is a construction goin on at the right side of the pool which is destructing. The food and drinks at olive's restaurant was ok we had our free breakfast there but we saw a single strand of hair on the rice ewww! So anyways i am more concern about the unfriendly hotel staff, few nice people but overall SNOB and at times super unfriendly faces around the hotel premises especially at the lobby but wait there's more horrible service we experienced in this hotel, on our last day upon check out everything was seemed so right so we asked the front desk if the shuttle can take us at the main gate of this resort then from there we'll just take tricycle to Partas bus station. (tricycle is the hassle free to ride anyway if u want to go around san fernando city for only 30-50 pesos per trip.)  So this front desk guy/driver dropped us off at the main gate, and (that's bit a far from tricycle lane) then he unloaded our things then left us with our suitcases on a super hot noon without any words. He didnt even say "thank you or we hope you enjoyed your stay, or whatever!" i think much better if he should have waited til we get on a tricycle just for our own safeness than leaving us saying nothing at all! I was like "whatta service" very unprofessional staff!

Great hotel but the STAFF NEEDS MORE TRAINING and gotta improve customer service and always ensure the 100% guests satisfaction guarantee.

thunderbird poro point is a great relaxing place to be with a touch of mediterranean plus the great view but i cant say that this hotel is excellent due of the poor attention to guests satisfaction.  Price is reasonable but i'm not sure if its worth going back here.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jah_ninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luzon, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Good:
* The place is definitely beautiful. The Santorini inspired architecture gives you the feeling that
you're not in Manila anymore.
* One can borrow a bike (for free) and ride around the place.

Average:
* The rooms are quite comfortable though I felt the pillows weren't fluffy enough (or maybe I just have a heavy head?)
* The pool is beautiful but it would be better if they have a deep end (the whole pool was 4ft deep).
* The staff were generally friendly; it would've been good if they were consistent in this regard.
* Food is average. I don't remember tasting any dish that I really liked.

Bad:
* The water pressure in the rooms were so low that the rain shower head was practically useless. It also took a while for the water to get hot (probably because of the water pressure).
* The beach is about a block away from the hotel so you'd have to walk to the beach. And the beach is pretty average. There's also no lifeguard in the beach.
* The constructions all around the resort was quite an eyesore!

Room Tip: Rooms are grouped by odd and even numbers. Get a room in the even numbered wing, the view there is b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GodHears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balanga City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Familiar with box office hit “No Other Woman” the resort depicted in the movie owned by Ann Curtis? That is Thunderbird Resort at Poro Point, San Fernando City, La Union. Going to La Union is a five long-hour drive from Manila or from Bataan (thru SCTEX) where I live but worth the travel. The Santorini inspired architecture of pure white wall with prominent blue dome will greet you as you enter the resort. The staff is great as they will serve you a welcome drink as you checked-in. The room may be a bit costly but you surely love it as it is complimented with small kitchenette with microwave oven, a bathroom with Jacuzzi and most importantly, a free wifi access yehey! The food is absolutely perfect, especially the complimentary breakfast. I managed to return to the buffet table two times! Hahaha. Aside from using their pool and beach, you can also try to bike around you just have to ask the guard at the front desk, its free then you can also use their golf cart to roam around but to certain area only, well the good thing is,.. again free. When you bike, you can get outside the resort premises and you may opt to go to nearby casino so you can see the whole area 360°. Then you can dine-in outside the resort, you may choose to go to ROSEBOWL Steakhouse and Chinese restaurant, believe me its very affordable (they have some sort of value meal) with big serving good to make you full and the taste! Wooow! Tried their patatim! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! Then after you checked out to Thunderbird Resort, you should go to Baguio City since it is only less than an hour drive thru Naguilian Road this makes your trip worth the travel. After sun bathing you should try to cool down at Baguio City..haaaay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautifulcomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Their staff are beyond friendly! The place was just amazingly beautiful! I would definitely go back with family or friends hopefully soon. Five star accommodation, room was spacious and cozy, we wanted to just stay indoors and lounge the whole day. I miss their cotton cloud-like bed already. :)

Travel Date: July 2011

Room Tip: Call ahead for reservations and tell them specifically what you want, do your research of the place...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExperienceEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Makati, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

THE BASICS

Thunderbird Hotel, a Santorini-inspired project sits within the Poro Point Special Economic and Freeport Zone in San Fernando, La Union. The view of the Lingayen Gulf is the resort’s best feature with most of the rooms offering unrestricted ocean panorama.

It is a leisurely 7 hour-drive (we had two meal stopovers - breakfast and lunch, and a petrol refill) from Manila, via NLEX and SCTEX.

Rooms go for as low as PhP 5,200 (USD 125.00) per night.

Free WiFi is available but spotty.


AMENITIES

The resort has two pools - an infinity pool overlooking the gulf and a children’s pool in the same area. There are some construction walls put up so if you don’t mind swimming amidst some digging, then catch some sun which warms the water most of the day.

The Cliffs Golf course and Fiesta Casino are the biggest draw should you wish to head up north and stay in Thunderbird Resorts. The “beach” is minuscule - if you wish to go for a swim - stay in the pool.

Bring an insect repellant when you go exploring at night.


ROOM AND BATH

We stayed in one of the Deluxe Rooms (102) and found it to be clean and spacious. Odd seats in place of a lounge chair and an army of ants attack any food left on the table for a few minutes made relaxing in the room a bit of a challenge.

The bathroom is clean and modern, however, the shower head leaked from faulty plumbing instead of gently raining water down on you.

No hand towels in the bathroom as well. Standard toiletries provided by VMV Hypoallergenics.


FOOD

Absolutely disappointing and expensive for what it is. Choose between over-seasoned, undercooked or bland flavours that try to pass for Mediterranean style-cooking.

We ordered the snapper fillet which arrived a salty mess drowning in an equally salty tomato saffron sauce. The meal was replaced promptly by a now bland, yet undercooked (almost raw) fish.

We also had an average-tasting grilled boneless chicken fillet. For about PhP 460 ($12.00), you’re better off with a World Chicken meal for PhP 167 ($4.00) at your mall’s food court.

Zucchini Lasagna is a soup of cheese, with hardly any vegetable in it (I counted 5 slivers of zucchini). Locally, if you’re looking for a hearty vegetable lasagna, Apartment1B (Salcedo Village, Makati) plates a good one.


SERVICE

Prompt and eager to please, the staff made up for the inadequacies of the resort (e.g. food and faulty internet service).


THE BOTTOMLINE

Thunderbird Resort is not worth the drive although if you are extremely curious to see what the fuss is all about, take a flight from the San Fernando Airport instead.

The rooms do provide for restful sleep and I love waking up to the view of the gulf but the food has been nothing short of traumatising. By the end of day one, I was tempted to head out to look for roadside barbecue or find the local carinderia (cheap neighbourhood eateries) for a decent meal.

Should you find yourself here, come armed with a few cup noodles (there is a small electric kettle in the room) and lots of chichiria (snacks).

Thunderbird Resort is blessed with a good location but underwhelms on so many levels. If you are looking for an average resort experience, then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Pinoywasabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Fernando La Union
1.1 mi away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#2 of 4 in San Fernando La Union
19 reviews
5.9 mi away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
162 reviews
34.2 mi away
Villa Soledad Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
39.9 mi away
El Puerto Marina Beach Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
#1 of 9 in San Fernando La Union
11 reviews
35.9 mi away
Puerto Del Sol Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point

Property: Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
Address: Pennsylvania Avenue | VOA Compound, San Fernando La Union, Luzon 2500, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Fernando La Union
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in San Fernando La Union
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hospitality and Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Poro Point Hotel San Fernando La Union

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing